We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous find!”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A fabulous find!”
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Have just returned from a wonderful few days at the Royal. Our ages ranged from 8 to 80 and the hotel suited us all. Impeccable service with a very conscientious owner who made an effort to speak to as many guests as possible. The food was fabulous, great selection of dishes all cooked to an extremely high standard, excellent children's menu too with lots of choice.The gardens are beautiful & the swimming pool perfect for adults & children alike. Book now!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vheine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalVentnor, Owner at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel for your family holiday. I notice that you mention our food and I am delighted to announce that we have been included in The Good Food Guide 2013. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

All the very best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    585
    156
    60
    23
    6
See reviews for
190
414
20
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We have just stayed a weekend at the Royal Hotel and all we have to say s it's not the same as we remember it. It's very expensive and has little to offer in the way of service and relaxation. Watchng staff struggle is not my idea of a relaxing time away.

Room Tip: Find a cheaper hotel or B&B there are business out there that would love the chance to charge su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fred f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalVentnor, Owner at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us this time. I wish you had communciated some of the issues you had when you were here and believe me I would have done my best to address them. Regarding any drop in performance we have actually improved: The Royal has just been awarded 2 AA rosettes for excellent food 16 years running and we have retained our 4 stars and actually improved our AA rating. This year once again we are included in the Good Food Guide. This year we turn 180 years old - now that is an achievement!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

My friend and I organised a last minute trip to the isle of Wight and as this was my first visit I searched carefully to find a place to stay that would be something a little special. The reviews and comments about the Royal suggested that it was such a place but I have to say that it far exceeded my expectations in every department.

The hotel and gardens were superbly kept and maintained and the staff were nothing but efficient courteous and helpful. I booked a table in the restaurant and find it hard to find the words to explain just how good the meal was.

The Royal certainly made the trip unforgettable for us and I would have no hesitation in staying there again. I would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bochum, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

i was amazed how beautiful it can be on the isle of wight,the hotel royal offers everything,excellent service,lovely rooms and the best food on the island.if you ever get the chance to go there,take it you will never regret it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalVentnor, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
The Isle of Wight is indeed a stunning destination - over half of it is designated an area of outstanding natural beauty. I am glad you had an enjoyable stay and thank you so much for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binfield
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

First time on the Island and had no idea of what the hotel was like. The gardens are amazing, the food is wonderful, especially dinner and the bar snacks. Staff deserve a big congratulations on the way they interact with customers, absolutely superb. I have travelled extensively thoughout the world and the Royal is right up there with the best of them. Will return, definitely!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiltshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Just back from 2 nights in this lovely hotel. We took our married daughter and two of our Grandchildren.
This place has it all, the food was amazing, breakfast, lunch by the pool or dinner in the dining room were all delicious. The staff were wonderful and we had a babysitter in the evening so our daughter could enjoy herself without the worry of the children. Great location and super views.
A find...a lovely family hotel which has great food.

Room Tip: Have a garden or sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanklin, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Just been for Birthday lunch, we live on the Island and been recommended by locals.absolutely brilliant food, lovely, lovely staff. Service a little bit hap hazard although we were in the garden. Will look forward to going back, very soon

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalVentnor, Public Relations Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Thank you for choosing to spend your birthday with us and I am so glad you had an enjoyable time. Hot off the press we have been included in the Good Food Guide 2013 - that's the second year running. Have a lovely summer and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventnor
2.6 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
455 reviews
2.6 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
713 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
347 reviews
8.9 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Property: The Royal Hotel
Address: Belgrave Road, Ventnor PO38 1JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Hotel is one of the Isle of Wight’s Best Kept Secrets – a refined and elegant historic jewel and a destination for the discerning traveller for more than 150 years. This is the island’s leading AA Four Star hotel.Grand yet intimate, this beautiful early Victorian hotel has 54 bedrooms and is set in sub tropical gardens in the seaside town of Ventnor, on the island’s south coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Ventnor
The Royal Hotel Ventnor, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing