We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We visited The Royal earlier this year. This was our Fourth time. We have always enjoyed our stays there, it is such a relaxing place. The gardens are very well kept, with sun loungers in a little sun trap, and the swimming pool is a joy. What singled out our experience this year was that the service was so consistently good. Whoever we spoke to the response was positive and focused on what they could do for us, whether it was taking something up to our room, or bringing drinks over to us. The food was as good as always with some dishes being outstanding, however the menu over 4 days was rather repetitive, something we have been reassured will be changed for our trip next year.
Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHotel-IOW, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Its great for our team to be reassured that service standards are appreciated by our returning guests. We look forward to seeing you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (944)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

673 - 679 of 944 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013

We've stayed at the hotel several times and absolutely love it, especially the food which is superb and right up there with (and better than many) of the best 5 star hotel restaurants in London. The only 'off' note is that it's the only hotel we've stayed in where they have the cheek to charge a hefty £3.50 supplement if you want a humble kipper for breakfast ! I enjoy a kipper but (like the bones) it sticks in the throat to cough up the extra in what is not a particularly cheap hotel to stay in.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Travellight236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHotel-IOW, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Thank you so much for posting your review and for being such a loyal customer. We appreciate your honesty in expressing your feelings about the breakfast supplement charged, and promise to review this Policy in our team meetings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I had always wanted to stay here so I booked a two night break to try it out. I paid a supplement for a garden room and was expecting to overlook the gardens and have peace and quiet but my room overlooked the swimming pool .With my window open all I could hear was people chattering and splashing about and children shouting and screaming. When asked on checking out if everything was ok I did say I wasn't happy but it fell on deaf ears.My room was disapointing too. The light had come away from the ceiling, the paint was missing from part of the door frame, decor was shabby and there was dust on top of the pictures... Room 28 if the manager is reading this. Credit where credits due though.. the food was delicious and the dining staff excellent. I would dine here again but I would never stay. My room was the poorest standard I have ever had on the island and I have been coming here for 40 years.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marchesieux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHotel-IOW, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

We were very disappointed that you did not make us aware that you were unhappy with your room and the associated noise until departure, so that we were unable to offer you alternative accommodation to suit your needs. Having said that, I apologise sincerely that your comments on departure were not 'heard'.
We would like to point out that the room you had enjoys spectacular panoramic views of the sea, gardens and swimming pool, and that as it was August, there were a few children enjoying themselves.
We did make an assessment of your room after you left and whilst we felt some of your comments are a little harsh, we have decided to give it a complete refurbishment.
I apologise that we did not meet your needs with the room on this occasion, but am very pleased that you found the food delicious, and the staff excellent.
Kind Regards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We booked The Royal for our Wedding Anniversary for two weekday nights, taking the ferry over from Lymington to Yarmouth (an eye-watering £80 car return pre-booked, which must inhibit some visitors to the IoW).

Nevertheless, despite this and some pot-holed main roads, we found our way to Ventnor and The Royal. What a lovely hotel although the website photos are slightly misleading because their is a lightly used road just outside the hotel frontage, which is not clear from the pictures. Our room (#9) did not have a direct sea view although others down the corridor e.g. #5 definitely did.

The staff were all helpful, friendly and in some cases, e.g. barman, quite knowledgeable about the food in the restaurant. The food was faultless, really good and we greatly appreciated a lovely touch at the end of our evening meal on the day of actual wedding anniversary which was a complete surprise.

Although it is now autumn, it was quite hot in our room even though the radiator was off, which was a bit of a puzzle. The shower was the easiest ever to use because it was a 'classic' Mira from well, maybe the 1950s. Anyway, it worked well which was the main thing. The sash window in this heritage building room were a bit clunky but only to be expected and functioned ok.

The bed was extremely comfortable indeed. There were a number of elderly guests and possibly some with hearing difficulties had their TV's blasting away but the walls were so thick that we barely heard them.

Outside the front of this grand hotel, I noticed what seemed to look suspiciously like damage from a machine-gun burst along the front wall, which may well be the case, as just a bit further down the road a blue plaque identifies a spot where another hotel had become 'a casualty of war'. NB. Ventnor hosted a radar station in WWII which the German Luftwaffe attempted to destroy at various times.

Ventnor itself is transitioning into a highly desirable place and one property on the beachfront, easily reached from The Royal is currently on the market for £1.5M. Incidentally, The Royal owns land opposite the hotel, seen in some of the website photos, which offers guests a place to relax with great views out along the coast and into the Channel.

All-in-all, The Royal is recommended and I hope we can return, especially if the ferry price over to the IoW comes down to more realistic levels.

Room Tip: Ask if the specific room has sea views as you will pay extra for a room at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnConstable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHotel-IOW, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Than you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review including several tips. The Hotel does offer ferry inclusive packages for longer stays when dinner is also booked, so please enquire about these when making a booking. Sorry about the current state of the pot-holed roads, but we are hoping that this will be rectified soon! We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

It looks nice from the outside and has the impression of a 4 star hotel when you walk into the lobby. And in fairness, we were impressed with the staff. That's all the good points.

The room was very disappointing. The bathroom was a massive let down. I expected a bit of luxury but it was just ok. Very clean but dated, small mirror and horrible flooring.

We asked to move rooms and the guy on the reception was very nice about it. It sounds fussy but this is the first time I've ever asked to move rooms at a hotel. The 'upgrade' was a bit nicer - with a larger room and nice white bed linen replacing the grandma pattern duvet of the other room. Same bathroom.

Would not recommend or come back. The room is always the most important thing at a hotel and I think it was overpriced at £195 a night.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nathsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHotel-IOW, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give detailed feedback on your recent stay at the Royal Hotel. The Hotel was built in 1832 and all 53 bedrooms are of differing sizes, location, accessibility and décor. We always try to match our guest’s needs with the allocated room but sometimes find that this is not always possible when we are very busy, as it was when you stayed. We failed to check that you were happy with the second room and we apologise for this. As you are aware, I have been trying to contact you to discuss your experience in order that we can avoid a similar experience in the future, and hope that I have the pleasure of speaking to you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We took the kids for a last weekend away before the schools went back and overall we had a superb time at the Royal. Children are made welcome and the standard for meals for them was top class. Lot's to do in and around the pool.
We have not eaten in many better restaurants. Surprised they don't have a Michelin star for the main Appuldurcombe dining room.
Family room was spacious and very comfortable for us and the children.
Overall, a great place to stay, shame they don't have a gym.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHotel-IOW, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Thank you for your review, which is particularly pleasing to our brigade of Chefs. Head Chef Steven Harris came to us from a Michelin starred establishment, and is constantly striving to improve the standard of our food, which is currently rated as 2 Rosette by the AA. We note your comment about the lack of a gym and assure you that we will give it due consideration. We hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you all back in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

My mum and I had stayed here one February and we found ourselves so pleased with it that we would have happily stayed inside the hotel for most of our trip!! It was charming, immaculate, comfortable and we felt like princesses in our gorgeous suite. I was thrilled by the pretty location right near the sea and by the elegant building, along with the polite and attentive staff and the delicious food. My recent visit here with the rest of the family was even better (through seeing it in full swing during the summer!); the hotel has a calm and friendly atmosphere and and we all appreciated the excellent staff who were always on top form. A highlight was the divine dinner menu we were presented with each night - the selection and quality of the food was second to none. A nice touch was the lovely piano music in the conservatory each time we entered the hotel, and I always returned to find my room spotlessly clean. A huge thumbs up from us all!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHotel-IOW, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

We are really pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of both of your recent stays and hope that you will be able to make us your regular treat when you feel like being pampered.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventnor
2.6 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
361 reviews
8.9 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
North House
North House
#2 of 5 in Cowes
95 reviews
3.4 mi away
Rowborough Hotel
Rowborough Hotel
#1 of 51 in Shanklin
231 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Address: Belgrave Road, Ventnor PO38 1JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Price Range: £99 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Hotel is one of the Isle of Wight’s Best Kept Secrets – a refined and elegant historic jewel and a destination for the discerning traveller for more than 150 years. This is the island’s leading AA Four Star hotel.Grand yet intimate, this beautiful early Victorian hotel has 54 bedrooms and is set in sub tropical gardens in the seaside town of Ventnor, on the island’s south coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Ventnor
The Royal Hotel Ventnor, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing