We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place for a family stay on the Isle of Wight”
other travellers have booked this property
Ivy covered cottage built in 1862, extended and improved to provide a modern, comfortable space.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ivy covered cottage built in 1862, extended and improved to provide a modern, comfortable space.
There is plenty of room for parking outside the cottage, and along the securely gated driveway. One of the badgers on the patio. Photo taken by one of our guests!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
133 reviews
Ivy covered cottage built in 1862, extended and improved to provide a modern, comfortable space.
There is plenty of room for parking outside the cottage, and along the securely gated driveway.
One of the badgers on the patio. Photo taken by one of our guests!
The lovely spacious kitchen with traditional granite tiled floor.
Warm and cosy by the Aga in the winter months, lovely after a bracing walk!
Fully fitted cottage kitchen, with all the equipment you would expect - and more!
Enjoy cooking in the spacious kitchen.
The lounge and dining room are separated by a concealed glass sliding door and curtains for privacy.
Traditional beamed ceiling in the modern and comfortable 25ft lounge.
There is plenty of space to relax.
The sofa extends to a king-size sofa bed to accommodate 2 extra guests. It really is comfortable!
Plenty of Xbox games to keep you occupied.
The dining room easily seats 8. There are plenty of DVDs and games to keep you occupied.
Recently improved and newly decorated.
Table football lifts up to reveal a mini pool table.
Watch the badgers feeding on the patio in the evening. A fabulous sight.
Stunning enclosed private garden, with wild and natural planting to encourage wildlife
Just one of the many patio areas with seating
Lovely lawn with plenty of outside space to explore.
Sunny lawn and play equipment.
Swing, slide and trampoline for younger guests to enjoy.
Lovely lawned areas.
The garden is a haven for birds including Jays and Pheasants.
Squirrel feeding from the nut box outside the kitchen window. You'll also see Jays and pheasants!
The light and airy master bedroom.
The king-size bed and black-out blinds ensures a great night's sleep.
There is room for additional cots if you are travelling with little ones.
Cosy double bedroom.
Well appointed and comfortable double room.
Pretty twin room with full size single beds.
Time for a bedtime story?
A tiny selection of the toys we can supply!
The 160 year old Camellia tree, after which the cottage is named.
A warm welcome awaits on those autumn and winter nights.
16th Century Buddle Inn, once frequented by smugglers, is less than 2 minutes walk away!
St Catherine's Lighthouse. A five minute walk from the cottage. Stunning walks and views abound.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Ventnor, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 133 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Katie S
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place for a family stay on the Isle of Wight”
Reviewed 30 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Lovely cottage set in an ideal location for exploring the Isle of Wight. Lots of space, well equipped kitchen and decorated to a very high standard. We stayed with our 2 1/2 year old and 7 month old children and John & Louise had thoughtfully left us all the equipment we needed as well as a huge amount of great toys. Great to be able to see the badgers so close up, it was a highlight of the day for my son. Would definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
22 Sep 2017
Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay. We're pleased your friends enjoyed the cottage, and you found everything up to our usual standard !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
marmite12...
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful home-from-home stay”
Reviewed 16 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This was our fourth visit to Camellia Cottage and it certainly won't be the last!

I can't say enugh good things about it. The decor and equipment is superb; everything is so well-maintained and I challenge anyone to find a kitchen gadget that they don't already supply. John and Louise take great pride in keeping the house immaculate and their care and attention to detail really does show.

We stayed with grandparents and 9 and 11 year-old boys, and the house suits all of us equally. It's so peaceful, the garden is fantastic for exploring and playing games, and we all love the nightly visits by the badgers. One was so confident it sat waiting by the open french windows like a little dog for it's nightly feast of bread and jam.

The Buddle Inn (2 minutes walk) is a great old pub serving delicious food and with very friendly staff.

The house is 5 mins from Blackgang Chine and of course it's not far to go to many other interesting places.

A big thank you to John and Louise for another very relaxing stay. They are such lovely people and do everything they can to make you feel welcome - I've never seen a welcome pack like it, and John delivered the same again halfway through our break!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2017
Thank you so much for this lovely review. It's good to know that you all enjoy coming back after so many visits. We would love to welcome you all back again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
festerc
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The perfect cottage”
Reviewed 14 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We have just returned from the cottage. What a great place and the owners John and Louise have thought of everything, you name it they have it covered. The place is spotless and really well maintained. We will definitely be recommending this and we are going to go again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2017
Many thanks. We'd love to welcome you all back to Camellia cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 Sep 2017
Thank you, it's great to know that Camellia cottage is one of the best Island holiday cottages you've stayed at. We hope to see you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AnneDa73
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect family holiday home”
Reviewed 23 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Beautiful, quiet location but close enough to a lovely pub and village. The house is wonderfully equipped with everything that you could possibly need. Our children loved the treats on arrival as did we - a lovely touch, thank you Louise and John. We stayed for two weeks and the children were occupied happily throughout our time with the vast amount of toys in and outside the property. Once the children were in bed we were able to watch the wildlife in the garden whilst sitting in exceedingly comfortable chairs! We were very impressed with all that was on offer in the cottage and could not have asked for nicer owners who were very friendly and welcoming.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2017
Thank you for your lovely review and kind words. We genuinely want guests of all ages to have a great stay at Camellia cottage, so we try to cater for all!
The wildlife are an extra special added bonus due to the unique location of the cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
createhar...
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautful location, lovely house, friendly owners”
Reviewed 21 August 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Camelia Cottage is a wonderful home in a beautiful location with something for everyone. The owners are extremely helpful and kind and do everything they can to make your stay as happy as possible. They really have thought of everything, whether it is something for the kids, games, TV, videos or just some time out to relax and unwind. We spent a beautiful few days retreating from the world, relaxing in the beautiful surroundings. Their lovely secluded garden is a real treat, the flowers are stunning and wildlife is friendly - badgers, birds and red squirrels come and say hello. With wonderful walks and beautiful scenery right on the doorstep, it really is a place to let go of your worries and enjoy, we couldn't have asked for anything more. It really is a special place.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2017
Thank you for all taking the time to leave such a lovely review. The cottage has beautiful surroundings and we're glad we can share that with you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing