We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant and Victorian”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Elegant and Victorian”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This was our first visit to the Isle of Wight and decided on The Royal as our hotel of choice. We were not disappointed. The hotel opened in 1832 and according to the staff, Queen Victoria would visit for the occasional tea while at Osborne House. The hotel still has it's Victorian ambience along with tasteful updates throughout the property. The rooms were spotless and the beds were so comfortable. We also had dinner (exceptional three course meal) and breakfast (wonderful selection) - both were accompanied with fantastic service. We thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of our stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J_L_Berghout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHotel-IOW, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for your review, I'm glad to hear you enjoyed every aspect of your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    587
    157
    60
    23
    6
See reviews for
191
415
21
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Heidelberg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Enjoyed a pleasant and relaxing stay here. Good location overlooking the sea and just a short walk to the beech.
The food in the restaurant is excellent and a highlight of the Hotel. However the dining room is a liitle lifeless and dark. I recommend eating outside or if you are even more adventurous go out to the amazing terrace looking down on the sea - a very special, and underused, setting.
Enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: Definitely with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHotel-IOW, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for your review and I'm glad to hear you had a pleasant stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
isle of Wight
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I booked the function room at relatively short notice for 16 delegates arriving from all over the UK. The staff were very friendly and accommodating on arrival and quietly in the background to cater for all our needs throughout the meetings. All I.T facilities were excellent and considering it was a busy day in August we were undisturbed by any other guests. Our room was also furnished to a very high standard. Lunch was also very good.

We will definitely book the facilities again. Thank you Jamie and team.

Room Tip: The conference room was quiet and undisturbed
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyOceanBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHotel-IOW, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you very much for writing your review, we are very glad to hear you were well looked after and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This was our first trip to the IOW and obviously to The Royal Hotel.
We booked this reservation over the telephone and Explained to the receptionist this was for our Silver Wedding Anniversary.

We booked a Premier Room.

We arrived after being held up with a late ferry at 17.20. The lady on the front desk wasn't particularly welcoming. I mentioned that we were interested in a 'Royal Tea' for the following day as it was our 25th Wedding Anniversary and she replied that we were too late for tomorrow now as the pastry chef went home at 5pm and it was now 20minutes past! I explained that the ferry was late and that tomorrow was a special occasion for us but she was sticking to her guns of we were too late! I was disappointed with the fact that she didn't even suggest that maybe she could speak to the chefs in the morning and see what they could do for us being such a special occasion!
The following afternoon we were having drinks on the patio and a lovely waiter asked if we wanted anything else and I mentioned to him about the disappointment of not being able to have the 'Royal Tea' as we were 20 minutes late booking it yesterday evening. He was polite and did say he felt that was a little unfair as he was sure the chefs would have made extra and that if we were happy to wait until after 5pm then he would see if the kitchen did in fact have extra "to get rid of" at that time of the day and then hopefully we could have one, unfortunately we had already booked elsewhere that evening at 7.30pm but he was very charming to at least offer some help.

Our room was decorated beautifully, nice and fresh and with a wonderful view. The bed was comfortable and although the room had no a/c a fan was available from reception.
The disappointing part was the bathroom was half cleaned. The bin hadn't been emptied, dirty towels on the floor in the corner and old toothpaste was still in the sink, on the tap and on the marble shelving. I did report these findings and they were sorted.

The breakfast was fresh and hot and the service there was fine. We sat outside as the weather was beautiful the only issue here was that smokers would walk into the garden and light up right in front of you whilst your were eating. Maybe the hotel could look at a designated smokers area whilst breakfast is being served?

We did find it difficult to find a table mid-morning to sit at as many were already reserved in the conservatory for lunch guests, so we sat in the lounge area.

Little details need to be looked at, we didn't have our tea bags and hot chocolate refilled which is only a minor detail I know but it's all about the detail.
Also we were disappointed that having told the hotel staff on booking that it was our 25th anniversary and again at check in, nothing, not even a card was delivered to our room. It would have been nice for it to have been acknowledged.

The hotel is in a gorgeous setting and many things are lovely but they need to look at the detail and maybe be more welcoming next time!

Room Tip: We had a 'top room' Premier Room number 22 good size and wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHotel-IOW, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for your comments and for getting in touch with me privately to discuss this matter.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I had occasion to spend a long weekend in the Royal Hotel in Ventnor. This was my first taste of Ventnor and the Royal.

The hotel is privately owned and to that extent it is magical. It is well appointed and is situated at the Easterly point of the town on high ground facing South East and overlooking the English Channel. If you have not experienced the Isle of Wight, then be aware that road trips are not short - as a general rule take the mileage and multiple by 3 and that is how long it will take you as a minimum. I say this because it will take at least 35 minutes from the ferry to arrive at the hotel. This could be a good thing because it is as far away from Cowes (Cowes week was running when we were there)as you can get and still get a decent bed. There are three places to park; in the entrance drive if you are lucky or disabled, at a car park in front on the other side of the road taking about 8 cars and at the back of the hotel which necessitates the tackling of at least 25 steps in a downwards direction to reach the hotel. The drive parking is policed by reception staff. I witnessed a rather large lady get very obstreperous about moving her car from a spot that had been reserved for a disabled customer; the staff stuck to their guns and insisted the lady move her car. She eventually grudgingly relented and moved her not insignificant mass to undertake the task.
The hotel is Victorian, but has been tastefully decorated and modernized. That said, there is no wifi in the rooms, nor means of plugging into the internet. There is wifi in the main hall and reception areas. In addition, there is no air conditioning in the standard double rooms (not sure about the others). This is normally fine but in hot weather fans can be borrowed from the reception. This can be a nuisance if you need to be cool in order to sleep as the fans make a certain amount of noise. The en suite facilities in each room were good. We stayed in a front facing double room. There are some rooms that face the back - I would not recommend them.
The hotel has a very good restaurant which is frequented by many non residents. There appears to be a sensible rule that children, under a certain age, cannot dine in the restaurant in the evening; they must use the glass entrance area which is nicely laid out with tables.
The Royal also has an outside swimming pool which is well kept and popular in the summer with children. The gardens are in front of the hotel and a pleasure in which to sit on one of the many seats provided. Refreshments can be served outside and even across the road on a private lookout point. The road outside is not very busy but this does not stop the errant youthful motorcyclist who insists on riding without any form of silencer.
The staff are attentive and obviously know the regulars well.
In my opinion the hotel is great for relaxing and also as a civilized base for experiencing the Isle of Wight. It is not a business hotel or one for someone who requires to be plugged in 24/7.
The hotel was on the pricey side; we paid £1000 for 3 nights half board inclusive of a ferry crossing with car from Southampton.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front benefit from sun, garden and view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peter l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHotel-IOW, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for your review. I am glad that you were able to spend the weekend relaxing amongst the hustle and bustle of Cowes week and hope that you will return again to visit us soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

A lovely place for a few days R&R.
Proximity to beach and town good.
Restaurant food and service was excellent.
All staff from front desk to restaurant and bars were both helpful and charming.
Location for IOW activities was fine but a car needed to explore island.
Miles of walking and cycling tracks nearby if needed.
The hotel has some old style charm - as does the island - and some tasteful modernisation with the furniture would not go amiss. The rooms were more than adequate with tea/coffee making facilities. However no wi-fi unless directly above the entrance area.
Swimming pool looked inviting and gardens provided a lovely relaxing area, as did the coastal outlook just across a quiet road.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Voyageur5956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHotel-IOW, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for your review and I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are currently in the process of updating our Wifi system to broaden the availability. We hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed here with young children years ago and stay now every couple of years when air travel gets too much; a week stay - pricey buy good value and a treat in all respects

Great weather, great food (especially if you like fish) and pleasant staff who know their stuff. Room 35 a standard room - but well presented

Food both at dinner and breakfast varied and delicious - a bit salty perhaps! Splendid specials. Good to share the hotel with guests of like mind and look for standards...

Reception even supplied Sellotape to mend my specs

We shall return again - maybe with grown up children and grandchildren

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicodemus12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHotel-IOW, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for your review, we are very pleased to hear you had such an enjoyable time with us and are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventnor
2.6 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
456 reviews
2.6 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
715 reviews
8.9 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hillside Hotel
Hillside Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ventnor
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Property: The Royal Hotel
Address: Belgrave Road, Ventnor PO38 1JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Hotel is one of the Isle of Wight’s Best Kept Secrets – a refined and elegant historic jewel and a destination for the discerning traveller for more than 150 years. This is the island’s leading AA Four Star hotel.Grand yet intimate, this beautiful early Victorian hotel has 54 bedrooms and is set in sub tropical gardens in the seaside town of Ventnor, on the island’s south coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Ventnor
The Royal Hotel Ventnor, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing