We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Royal Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$223
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hambrough(Ventnor)
US$241
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Luccombe Hall Hotel(Shanklin)
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Old Park Hotel(St Lawrence)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,028)
Filter reviews
1,029 results
Traveller rating
741
192
65
25
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
741
192
65
25
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teaisle of wightclassic roomgarden viewcheese soufflelovely hotelpremier roomoutdoor poolwithout exceptionexcellent foodrooms are comfortablerestaurant staffdining roomfine diningspecial occasionattention to detailwine list
Filter
Updating list...
720 - 725 of 1,029 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The Royal is situated on the side of a cliff high above the resort of Ventnor. It therefore has spectacular views of the sea and the town. Parking here is not a problem as the hotel has two car parks. It is an old fashioned style hotel with a lot of old world charm and a high level of customer service. It may be old fashioned but it has many modern amenities with a swimming pool set in beautifully maintained gardens with lie out chairs. The gardens are a feature of this hotel which extend across the road to an area covered in bluebells from where there are even more impressive views of the coastline.
The rooms are what you would expect from a first class hotel and are well equipped and tastefully furnished. Our room had a magnificent view of the gardens and the sea but was quite small.
The Royal has a fairly formal restaurant and a comfortable bar containing many interesting motor racing photographs from a bygone era. On most evenings a pianist plays in the lobby. I would recommend eating here in the hotel as the food is of a high standard. If you prefer and a table is available, it is possible to have your meals in the conservatory which has a more relaxed and informal atmosphere. The restaurant is very old fashioned but this is part of its appeal. There is a dress code with most gentlemen wearing jackets and ties. Service from the team of very efficient waiters and waitresses is first rate. The table d’hôte menu is impressive with a good choice of dishes for each course. It is priced at £35 per person for two courses or £40 for three. The food was good if a little expensive and well presented. There is an extensive wine list. Breakfasts were good and in spite of the restaurant being full to capacity the service was exemplary. Hats off to the very capable staff! Incidentally, I think that charging a supplement for fish dishes is a little cheeky considering the overall prices being charged.
I n spite of reservations concerning the breakfast supplements if ever we return to Ventnor we shall probably return for a second visit. The hotel is very friendly and has an abundance of old world charm.

Room Tip: Stay in a room with a sea view
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcbm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHotel-IOW, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a very nice review of our Hotel. We do very much appreciate your kind comments. We hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Royal upon your next visit to the Island.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We have just been back here for 4 days after a year's absence.
This place is really very special - you can tell by the sort of people you see here. The staff are wonderful (special mention for the sub-manager Jamie). We had a diferent room this year - beautifully decorated - all the rooms are different. The food is exceptional - always full of people for lunch, tea and dinner - that says it all.
We live in Madeira where we frequently visit Reid's Palace - The Royal is a sort of mini Reid's
If you are going to the IOW this is the place to stay.
A big thank you to all the staff for making our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PARADISEMadeira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHotel-IOW, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review about our Hotel. We are all extremely pleased that you enjoyed your latest visit and look forward to seeing you again soon.

kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Beautiful hotel, impeccable service, lovely food, really comfortable room with a view. Particularly like the glittery coffee table in the bar! Would recommend highly to anyone seeking a bit of luxury.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jillmc50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHotel-IOW, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review here on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased you enjoyed your latest visit and are looking forward to welcoming you back again upon your return.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This hotel is incredibly charming and like something off a period drama. The entrance, bar and conservatory are stunnning. The outside spaces, gardens and pool area lovely. It is easy walking distance to the town and the beach. The rooms are very mixed, some facing over the gardens towards the sea are great, some are dark and very old fashioned. This is an old hotel so be prepared for rattling heating and creaking stairs- this may affect your sleep. We ate in the hotel- Matt the front of house was brilliant- very friendly, knowledgeable and extremely helpful. The food was really good but the tables were all in lines and a bit too close to each other. The average age was a bit high and so we felt as if we were sitting in a nursing home- lucky I remembered my teeth. I would really like to give this hotel 5 stars because it is a wonderful experience- however it is quite an acquired taste. I love it!

Room Tip: Front of the hotel, not near lift or fire doors
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DocHolidayHavant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyal-Ventnor, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to publish a review on Trip Advisor.

We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found many of our public areas 'stunning'.

The Royal was built in 1832, therefore we are a pre-Victorian building with plenty of character and charm! Our public areas and bedrooms have all been individually decorated to a very high standard to suit different tastes and requirements. If you would prefer a lighter/more modern bedroom when staying with us again, please do not hesitate to ask at the time of booking.

I hope we have the pleasure in welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed at the Royal for our 25th Wedding Anniversary, and couldn't have chosen anywhere better. We were indeed treated like royalty. The staff were professional and friendly, the room was excellent, and the food was a joy. We asked the manager if he could cater for vegans and he said yes. The chef completely surprised us by producing a vegan menu with 6 choices for each course. If you are a vegan, you have to stay here.
The rest of the staff went out of their way to help whenever needed; and did so with professionalism and joy. Some of the most pleasant people we have ever met.
The Royal cannot be faulted - even in early March. The view from the rooms must be splendid in the summer.
If we ever return to the Isle of Wight, we will return to the Royal.
If you are reading this "Royal". Thank you so much for making our anniversary so special.

Room Tip: Ask the manager. Ours was immaculate.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyal-Ventnor, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to publish a lovely review of The Royal on Trip Advisor.

We're delighted to read you enjoyed your 25th wedding anniversary stay with us.

Our Head Chef is always happy to adapt his menu or produce new dishes to cater for dietary requirements or allergies. I'm pleased your were happy with the alternative menu presented to you.

I hope we have the pleasure in welcoming you back to The Royal in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews