We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great restaurant in this hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
T.Wells
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great restaurant in this hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2011

In this slightly dated hotel there is a fantastic restaurant. Food is creative and beautifully presented. Even the full English breakfast looks like sails on a plate. The hotel gardens are also a delight, especially the viewpoint of Ventnor bay. All the staff were friendly, professional and obliging. It is just a shame that a lovely old building does not always make it easy to manage - eg tight corridoors, over heated rooms, no Wi-Fi etc. We enjoyed our visit though.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KTL2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    536
    140
    55
    23
    6
See reviews for
178
375
17
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reading
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2011

My wife and I booked a short weekend break taking advantage of a great low season deal. Ths was our second stay at this hotel. We have stayed in many good quality hotels around the world and the Royal is quickly becoming one of favourite places.

We really like the Isle of Wight and Ventnor, it is a bit quirky and old fashioned, but very charming and the Royal Hotel is completely in keeping with the atmosphere of the island. It is in a quiet location, within a short walk of the sea front (down a very steep hill which may be a problem for the not so able). We booked the lowest grade of room and on our previous visit we asked to be moved to a better quality room, but this time we were more than happy with the quality and size of the room.

The service was very good and the staff have clearly been well trained in customer service. We ordered afternoon tea in the lounge which was wonderful and the restaurant is right up there with the best. It is important to book a time even as a resident as it is always busy which is a good sign.

Ventnor seems to have its own micro climate and the hotel has gardens across the road above one of the car parks. At the top of the gardens are a couple of terraces with tables and chairs with stunning views across the sea. A wonderful place to sit and relax with a glass of champagne in the Summer months.

There is no spa or indoor pool that many of the best hotels now boast, but there are some lovely outdoor seating areas close to the hotel and a very sheltered outdoor swimming pool.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DWTreading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
isle of wight
Level Contributor
61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2011

The staff work very hard and are very very pleasant indeed alway on hand to help or see to your needs. The food is well worthy of the four stars.
Bed rooms are quite large, if i had to complain about anything the bathrooms are very cold. Our bathroom would have benifited having a larger radiator instead of a small towl warmer. we did report this to the reception. Overall very nice stay at the ventnor hotel.If you are lookin for a spa high life weekend look elsewhere mostly retired people who go back year after year i guess

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tarafudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiptree
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2011

Stayed for 3 nights with partner and 13 month old. Initial room was ok, although 3rd floor a major pain lugging lots of bags and travel cot to. Main problem was that it was freezing, Even the bathroom. We woke during the night because we were so cold. However hotel staff were excellent and we moved the next day to a lovely warm room.
Hotel and staff were great with our little one (and there were several small tots staying). Lots of highchairs in restaurant, high tea for them as well and a great baby-listening service. And for us - breakfast cooked to order, fabulous food in the evening and a good wine selection, so wonderfully relaxing. Owning family often around as well which seemed to keep staff on their toes!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank space-elf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westerham
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2011

First class service. Comfortable and well equipped room.
Delightful food and service.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2010

This was our 3rd stay at The Royal, which we have returned to because of the quality, comfort and friendliness of the hotel. The hotel staff have strove on each visit to deliver the best level of service with nothing being to much bother.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank malcolm95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2010

We had a 3 night break in november at the Royal,and as allways a really nice time was had.The service and the food are fantastic!!
The staff are very courtious,and if you are a foodie, you will love it
This is our 2nd visit to the hotel,and we will definatly return

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank colthebass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventnor
2.6 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#3 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
9.0 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#5 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
12.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN New Holmwood Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Property: The Royal Hotel
Address: Belgrave Road, Ventnor PO38 1JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Hotel is one of the Isle of Wight’s Best Kept Secrets – a refined and elegant historic jewel and a destination for the discerning traveller for more than 150 years. This is the island’s leading AA Four Star hotel.Grand yet intimate, this beautiful early Victorian hotel has 54 bedrooms and is set in sub tropical gardens in the seaside town of Ventnor, on the island’s south coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Ventnor
The Royal Hotel Ventnor, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing