We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel for relaxing.”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I had occasion to spend a long weekend in the Royal Hotel in Ventnor. This was my first taste of Ventnor and the Royal.

The hotel is privately owned and to that extent it is magical. It is well appointed and is situated at the Easterly point of the town on high ground facing South East and overlooking the English Channel. If you have not experienced the Isle of Wight, then be aware that road trips are not short - as a general rule take the mileage and multiple by 3 and that is how long it will take you as a minimum. I say this because it will take at least 35 minutes from the ferry to arrive at the hotel. This could be a good thing because it is as far away from Cowes (Cowes week was running when we were there)as you can get and still get a decent bed. There are three places to park; in the entrance drive if you are lucky or disabled, at a car park in front on the other side of the road taking about 8 cars and at the back of the hotel which necessitates the tackling of at least 25 steps in a downwards direction to reach the hotel. The drive parking is policed by reception staff. I witnessed a rather large lady get very obstreperous about moving her car from a spot that had been reserved for a disabled customer; the staff stuck to their guns and insisted the lady move her car. She eventually grudgingly relented and moved her not insignificant mass to undertake the task.
The hotel is Victorian, but has been tastefully decorated and modernized. That said, there is no wifi in the rooms, nor means of plugging into the internet. There is wifi in the main hall and reception areas. In addition, there is no air conditioning in the standard double rooms (not sure about the others). This is normally fine but in hot weather fans can be borrowed from the reception. This can be a nuisance if you need to be cool in order to sleep as the fans make a certain amount of noise. The en suite facilities in each room were good. We stayed in a front facing double room. There are some rooms that face the back - I would not recommend them.
The hotel has a very good restaurant which is frequented by many non residents. There appears to be a sensible rule that children, under a certain age, cannot dine in the restaurant in the evening; they must use the glass entrance area which is nicely laid out with tables.
The Royal also has an outside swimming pool which is well kept and popular in the summer with children. The gardens are in front of the hotel and a pleasure in which to sit on one of the many seats provided. Refreshments can be served outside and even across the road on a private lookout point. The road outside is not very busy but this does not stop the errant youthful motorcyclist who insists on riding without any form of silencer.
The staff are attentive and obviously know the regulars well.
In my opinion the hotel is great for relaxing and also as a civilized base for experiencing the Isle of Wight. It is not a business hotel or one for someone who requires to be plugged in 24/7.
The hotel was on the pricey side; we paid £1000 for 3 nights half board inclusive of a ferry crossing with car from Southampton.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front benefit from sun, garden and view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank peter l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHotel-IOW, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you for your review. I am glad that you were able to spend the weekend relaxing amongst the hustle and bustle of Cowes week and hope that you will return again to visit us soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (916)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

581 - 587 of 916 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

A lovely place for a few days R&R.
Proximity to beach and town good.
Restaurant food and service was excellent.
All staff from front desk to restaurant and bars were both helpful and charming.
Location for IOW activities was fine but a car needed to explore island.
Miles of walking and cycling tracks nearby if needed.
The hotel has some old style charm - as does the island - and some tasteful modernisation with the furniture would not go amiss. The rooms were more than adequate with tea/coffee making facilities. However no wi-fi unless directly above the entrance area.
Swimming pool looked inviting and gardens provided a lovely relaxing area, as did the coastal outlook just across a quiet road.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Voyageur5956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHotel-IOW, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you for your review and I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are currently in the process of updating our Wifi system to broaden the availability. We hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed here with young children years ago and stay now every couple of years when air travel gets too much; a week stay - pricey buy good value and a treat in all respects

Great weather, great food (especially if you like fish) and pleasant staff who know their stuff. Room 35 a standard room - but well presented

Food both at dinner and breakfast varied and delicious - a bit salty perhaps! Splendid specials. Good to share the hotel with guests of like mind and look for standards...

Reception even supplied Sellotape to mend my specs

We shall return again - maybe with grown up children and grandchildren

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicodemus12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHotel-IOW, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you for your review, we are very pleased to hear you had such an enjoyable time with us and are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Gardens were beautiful and all communal areas like the bar etc all lovely and modern. Staff very friendly and helpful. We felt the standard and quality of rooms let the hotel down a little. The bathroom was less than bog standard. The rooms were clean and bed comfortable, however for the price point we had expected an element of luxury. Overall, we had a great time and the pool and sandpit and family friendly vibe was great. However, very disappointed with the room standard.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Mimms25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHotel-IOW, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Thank you for your review and I am glad that overall you had an enjoyable stay. We have a constant refurbishment programme here at The Royal and we are always trying to improve our offering, not just with food and service but with the quality of our rooms too. We have refurbished more than 10 rooms this year and will soon be making a start on our next programme of refurbishments. I do hope that you will return to see what improvements we have made.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

The accommodation was luxurious. We stayed in The Premier room, room no 22 which had garden, sea and pool views. The service was excellent in the restaurant, nothing was too much trouble. The food was fantastic and the presentation was simply amazing. Compliments to the chef. There were a few families staying there and they were all happy with what the hotel had to offer. All in all a great stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pompeywendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHotel-IOW, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Thank you for your review and praise, it is gratefully received and much appreciated. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We have just returned after4 nights stay at The Royal. The hotel is charming and our Premier room was spacious, clean, very comfortable and the staff were very welcoming and friendly. The bathroom facilities were excellent and the bathrobes much appreciated.

However, having spent £285 per night for the room which overlooked the front garden and swimming pool, my husband and I did not expect to be disturbed by children yelling and screaming in the front garden at 10.30 pm during the evening. This also happened each day during the afternoon. There were many families staying with young children, as was evident at breakfast, and again, a relaxed breakfast was out of the question as babies screamed and children roamed the restaurant. I do feel the management should have been more proactive in approaching parents and urging them to take more responsibility for their children.

One point about food - we were offered black pudding with our full breakfast on the third morning. According to the waitress we should have been offered this option every day. Also, although our evening meal was tasty, it would have been more attractive if the meat had been placed on its own and not dumped on top of very few vegetables. Tower food isn't for everyone. Also, in our bedroom we did wonder why only one teaspoon was provided between two cups and saucers!

Overall, if the constant noise from the children hadn't been an issue we would have certainly returned to the Royal, but unfortunately our four days stay wasn't as relaxed and quiet as we would have hoped it to have been.

Room Tip: Premier room very expensive, but roomy and good facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yearlytraveller2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHotel-IOW, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Thank you for your review and I am sorry that all the families that we had here enjoying the school holidays disturbed your stay. We are a family friendly Hotel which does of course mean that there will be the inevitable noise of children playing, laughing and enjoying themselves, mixed in with the odd cry of a baby from time to time however we do ask that parents are respectful of other guests and the parents in question were spoken to as soon as I was made aware of any disturbance. I do hope that you will visit us again.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We enjoyed 3 very relaxing days at the Royal. We had a well appointed room overlooking the garden and pool, and a view of the coastline. Superb meals, bar prices very reasonable, breakfast and afternoon tea were also very good. All the staff were very efficient, especially the bar staff. The overall atmosphere in the hotel was like going back to the more genteel times, very relaxing. The resort of Ventnor is charming and was a pleasure to visit, we shall return for a longer stay.

Room Tip: We were very pleased with the spacious premier room, worth the extra cost, especially for a longer s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CampariCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHotel-IOW, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Thank you for your review and I'm so glad you enjoyed a relaxing break with us. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon for a longer visit.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventnor
8.9 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
357 reviews
2.6 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
746 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
494 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hillside Hotel
Hillside Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ventnor
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Address: Belgrave Road, Ventnor PO38 1JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Price Range: £89 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Hotel is one of the Isle of Wight’s Best Kept Secrets – a refined and elegant historic jewel and a destination for the discerning traveller for more than 150 years. This is the island’s leading AA Four Star hotel.Grand yet intimate, this beautiful early Victorian hotel has 54 bedrooms and is set in sub tropical gardens in the seaside town of Ventnor, on the island’s south coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Ventnor
The Royal Hotel Ventnor, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing