We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in the Isle of Wight”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Certificate of Excellence
southshields
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in the Isle of Wight”
Reviewed 15 September 2010

The hotel has well appointed comfortable rooms pleasant lounges and wonderful food.
Ventnor is the best of the seaside towns in the Isle of Wight and this is the best hotel by far which we have stayed in when visiting this island. Overall it is a very good hotel enhanced by the helpful and friendly staff and the excellent food. I would recommend this hotel as one of the best I have stayed in England.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uptheshots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    566
    153
    60
    23
    6
See reviews for
185
401
19
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

We stayed 3 nights at the hotel with our 16 yr old son for a quiet, relaxing break with walking and some sightseeing. Ventnor is a lovely, quiet little town with good coastal walking. The welcome from reception staff at the hotel was very friendly and helpful, exactly as it should be, but seldom encountered these days. All staff in the hotel were good and some really excellent. We ate in the hotel restaurant mornings and evenings and found the food superb and service very good indeed. My husband needs a gluten free diet and having spoken to hotel staff regarding this, they were really helpful and informative both on the phone beforehand and during our stay, so he was able to enjoy a great deal of the excellent food on offer and gluten free bread was available at every meal. We stayed in a double room with garden view and our teenage son was next door. The views were lovely, though the rooms are a little small and the beds only 4'6" which was a bit too cosy. For the price and class of hotel, we felt this should be improved. However, overall we really enjoyed our stay and would certainly stay again. The cliff top gardens were delightful with wonderful views of the coast and out to sea.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VickyMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

In a stunning location this hotel falls down badly with the decor of the standard rooms. Our room was very small and the furnishing were tired. The bathroom had mould in it and it smelt of damp. We paid a lot of money for this room and I was very disappointed.
The staff were extremely courteous and they did listen when I complained.

It was a real shame because in every other way this hotel is lovely

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beenthereLondonUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
87 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

Went with husband and two friends for a 3 night stay at this hotel which overlooks the sea in Ventnor. It was a really lovely experience. The hotel is very attractive from the front, beautiful gardens and well lit at night, it wouldn't be out of place in the south of France. The entrance hall is large and attractive and our booking was processed quickly and efficiently. We had two standard rooms facing the sea, beds were comfortable and the bathrooms were a good size and well equipped, but the joy of our stay was the staff and the food. Everybody was well trained, friendly and efficient. The food was as good as I have eaten in the best London restaurants and the menu was interesting and varied. As a non-meat eater I chose the cheese souffle one evening - perfect! and the other vegetarian dishes were equally good. My meat eating husband and friends enjoyed perfectly cooked fillet steaks, amazing lobster and beautifully prepared fish. The desserts were varied and all home made to the highest standard. Would I go there again ... YES!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daisy22008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2010

This was our third visit to the Royal and it just gets better each time. It is a quintessential English hotel, it feels like stepping back in time to when hotels were about people, attentive service, traditional afternoon tea and morning coffee. The Royal is decorated to a high standard with very comfortable rooms. The food is fantastic and if you have any special dietary needs they will happily cater for you, here the customer is king. If you want whistles and bells, glass and chrome, with incessant background music, then go to a one size fits all chain hotel. However, if you want a rare taste of elegance and high standards the Royal is for you. Five mins from the beach and located at the north of the island it couldn't be better placed. You expect to bump into Bertie Wooster in the bar or Miss Marples in the lounge – wonderful stuff!!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ewen028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2010

We took advantage of the 5o% discount offer in march,we were not dissapointed,the service at this hotel is great ,and the food wonderfull.
I know its a bit expensive,but if you look out for the special offers,you will not be dissapointed.
We upgraded to a deluxe room (no 42) great views over the gardens,which even in march looked great.
The staff are very attentive,polite and efficient.
A really nice holiday

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colthebass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wargrave
Level Contributor
148 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2010

Like most of f the reviews on The Royal we found the staff to be excellent, The lobby and bar were decorated to a high standard but the resturant was very over the top. Our room overlooked the gardens and was fine but for the price charged a bit dull. We were given a late sitting for the resturant and three of the items ordered were not available, but our dinner the first night was super unfortunately on the second a big disappointment. The hotel did give us a refund but this was a special stay (birthday) so we were upset.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inclineski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventnor
2.6 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
2.6 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 52 in Shanklin
825 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
340 reviews
8.9 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
5.1 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Property: The Royal Hotel
Address: Belgrave Road, Ventnor PO38 1JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Hotel is one of the Isle of Wight’s Best Kept Secrets – a refined and elegant historic jewel and a destination for the discerning traveller for more than 150 years. This is the island’s leading AA Four Star hotel.Grand yet intimate, this beautiful early Victorian hotel has 54 bedrooms and is set in sub tropical gardens in the seaside town of Ventnor, on the island’s south coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Ventnor
The Royal Hotel Ventnor, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing