We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely summer”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Certificate of Excellence
Bochum, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“lovely summer”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

i amazed by the quality of this hotel,had a picnic which was wonderfull on the riviera terrace & the afternoon tea was top class.
very friendly & helpful staff & the bar for a nightcap is always worthwhile.
i can only say & recommend a trip to this hotel,you will certainly enjoy yourself.

Room Tip: room with sea blick
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyal-Ventnor, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, it's great to see you enjoyed your afternoon tea and a picnic on our sunny Riviera Terrace overlooking Ventnor Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    583
    156
    60
    23
    6
See reviews for
190
412
20
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ryde, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

we have been very fortunate to have had "afternoon tea" at the Ritz {a bucket job}.so we decided to invite an old friend to a/t at The Royal.i know it is not the Ritz;BUT.....
The staff were polite and attentive and we had a nice time;however I think the management could have done a little more research.i do believe in constructive criticism and hope this is not taken the wrong way!! maybe more attention to detail;ie.crockery;table clothes.;and "delicacy" of the cakes and sandwiches .again maybe an expences "tip" to the Ritz!!!.Hope this review has been of some help.wish the Royal all the best for this venture.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yokle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyal-Ventnor, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your 'constructive criticism' on trip advisor.

I hope you enjoyed your afternoon tea and hope we have the pleasure in welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We have just returned and stayed for 4 nights.-the room ,staff and food were excellent. We looked over the colourful gardens at the front (when we asked a gardener what a plant was he kindly gave us some seedlings to bring back) there is a lovely 'quiet garden'for adults.I would recommend this hotel .

Room Tip: Room 22 is near the lift and has lovely views over the garden and to the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lattie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyal-Ventnor, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review The Royal on trip advisor.

Our talented Head Gardener is always happy to answer questions and give away cuttings/seedlings (it's great you managed to take some home with you)!

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stopped in the royal for 2 nights the rooms are comfortable very clean. The staff very welcoming and helpful. the food is excellent real fine dinning. the dinning room itself is well set out with plenty of room even though the hotel was almost full. The outdoor pool was was very pleasant but the water was not as clear and clean as it should be. The afternoon tea with scones jam and cream was delicious and served by the pool

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyal-Ventnor, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Thank you for reviewing The Royal on trip advisor.

We're glad you enjoyed your room, afternoon tea and evening meal in our award winning 2 rosette restaurant.

Our outdoor heated swimming pool is cleaned daily by our Head Gardener. Due to occasional unforeseen circumstances, things can go wrong such as a pump not working properly etc. 99.9% of the time our swimming pool water is crystal clear!

I hope we have the pleasure in welcoming you back to The Royal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

Very good quality family hotel with excellent family rooms which were very spacious, clean and well stocked. Food was amazing as we're the staff. Kids loved the heated outdoor pool and there was a great sandy beach just a short walk away. Great time was had by all, thank you for a great weekend away.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyal-Ventnor, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
We're glad you enjoyed your stay at The Royal Hotel and hope we have the pleasure in welcoming you back next time you visit the Island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed for 5 days at the end of July. The staff are very welcoming and helpful and will respond to anything you ask. I thought that the restaurant was as good a restaurant that I have ever been in, with the soups being the best I have ever tasted! The rooms are very clean, tidy and spacious. I would recommend this hotel to every one

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyal-Ventnor, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments and I hope we have the pleasure in welcoming you back to The Royal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventnor, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Not long back from our recent holiday at the Royal. This time my young adult children came with me. I'm sure they were expecting a "fusty" atmosphere but it turns out that this place is "cool". We all had beautifully decorated rooms overlooking the front gardens and swimming pool. The food was fantastic. One of my boys had fillet steak 4 nights in a row because it was "SO GOOD"!! The staff, as usual, had a positive attitude and were very helpful when faced with our queries and questions. This is turning out to be my favourite venue on the Isle of Wight. I will return as soon as I'm able.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the front in order to enjoy the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ros M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyal-Ventnor, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

We're glad you're a fan of our fillet steak!

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Royal next time you're visiting the Isle of Wight.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventnor
2.6 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
455 reviews
2.6 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
713 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
347 reviews
8.9 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Property: The Royal Hotel
Address: Belgrave Road, Ventnor PO38 1JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Hotel is one of the Isle of Wight’s Best Kept Secrets – a refined and elegant historic jewel and a destination for the discerning traveller for more than 150 years. This is the island’s leading AA Four Star hotel.Grand yet intimate, this beautiful early Victorian hotel has 54 bedrooms and is set in sub tropical gardens in the seaside town of Ventnor, on the island’s south coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Ventnor
The Royal Hotel Ventnor, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing