We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Blissfull Break in a Tranquil Setting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Bromsgrove, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Blissfull Break in a Tranquil Setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2015

Booked a break at the Royal after searching lots of reviews on tripadvisor & it seemed to suit our needs but was a little expensive. The Hotel is set in beautiful grounds with an outdoor pool at the front of the building and views out to sea, It is a traditional style Victorian building with a rabbit warren of corridors and stairs. There is a lift which gives direct access to some rooms, but you have to negotiate both lift and stairs to access many others. We booked a standard room which was the only disappointment because it was a little on the small side and cluttered with furniture, however there was a good sized bed which was very comfortable, multi channel tv and free WiFi.
The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfasts were excellent & we had dinner in the restaurant one evening which was also superb and well worth the money. I can also recommend the 'Royal' afternoon tea' which is an indulgent treat you will never forget.

Room Tip: If you have any mobility issues make this clear when you book so that you are given a room accessed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHotel-IOW, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2015
Dear Cheryl M

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Royal.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Paul and The Royal Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    515
    138
    55
    23
    6
See reviews for
175
358
17
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2015

I have attended a wedding at The Royal, a conference, as well as staying there on holiday. It is without doubt one of the most charming places on the planet! The food is wonderful, service is first class and the surroundings are so stunning.

Room Tip: Garden views are worth it - you face the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barnthebearsmyname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHotel-IOW, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2015
Dear barnthebearsmyname

Thank you for taking the time to place a review on your experiences at The Royal Hotel,

I shall pass on your comments to the team and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Paul and the Royal Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2015

I love staying here when on business, cannot fault in any way at all.

Staff & food excellent.

Weather also very good so made a nicer view from room as well.

Same room as before which is very nice.

Still struggled with the internet connection though.

Take a walk up to the cliff top garden, lovely views from here.

Overall excellent.

Room Tip: Rooms at front have a sea view from the cliff top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 735charles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHotel-IOW, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2015
Dear 735charles

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at The Royal Hotel, I will pass on your comments to the team.

We hope to see you again soon.

Paul and the Royal Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2015

We stayed here during the bank holiday and found the hotel to be everything that people have said here many times. Friendly, helpful and diligent in all they do. If you are lucky enough to stay try the soufflé.

  • Stayed May 2015, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank r b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHotel-IOW, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2015
Thank you for your review. The soufflé remains a favourite on our menu.

Best wishes,

Jaime and the Royal Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2015 via mobile

Just what the doctor ordered! We went with our 14 month old baby and we're delighted to discover baby listening service, high tea at 6pm to feed baby and baby swings in the garden. It's definitely not a family hotel with kids everywhere. But if you want to take your children, the hotel is really welcoming. Loved the spacious room, lovely breakfasts, delicious evening menu (without baby ;-)), sumptuous scones for cream tea. And great location in a calm sanctuary of fresh sea air and lush green garden. Highly recommend. Thanks The Royal. We'll be back.

Stayed May 2015
Helpful?
1 Thank Flavard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHotel-IOW, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2015
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We appreciate your feedback and are pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future,

Best wishes,

Jaime and the Royal Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2015

The site of this hotel is perfect for Ventnor and surrounding areas. It provides comfortable bedrooms and excellent dining facilities. There are frequent special events at weekends and a lovely garden round the hotel.

Room Tip: Front of building has the best rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHotel-IOW, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2015
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your kind review. Please consider us when you next need a relaxing break.

Best wishes,

Jaime and the Royal Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2015

After the Easter break with grand children all over the place it was nice to get away on our own to The Royal. The service was excellent from check in through meals and rooms to check out. The weather was in our favour and we were able to see a lot of the Island. My wife had a massage in the Spa which she told me was the best she had ever had. We will certainly be going back and it would be nice if the Hotel could arrange an all inclusive with the ferry company's.

Room Tip: Room 52 was nicely decorated, we think newly decorated, with a view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank walker032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHotel-IOW, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2015
Thank you for your kind comments.

We are pleased to say that we can offer a dinner, bed, breakfast and ferry inclusive package. Please contact the hotel directly when arranging your next visit.

Best wishes,

Jaime and the Royal hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventnor
2.6 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#3 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
9.0 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
12.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN New Holmwood Hotel & Restaurant
5.1 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Property: The Royal Hotel
Address: Belgrave Road, Ventnor PO38 1JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Hotel is one of the Isle of Wight’s Best Kept Secrets – a refined and elegant historic jewel and a destination for the discerning traveller for more than 150 years. This is the island’s leading AA Four Star hotel.Grand yet intimate, this beautiful early Victorian hotel has 54 bedrooms and is set in sub tropical gardens in the seaside town of Ventnor, on the island’s south coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Ventnor
The Royal Hotel Ventnor, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing