We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Royal Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$221
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hambrough(Ventnor)
US$240
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$140
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$153
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$153
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Old Park Hotel(St Lawrence)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,030)
Filter reviews
1,030 results
Traveller rating
742
192
65
25
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
742
192
65
25
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teaisle of wightclassic roomgarden viewcheese soufflelovely hotelpremier roomoutdoor poolwithout exceptionexcellent foodrooms are comfortablerestaurant staffdining roomfine diningspecial occasionattention to detailwine list
Filter
Updating list...
733 - 738 of 1,030 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2014

The Royal has to be my favourite hotel on the island...the views across Ventnor Bay are stunning for starters.The hotel itself has a relaxed grandeur which draws so many guests back time & time again.And the food is amazing...the rhubarb crumble I had on my last visit was to die for! Nothing is too much trouble for the staff who are both totally professional & friendly too.Can't recommend highly enough...for a stay,special occasion dinner or especially their afternoon tea.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MagentaIow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyal-Ventnor, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Royal on Trip Advisor and I hope we have the pleasure in welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Stayed at this hotel as a last minute 1night stay and we were truly amazed! Our bedroom overlooked the gorgeous gardens, was beautifully decorated and was very spacious. Dinner in the Appuldurcombe restaurant was faultless from the fine dining food to the attentive and friendly service. All staff were welcoming and nothing was too much trouble- we will definitely be returning very soon!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a garden view, deluxe or premier room to experience the view of the gardens and glimpses of the sea- definitely worth doing!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyal-Ventnor, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience at The Royal on Trip Advisor and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a short weekend break with my wife, and I have to say we loved it. The manager and his team couldn't do more for us, this hotel is in a ideal location just a 2 minutes walk from the sea :-) only complaint we had is we only stayed 2 nights would love to be able to stay for a week!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamiegooddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyal-Ventnor, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Thank you for reviewing The Royal on Trip Advisor. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you're visiting the Isle of Wight.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Efficient, friendly and courteous staff, food second to none and rooms comfortable, warm and extremely clean. This was one of the hotel's "experiences" - Christmas - and the festivities were appropriately directed thus. A hotel to re-visit.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a 'Garden Room'
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyal-Ventnor, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor; we hope you had a fantastic Christmas with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Excellent hotel with old fashioned values of accommodation and service.
Well positioned near the town centre and sea with good grounds and an excellent restaurant serving an extensive menu. A comfortable place to stay with attentive well trained staff who were mostly British.
Parking is across the road but suitcases may be dropped off at reception.
Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Jamesfullarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyal-Ventnor, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Thank you for your review and I hope we have the pleasure in welcoming you back to The Royal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews