We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing!”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Having stayed at this gorgeous Hotel on several occasions over aperiod of ten or so years. We were extremely disappointed with the efforts of a newly appointed executive chef & his new team .The food at the 'Royal' was always considered by us to be the best on the Island. Alas,no longer......
undercooked, tasteless fish was returned to the kitchen. The staff however were fantastic. they couldn't have been more helpful & understanding. they even asked us if we would like to chose anything that was not on the 'Newly created "artistic" menu which we gladly accepted, finally opting for good old fashioned English fish & chips!
The following day we had invited friends to join us there for Sunday lunch which I have to say was very good indeed but we decided to cancel our prepaid dinner in exchange for the lunch which was very considerate of the staff.
Overall, this still remains the best Hotel on the Island in terms of staff friendliness,cleanliness,comfort & ambiance.
Please Please Please Mr Bailey try every method available to sort out this problem even if it means paying the previous Chef double to persuade him to return

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjones03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyal-Ventnor, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2013

First of all, a huge thank you for taking the trouble to submit your review. We are thrilled that you think the Royal is still the best hotel on the Isle of Wight and we very much hope you will be coming back to us in the near future.

So far as our food is concerned, we have to say that we are very proud of the quality of everything we serve. Whether guests are enjoying a traditional cooked breakfast, a Royal burger or catch of the day for lunch, an indulgent Afternoon Tea or fine dining in the restaurant during the evening, it is our goal that no-one should leave unsatisfied.

Over the last 16 years we have been operating consistently and successfully at a high level and our food has received 2 AA Rosettes every year. However, we cannot rest on our laurels and our new Head Chef, Steven Harris, has returned to the Island having spent a number of years at a 3 AA Rosette and 1 Michelin star establishment. So far, the vast majority of our guests have been thrilled with the menu that Steven has produced.

However, our goal is not to receive awards and accolades. Our goal is to serve outstanding food to our loyal customers. We hope to win new customers as a result, but we also want to keep happy the very many friends we have made over the years, We offer a traditional menu, with a fresh and modern twist. Our ingredients are seasonal and locally sourced where possible. Our menu is designed to surprise and delight - never to shock.

We appreciate that for many people change can be unsettling, but we hope we are not changing too much, or too quickly. We are listening to our customers and trying to keep much of what has worked well in the past as well as embracing some wonderful new ideas. However, our restaurant and front of house staff are very attentive and our chefs are always prepared to adapt our dishes to suit a more traditional or delicate palate.

We are sorry that you had one disappointing fish dish during your stay. We're sure you will agree that these things can happen in even the very best restaurants. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your fish and chips and that you found your Sunday lunch to be "very good indeed".

Please do let us know when you are next visiting. We are incredibly grateful for your years of loyalty and we can promise that we will do everything possible to ensure that we more than live up to your expectations in every area. It is by listening to feedback like yours from such valued guests that we hope to be able to remain a firm favourite with our old friends and to win the affections of new friends also.

With very best wishes..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (926)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

720 - 726 of 926 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2013

Although the weather was bitterly cold during our recent three night stay at The Royal Hotel, Ventnor the warm welcome we received and the helpfulness of the staff more than made up for this. Our return visit after several years exceeded our expectations. There is a special 'feel' to this family run hotel where one is immediately made to feel at home. The food was superb and we looked forward to our fine dining each evening. We are already talking about a return visit later this year.

ecgoody2shoes

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goody2Shoes_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyal-Ventnor, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the Hotel. We are really pleased that you returned to stay with us again and that you were impressed with the experience, and hope we can welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at this wonderful hotel. My wife and I last visited The Royal Hotel in Ventnor three years ago.

This time we were celebrating 30 years of marriage. My mother in law came with us (separate room!!!) and it was particularly pleasing to see her so happy and enjoying her self so much. It was her first visit and like us absolutely loves the place. My wife, Mrs. M is a perfectionist and for Mrs M to say how good the hotel was in every respect is certainly an excellent endorsement of any establishment as she usually finds fault with the majority of places (including a room in the Venetian Hotel in Las Vegas). For my dear wife to be delighted certainly is a compliment.

We cannot praise this hotel, the food, the service and paritcularly the staff enough and suggest you read the other 'good' reviews on trip advisor that support my comments and give you a more eloquent résumé of a hotel that in my opinion is pure class!!!! We will certainly go there again.

On a final note as a manager who has hired people in the past who have certainly not lived up to expectations I should praise the mangement that employed the staff in The Royal. They are without exception wonderful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnMfromPinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyal-Ventnor, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

We are always so pleased to hear that we found another satisfied customer and thank you all so much for taking the time to post such positive reviews on this site. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future, and wish you many more happy years of marriage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

We haven’t stayed at the Royal Hotel in Ventnor for many years, but as soon as we walked in last week I got that special feeling which one rarely does about a hotel.

It is a beautiful building kept in immaculate condition. We were lucky to have a beautiful room decorated in blue, looking out over the sea. We slept like babies after a long journey.

All the staff are charming, very efficient, but not overbearing.

We ate in the main dinning room, in the bar, in the conservatory and on the terrace and the food was of the same high standard everywhere. I gather the hotel has had 2 AA rosettes for a number of years and I would venture to say that the food is of the standard of a Michelin 1 star restaurant. We particularly liked; the cheese soufflé starter, the quail’s breast starter (divine), the fish soup, the lunch time fish and chips, the skate, the Pollock and the pork, the chocolate and mint desert and the crème brulée.
Needless to say the place was full every day for breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner – they can’t all be wrong!

One evening, the famous 3 star Michelin chef Michel Roux was eating here! Perhaps he was there to steal the chef!!!!

If you are going to the Isle of Wight and you appreciate fine dinning, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PARADISEMadeira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

we held our wedding here in march and everything went so smoothly due to excellent organisation by Maria and her staff food fantastic service brilliant a day to remember our rooms were beautiful and our friends and family really enjoyed their stay we looked at lots of other venues but this was by far the best

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gerrycook05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

My mum and I went for a rare break together and treated ourselves to a night in the Royal Hotel in Ventnor, my favourite area of the Isle of Wight.
The room was gorgeous; extremely comfortable, spotless, attractive decor and beautiful views of the sea. When I commented that this was our first girl's trip away for years, the staff seemed to pull out all of the stops to make us feel welcome and happy. Couldn't possibly have expected more! Both dinner and breakfast were outstanding and it would be impossible to exaggerate the excellence and friendliness of ever single member of staff we met. Truly outstanding. Roll- on June and a return trip for two nights! Mum will be jealous!

Room Tip: Definitely go for a garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We spent a few days at The Royal and were very pleased with the cleanliness, the well-maintained appearance, the friendly staff and the food. We were part of a Bridge group and were very well fed and looked after at all times.
We upgraded to a premier room - very spacious, with a large king-sized bed and view over the sea. Good products in the bathroom. For some health and safety reason gone mad, our windows were locked to only open an inch or two - despite our being on the first floor, over a conservatory roof and with safety bars across the windows! It was chilly, so we didn't mind, but wouldn't like not to be able to open the windows fully in warmer weather. The bed linens were top quality and very silky, but I had to request a linen change after 3 days, which was disappointing in such an expensive room. Bath towels were plentiful and large and changed daily. The room was spotless and beautifully decorated, so it was disappointing to find some used cotton wool buds in a drawer in the dressing table. This was the only thing that wasn't perfect as far as the facilities in the room were concerned.
It was a real treat to be served our hot dishes at breakfast, rather than have them standing on a buffet.
The hotel had a real family feel, the staff were professional and friendly and very obliging. This hotel is well-managed and it seems that someone really cares about it and pays attention to the little things that make a difference. The grounds are pretty and well maintained, car parking is plentiful. We will definitely look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Worth upgrading to a premier room on the South side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnneBrenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventnor
8.9 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
359 reviews
2.6 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
747 reviews
12.3 mi away
North House
North House
#1 of 5 in Cowes
89 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Address: Belgrave Road, Ventnor PO38 1JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Price Range: £82 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Hotel is one of the Isle of Wight’s Best Kept Secrets – a refined and elegant historic jewel and a destination for the discerning traveller for more than 150 years. This is the island’s leading AA Four Star hotel.Grand yet intimate, this beautiful early Victorian hotel has 54 bedrooms and is set in sub tropical gardens in the seaside town of Ventnor, on the island’s south coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Ventnor
The Royal Hotel Ventnor, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing