We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
St Maur(Ventnor)
US$150
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$154/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$259
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$246
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hambrough(Ventnor)
US$198
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Leconfield(Bonchurch)
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No24 Ventnor(Ventnor)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Old Park Hotel(St Lawrence)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,079)
Filter reviews
1,079 results
Traveller rating
776
203
69
25
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
776
203
69
25
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsisle of wightlovely hotelclassic roomafternoon teagarden viewcheese souffleexcellent foodfirst classpremier roomsconesoutdoor poolwithout exceptionrooms are comfortablespecial occasiondining roomfine diningfamily room
Filter
Updating list...
204 - 209 of 1,079 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

My daughter and I enjoyed a lovely afternoon tea here as a joint birthday treat. Food and tea fabulous, scones warm and lovely, sandwiches a little tired and uninspired fillings but tasty. Able to order Darjeeling tea even though not offered on the menu.
The only down point was that we asked to sit in the terrace as it was a beautiful afternoon not knowing that it was the thoroughfare from the pool to the hotel. Having guests pass our table in various states of undress and dryness was a little off-putting whilst eating. Recommend eating indoors!
Lesson learnt and will return.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank SherlieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

Such a wonderfully comfortable and relaxing place to stay. All the staff are so thoughtful. We enjoyed every meal in the elegant dining room, especially the amazing prawn and crab risotto in lobster bisque.

Room Tip: Some have bath and some have shower so if you have a preference you should specify
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank helenl975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

Wonderful to stay in a hotel which still has standards. Most men wore jackets in the restaurant in the evening and it sets the tone for the service level you can expect. Staff are well versed in dealing with guests and the more senior staff were particularly friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank nigel3817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

Our recent visit to the hotel was excellent. We were a group of classic car enthusiasts who were visiting the island. Our stay was first class the service, the food, the rooms were all first class. One of the best hotel breakfasts we ave had. Evening dinner was also a great experience with a good selection and beautifully presented and full of flavor.
The bar prices were reasonable and not overpriced. the staff were attentive and very professional It was a pleasant change to stay in a hotel where you were treated with a warm greeting. The girls on reception were chatty and had a big smile. Great Stay

Room Tip: Had no issue with our room
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TYME1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

We stayed here for four nights in a Classic Double room (4) which had a lovely view over the gardens towards the sea. The bed was very comfortable but the furniture was dated. The wall lights over the bed were very poor for reading. There was no fridge or room safe provided - pretty standard these days in Germany and Austria which we visited earlier this year. More sockets at desk top height would have been helpful. Again the bathroom was adequate but rather dated. As other reviews have said the fixed head shower is awkward to use and a separate flexible head should have been available. There was a very good WiFi signal in the bedroom which was easy to connect to. The corridor to the bedroom was very dark and poorly lit.
Good food is what The Royal does best and for dinner we had booked the "Three Courses for £30" option which allowed us to choose from the whole menu which was very extensive and full of interesting dishes. The cheese souffle starter was to die for. The fish choices were generally the best option to go for - the whole plaice was very good. The duck breast was however a little tough. For dessert the lemon parfait and the sorbets were excellent.
Breakfast however, was not so great unless you chose the cooked options. We found the cold buffet choices were rather limited. There were some nice croissants and packaged cereals, plain yogurt but no bread rolls and only a small range of jams.
The dining room and the front conservatory were very comfortable and welcoming. The outside pool was rather small but was heated and an excellent facility. The staff were all friendly, efficient and very helpful. Overall a pleasant stay but the rooms could do with a makeover.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden towards the sea are best.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Iveltravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews