We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Only booked at short notice, but from booking to leaving, we only have praise for the hotel and its staff. Room upgrade, excellent food and service, well maintained grounds and a nice pool area all made our two nights stay perfect. Only one regret we didn't book an afternoon tea, which looked fantastic.

Thank you for making our Pearl anniversary perfect in every way.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garibaldi2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    601
    159
    60
    23
    6
See reviews for
195
422
21
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

I titled my review based on my experience during my 2 nights stay with my fiancee for my 30th birthday, my partner booked the trip for us and I was a little worried because I have high standards when I'm not in my own house/bed :) however I must say this hotel didn't disappoint me at all.

The food! Amazing! Good choice for the 3 course meal I had, starter sea food soup, main pork cooked 5 ways, and chocolate heaven (very nice) for desert, my partner loved hers too, can't remember what she had though though the sweet was the citrus tart.
We also got a picnic from the hotel, very nice for a special occasion, we ate our's on the top off the hill with lovely views.

The room, we stayed in room 35, nice clean room, the bed was so comfortable, its was a little warm but we just slept with the windows open, the bathroom was modern but still was in keeping with the hotel.
We found the staff externally helpful, they couldn't do enough to make our stay enjoyable, they worked long days and none stop, I'm not sure what wage the hotel industry pay's but these guys and girls earn every penny they get.

And after all the wonderful food and drink there are some nice walks and plenty of steps around to burn it all off.

Thanks for memories the royal hotel and its wonderful staff.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bedrock123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

This hotel is the best !!!the staff were so friendly and nothing was to much trouble. We are going back with friends next month. The food in the restaurant is first class. I would recommend this hotel .

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clivetidmarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2011

We only stayed for 2 nights but very quickly felt relaxed and well looked after. The quality of the food in the restaurant is excellent and all staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GAmphlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

As the IoW has many small amateurish hotels, it was a pleasant surprise to find a well run large hotel. The location was very good, with nice views onto the garden and the sea and a short walk into Ventnor centre. We did not have an opportunity to use the terrace, but it seemed appealing for an evening drink. Room was clean and well appointed, decorated in period style.

Dinner was good, breakfast offered plenty of choice and was good quality, however service was slow (staff forgot the order - processes should be improved to prevent this).

Room Tip: Second floor for a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdm789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2011

This is the 4th time I've stayed at The Royal and will be returning with family this month. The service is excellent, staff courteous and food wonderful!

Rooms have always been 100% comfortable and clean and staff ready to help when needed.

Looking forward to my next visit!

Room Tip: Book early for a sea/garden view, but if not you won't be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HTESomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Rooms drab but clean. No air con. No iron in room. No fridge. Stayed 3 nights. Beware - they call you every night at 530pm to 'check' if you want to eat in the restaurant. Ver annoying if you want to nap. We were then turned away at the entrance of the restaurant because of a no trainers policy. Felt humiliated! They claimed the policy was in the small print of their terms and conditions. We wouldn't stay here again. Not worth £190 a night!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GeorgeMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalVentnor, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2011
I am extremely sorry that this guest was not admitted to the restaurant because of his trainers. I have subsequently reviewed our dress code policy so that this type of incident will not occur in the future. I have personally apologised and offered to make amends. Our dress code in the Appuldurcombe 2 AA Rosette restaurant is smart casual - we prefer our guests not to wear trainers or sportswear. The restaurant has a following for special occasions and celebrations and therefore in consideration of this, we suggest smart dress. The Conservatory restaurant is far more informal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventnor
2.6 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
5.1 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
725 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
843 reviews
4.7 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#1 of 29 in Sandown
1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Property: The Royal Hotel
Address: Belgrave Road, Ventnor PO38 1JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Hotel is one of the Isle of Wight’s Best Kept Secrets – a refined and elegant historic jewel and a destination for the discerning traveller for more than 150 years. This is the island’s leading AA Four Star hotel.Grand yet intimate, this beautiful early Victorian hotel has 54 bedrooms and is set in sub tropical gardens in the seaside town of Ventnor, on the island’s south coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Ventnor
The Royal Hotel Ventnor, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing