We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel and lovely location”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel and lovely location”
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We stayed in the family suite which was beautifully decorated and appointed.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fuspots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    585
    156
    60
    23
    6
See reviews for
190
414
20
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We returned to The Royal because of our excellent stays on 2 previous occasions. Unfortunately, the promised 'birthday dessert plate' did not arrive for my wife which was disappointing as I wanted to surprise my wife on her birthday with my son and daughter in law. The food was brilliant and hotel mainly very comfortable as usual apart from no hot water in one of the rooms which was not resolved after the first complaint and needed another mention on the second day before we were offed another room.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank speas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcs
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Lovely hotel, family run with beautiful gardens and excellent food. We ate out one night at The Hamburgh Hotel-Michelin starred- not as good as The Royal with dire service to boot.Also has a beautiful terrace with ace views. Recommended- although we did pay extra for a deluxe room.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dexWorcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We just stayed for one night whilst visiting friends on the Island. Lovely old hotel, gracious and charming. Food wonderful. We had a slight problem with the plumbing in our room and we were promptly moved and, as the newer room wasn't exactly to my taste, I was given a reduction in the price.
I thought the staff were absolutely charming, the grounds and the gardens are beautiful and well kept. I would recommend it unreservedly.
They also welcomed my well behaved black Labrador!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyholidays022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Just a short stroll to the sea, with amazing panoramic views from the hotels Riviera Terrace. Te Royal Hotel, Ventnor really is second to none. I’ve stayed in some of the countrys best known coastal hotels (Brightons Grand hotel and the Royal Bath in Bournemouth as examples.) However, this hotel knocks spots off of them all. The staff seem to enjoy working at the hotel, and this comes across in their exemplary service and attitude towards customer satisfaction. The décor and surroundings are carefully designed to give a sense of relaxation mixed with class. All of this though falls into insignificance when one walks into the restaurant and samples some of the finest food I have ever experienced. I highly recommend this hotel, and should their staff read this review I extend my praise and appreciation to them all. Without doubt, I will return.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

My partner and I spent the last 5 nights at this exemplary hotel I cannot praise the staff highly enough. We arrived having booked up on the Thursday before and took one of their classic rooms. I would have liked another view and although there was nothing wrong with the room I mentioned it to the reception staff if they had another room with a bit of a view I would be happier! The staff went out of their way to find another room and we moved the following day. All the staff were friendly and could not do enough for you. They have a pool and the staff regularly made sure that everything was satisfactory as of course they should but they do it amazing! Food wise excellent try the beer battered local fish and chips. Simply superb! Well done all.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fae L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights whilst being on the IOW to see a friend start the Clipper race in Cowes. Great location to explore the island from. We found the staff, service and food all excellent and we were made to feel very welcome. The gardens are a delight and rooms comfortable, clean and provided all that you need.

When booking our first impression was that the room rates were a little expensive, but on seeing the building and appreciating the work that must go into its upkeep and the wonderful gardens, and attentive high level of service justified the price. Plentiful parking with no additional charge.

The menu and food was absolutely wonderful, it has been a while since we have received such good service and excellent food.

We shall return and are happy to recommend.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CotswoldCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventnor
2.6 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
455 reviews
2.6 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
713 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
347 reviews
8.9 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Property: The Royal Hotel
Address: Belgrave Road, Ventnor PO38 1JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Hotel is one of the Isle of Wight’s Best Kept Secrets – a refined and elegant historic jewel and a destination for the discerning traveller for more than 150 years. This is the island’s leading AA Four Star hotel.Grand yet intimate, this beautiful early Victorian hotel has 54 bedrooms and is set in sub tropical gardens in the seaside town of Ventnor, on the island’s south coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Odigeo, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Ventnor
The Royal Hotel Ventnor, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing