We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lovely place to stay”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Stayed in July with my husband and son. The hotel had a lovely atmosphere and was made to feel very welcome from the moment we arrived. The staff were really helpful and very professional. The family room that we stayed in was a nice size with a bath and shower. The food was amazing, we had breakfast and of course an evening meal which was exquisite. Would definitely stay again in the future. My only moan would be that there was no safe in the bedrooms, I would expect that as standard in a 4star.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyal-Ventnor, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Thank you for your lovely review on Trip Advisor and it's nice to see you would choose to stay at The Royal in the future.

Whilst not every room has an individual safe, we advertise that safety deposit bags are available for you to put in the Hotel Safe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (926)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

685 - 691 of 926 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2013

Stayed for 4 nights a the beginning of July. We had a garden view room which was well worth the extra for the view. Bed was large and extremely comfortable. Meals were wonderful, especially if you like fish. Staff were very attentive and the Pimms mixed just as I like it. This is an excellent hotel for a break on the IOW we had wonderful weather so were able to swim in the pool which was heated. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Northantsjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyal-Ventnor, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2013

Thank you for sharing your review on Trip Advisor, it's great to see you would choose to stay at The Royal again.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another glass of perfectly mixed Pimms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

5 star service and food with friendly, efficient staff. Lovely well maintained building and grounds with sympathetically refurbished rooms. Attention to detail has not over modernised this wonderful established hotel. Would love to stay longer!
Philip and Helen. Cape Town

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyal-Ventnor, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2013

We would like to thank you for the lovely review you've published on Trip Advisor and hope to see you at The Royal next time you're visiting the Isle of Wight.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

A lovely 3 night stay at this super hotel - the staff go out of their way to 'make it happen'. Breakfast service sometimes just a little slow with the tea and coffee but this does not detract from the 'just perfect' cooked breakfast to set us up for the day. The front desk staff are very helpful and attentive as are the bar and evening waiting staff. We were blessed with gorgeous weather so took full advantage of meals outside and it it clear that Phil and the whole team are very focused on making guests comfortable and happy. Evening food was superb and very good value , particularly as part of the package. The pool is small but very well maintained and a perfect temperature to encourage lots of dips. At the time of our stay there were a few families using the pool but it is clearly not meant as a 'splashing about' pool and so possibly families looking for a lively ( loud) time around the pool would be better elsewhere with their pool toys as it can spoil the tranquility and relaxing feel of this lovely hotel. See you next year, same time!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teachercrafter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyal-Ventnor, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2013

It's lovely to see you've published a review about your stay at The Royal and would like to thank you for your kind comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back next year (and hopefully your tea & coffee at breakfast will arrive a little quicker for you!).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We had a fantastic stay for one night at the Royal Hotel. Everything about it was great.

It felt very much as though we had escaped to the Mediterranean, but without having to fly or deal with airports.

We had booked a non-view classic room (the least expensive) figuring we wouldn't be spending much time in the room itself, and when we arrived, were told that we'd been upgraded to a garden-view room. The view from our 2nd floor room was wonderful! We could see the pool, the lovely and perfectly manicured gardens, and out in the distance, the sea.

The grounds, entrance, restaurant and pool area are all beautiful. The staff are very friendly and welcoming. We were served by a lovely and very smiley waitress named Anne, at dinner, as well as at breakfast the following morning.

The hotel is a 5 minute walk down to the small beach nearby (quite a steep walk) though we much preferred the beach at Shanklin, which is just a 10 minute drive away.

We arrived Saturday afternoon, having driven down from London, and were back home Sunday evening. Just having the two half-days and one night there were enough to shed the big city feel, and to leave us feeling relaxed and rejuvenated. The Royal hotel is a wonderful place for that. It has an incredibly relaxing feel, both inside and out. It's a bit pricey, and our room was fairly small (though perfectly adequate) but it was well worth it!

The only slight drawbacks would be that there wasn't a fridge in the room (and we had arrived with some left-over food, which I would have loved to have kept for the beach the next day). Otherwise, it was wonderful!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyal-Ventnor, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Royal Hotel on Trip Advisor.

It's lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay and I hope we have the pleasure in welcoming you back.

Mini-fridges are available upon request and I'm sorry that you did not see this in your bedroom guest service directory.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We spent one night in this hotel, all is perfect! A very large family room with a separate bedroom for kids, nice bathroom. Dinner and breakfast at the restaurant were very finest and the staff is kind and helpful. The swinning pool is a bit small but it's not really important because the garden around is very pleasant!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valerieg224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyal-Ventnor, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to publish this charming review and we're delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Royal Hotel when you're next visiting the Isle of Wight.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

we have just returned from staying at this hotel and it was wonderful. The hotel is superb, full of character and style. It is like a little trip down memory lane when hotels really knew how to look after their guests. This hotel certainly do! The staff are brilliant, always attentive but never overbearing. The real gem for this hotel is the food. It is out of this world! It is beautifully prepared by very talented chefs and was incredible to eat. We could not recommend this hotel too highly.

Room Tip: Room 39 gives a superb view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyal-Ventnor, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2013

Thank you for your lovely review and I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at The Royal.

I hope we have the pleasure in welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventnor
8.9 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
359 reviews
2.6 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
747 reviews
12.3 mi away
North House
North House
#1 of 5 in Cowes
89 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Address: Belgrave Road, Ventnor PO38 1JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Price Range: £82 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Hotel is one of the Isle of Wight’s Best Kept Secrets – a refined and elegant historic jewel and a destination for the discerning traveller for more than 150 years. This is the island’s leading AA Four Star hotel.Grand yet intimate, this beautiful early Victorian hotel has 54 bedrooms and is set in sub tropical gardens in the seaside town of Ventnor, on the island’s south coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Ventnor
The Royal Hotel Ventnor, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing