We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal short break”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2009

Stayed at the Royal Hotel for short break early July. Wonderful food and attentive staff. Would recommend staying in one of the front bedrooms.Ours was at the back with a dim view and quite a cramped space.
However set in a lovely location and perfect for touring the island.
Will definately visit again

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theplatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (878)
There are newer reviews for The Royal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

836 - 842 of 878 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2009

We have just come back from a short break and would recommend this hotel for good service, good food (breakfasts fantastic) and different from all the standard corporate hotels. Situated just above the promenade in Ventnor it is well situated for touring the island. It was very clean and offered good family rooms and plenty of car parking. We had a lovely relaxing time.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Treacletart6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2009

Large hotel were guests are treated as individuals and not commodities; comfortable and quiet rooms in a hotel that is located within easy reach of all destinations on the Isle of Wight.
Room services was very good and done with utmost care. The food at breakfast and evening meal was excellent and the chefs were prepared to meet individual needs if requested. Due consideration given to disabled parking - but ask before you arrive as there are only 6 places.
Pleasant welcome from staff on arrival and each day at breakfast and evening meal. Food not rushed and coffee after evening meal in the conservatory was nice. Hotel has a bar and will serve tea and coffee if requested.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happy-pilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2009

Stayed for a weekend at the Royal as a party of seven - extended family - and thought it was excellent. The situation, set in its own gardens and small outdoor pool made up for lack of sea views. Plenty of parking, delightful staff, good food, decent rooms - the weather was perfect and the round the island yacht race was fantastic.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoodieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2009

This was only the second time that we have visited to this charming hotel which is set in beautiful and well maintained gardens
After exploring the gardens and taking in the splendid seaviews ,on this quite warm February evening, we made our way to the bar where we were greeted by very curtious staff and enjoyed our aperitif in front of the open fire in relaxing comfortable sofas
After choosing our meal from the wide ranging menu we were taken into the magnificent
restaurant which is full of character and a warm friendly atmophere
We were made to feel very welcome and the staff provided a very friendly and attentive service without being too intrusive
The quality of the food was exceptional without a doubt-warm homemade breads, fresh fish from ventnor bay(the sea bass was stunning) and the isle of wight cheeses- good quality local produce cooked by an obviously highly skilled team
The puds were fab and we finished with coffee served again with homemade petit fours in the airy conservatory area
We have lived for many years on the continent and have eaten in many fine restaurants
and The Royal Hotel is up there with them

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stef025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2009

We spent a long weekend at the hotel at the end of February. It was our first time there. The hotel was very clean and well-cared for - not a dud lightbulb in any of the public rooms or our bedroom which is a good indicator of strong management. We were delighted with the food, the dishes were well planned, tasty and well presented. We particularly enjoyed the fish dishes as the fish came from a local supplier about 200 yds from the hotel. Our room was comfortable, clean, plenty of light and the hot water was very good. Ventnor does not seem to have too much parking space outside the hotels, so it is useful to know that this hotel had plenty.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jandbsev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2009

We have just returned from our second stay at the Royal (this was an early valentines break as I have to be away on business for the actual weekend!) and was once again delighted with the service received.

The food is fantastic and as a big fish lovers, we really enjoyed the locally caught catch of the day. The staff are friendly and efficient and the hotel itself as always impressed.

Barely even went out into the area this time...but the hotel provided everything we needed!

Highly recommended for a getaway from it all hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottishdave75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventnor
2.6 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
5.1 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
736 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 51 in Shanklin
852 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#3 of 9 in Ventnor
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Address: Belgrave Road, Ventnor PO38 1JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Price Range: £132 - £277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Hotel is one of the Isle of Wight’s Best Kept Secrets – a refined and elegant historic jewel and a destination for the discerning traveller for more than 150 years. This is the island’s leading AA Four Star hotel.Grand yet intimate, this beautiful early Victorian hotel has 54 bedrooms and is set in sub tropical gardens in the seaside town of Ventnor, on the island’s south coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, LateRooms, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Ventnor
The Royal Hotel Ventnor, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing