We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Royal Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$279
US$262
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hambrough(Ventnor)
US$228
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bourne Hall Country Hotel(Shanklin)(Great Value!)
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$186
US$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Old Park Hotel(St Lawrence)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (992)
Filter reviews
992 results
Traveller rating
711
185
65
25
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
711
185
65
25
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teaisle of wightclassic roomgarden viewcheese soufflelovely hotelpremier roomoutdoor poolwithout exceptionexcellent foodrooms are comfortablerestaurant staffdining roomfine diningspecial occasionattention to detailwine list
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
661 - 666 of 992 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We have just returned after4 nights stay at The Royal. The hotel is charming and our Premier room was spacious, clean, very comfortable and the staff were very welcoming and friendly. The bathroom facilities were excellent and the bathrobes much appreciated.

However, having spent £285 per night for the room which overlooked the front garden and swimming pool, my husband and I did not expect to be disturbed by children yelling and screaming in the front garden at 10.30 pm during the evening. This also happened each day during the afternoon. There were many families staying with young children, as was evident at breakfast, and again, a relaxed breakfast was out of the question as babies screamed and children roamed the restaurant. I do feel the management should have been more proactive in approaching parents and urging them to take more responsibility for their children.

One point about food - we were offered black pudding with our full breakfast on the third morning. According to the waitress we should have been offered this option every day. Also, although our evening meal was tasty, it would have been more attractive if the meat had been placed on its own and not dumped on top of very few vegetables. Tower food isn't for everyone. Also, in our bedroom we did wonder why only one teaspoon was provided between two cups and saucers!

Overall, if the constant noise from the children hadn't been an issue we would have certainly returned to the Royal, but unfortunately our four days stay wasn't as relaxed and quiet as we would have hoped it to have been.

Room Tip: Premier room very expensive, but roomy and good facilities.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yearlytraveller2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHotel-IOW, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Thank you for your review and I am sorry that all the families that we had here enjoying the school holidays disturbed your stay. We are a family friendly Hotel which does of course mean that there will be the inevitable noise of children playing, laughing and enjoying themselves, mixed in with the odd cry of a baby from time to time however we do ask that parents are respectful of other guests and the parents in question were spoken to as soon as I was made aware of any disturbance. I do hope that you will visit us again.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We enjoyed 3 very relaxing days at the Royal. We had a well appointed room overlooking the garden and pool, and a view of the coastline. Superb meals, bar prices very reasonable, breakfast and afternoon tea were also very good. All the staff were very efficient, especially the bar staff. The overall atmosphere in the hotel was like going back to the more genteel times, very relaxing. The resort of Ventnor is charming and was a pleasure to visit, we shall return for a longer stay.

Room Tip: We were very pleased with the spacious premier room, worth the extra cost, especially for a longer stay.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CampariCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHotel-IOW, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Thank you for your review and I'm so glad you enjoyed a relaxing break with us. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon for a longer visit.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This is without doubt a lovely hotel and we had a very enjoyable stay. The room was lovely, the food was of a very high standard and the staff were wonderful. Of course you only see how these places really cope in an emergency when it happens. On the night we stayed the fire alarm went off around 2.45am but thankfully there was no fire. In fact the staff said the alarm was probably set off by a spider in room four - an unusual excuse. At no point during evacuation did any on-duty staff offer assistance but remained in reception, the external emergency exit staircase had no lighting for example which took a while for some guests to negotiate. So perhaps a proper emergency procedure shoud be implemented... or even a discount to the bill when errant spiders can cause such mayhem!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flemtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHotel-IOW, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Thank you very much for your review. I am terribly sorry about the disturbance of the fire alarm which we have since had stringently tested. Thank you for brining to our attention the light that was out at the rear of the building, we have now had this repaired. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit and I look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Staying at the Royal is a truly exceptional experience. The food is fantastic and the service is top notch. It's like being transported back to a more elegant time. The only criticism is the rooms are a tad on the small size. We will return

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank antionoplaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHotel-IOW, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Thank you very much for your review and praise, it is very kind. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed for one night and really enjoyed it. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the hotel is clean and rooms are comfortable. The situation is very peaceful. We ate in the hotel and the meal was well cooked and very well presented. The cooked breakfast looked good but the continental was rather limited. Good find

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianeha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHotel-IOW, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Thank you for your review and we are very much looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews