We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,239)
Filter reviews
1,239 results
Traveller rating
886
246
74
27
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
886
246
74
27
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews isle of wight classic room garden view afternoon tea lovely hotel first class outdoor pool excellent food scones premier room rooms are comfortable without exception special occasion dining room fine dining steep walk attention to detail
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 1,239 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

A stay and eating at The Royal is very highly recommended. Sadly because of the time of year I was unable to avail myself of the cliff top seats, cushions and blankets but the availability of such would have been a real bonus.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Guide11325907844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My second visit within the last couple of months. Hotel is an older building with corridors that twist and turn with rooms that are possibly a little smaller than some. Cleanliness is good and all staff are friendly and helpful at all times. Dinner is not to be missed with excellent quality imaginative dishes well cooked and brought to the table on hot plates (as appropriate!)Probably the best IOW hotel!

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank SteveP1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A friend and I visited in November for an afternoon tea.
The afternoon tea was delicious and we were offered a variety of tea and coffee to accompany it.
The staff were polite and attentive! We will definitely be returning.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Katy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

"sleep quality" ratring due to noise of a pump somewhere near the room which night porter could not locate or fix. If this has now been fixed (room 47) then sleep rating would probably be "excellent".Hotel did allow a small rebate on the bill for this, but was still very expensive.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Roam36206655121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHotel-IOW, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for reviewing your experience of the Royal Hotel. I am sorry that your rest was disturbed and we were unable to rectify the issue immediately for you. Our maintenance team have investigated the cause and have taken measures to prevent this situation occurring again.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel sometime in the future.

Kind regards
The Royal Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Amazing overnight stay faultless service friendly professional staff, choices of dishes at breakfast afternoon tea and dinner was superb This hotel should be 5 star for all its splendour and services it has to offer

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank OnAir65057353778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews