We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb for children and great food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Park Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ventnor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Old Park Hotel
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Certificate of Excellence
Elstead, Surrey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Superb for children and great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

This was our second visit to the hotel. I highly recommend this for those with young children who like to spend time with their kids but enjoy the pleasure of dining alone in the evening. The children are very well occupied during the adult's evening meal because when the 'post kids tea entertainment' has finished (usually a magician, film or supervised play) the badgers come out just in time to keep them entertained!

My four year old sat for an hour watching the badgers through the patio doors, no further than a foot away from her, as they helped themselves to the day's leftovers. The older children quickly made friends with other children in the hotel. The hotel has super facilities for rainy days. The soft play and the pool are great. A little dated yes. But great. None of my children complained about the temperature of the pool. Judging by the heat in the pool room it must have been pretty warm!

This hotel isn't cheap but there's a reason why people come back time and time again. Its VERY relaxed and it attracts a relaxed type of parent. Everyone is nice and friendly. Laura the new restaurant manager bends over backwards to help and does a terrific job. The chef is superb and John the owner runs around like a madman after guests and can't do enough to help. You can tell he has a very loyal team of staff who genuinely like him. If you want Orla Kiely decor and Michelin food go to Bedruthan Steps. If you want want a great holiday for the whole family, with great food and badgers.... Come to Old Park.

Room Tip: Ask John for a good room when booking and book in advance to secure a good room. Upper floors in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsGPie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    48
    7
    14
    8
See reviews for
98
Couples
0
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

This is a truly fantastic hotel for families. While many hotels claim to be family friendly, this is the first hotel to which we have been where we felt at once at ease despite our two very active children (2 and 4 yrs).

The hotel and the grounds are beautiful, and running around them - as well as going the pool and the soft-play area - kept the children busy. In fact, during our four-night stay, we stayed on the hotel grounds nearly all the time, even though we knew of the many attractions in the vicinity. The hotel staff was really friendly with the children, and John made us feel very much at home.

Having read some of the other reviews, we should also mention that our room was very, very spacious and nicely furnished (we had a family suite in the West Wing). It was clean, quiet (well, after our children were asleep...), and had water kettle etc.

Even though we are traveling a fair amount on business and have been to many nice hotels, we would certainly rank this hotel with the best of them - and at the very top for traveling with children!

Room Tip: Family suite in the West Wing was very nice indeed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flokofedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed in the self catering cottage and had a really lovely time. There were five of us with my husband, daughter and parents and we found enough room. We had amazing weather so ate outside in the garden almost every day. The garden is small but very private and attractive. We were pleasantly surprised by the whole cottage as it is much nicer than the pictures we found on the Internet.
All the people that run the hotel were absolutely lovely and very helpful. We only used the indoor play area and swimming pool once but it would have been great if the weather had been bad. We all enjoyed the entertainment, a magician with terrible jokes (who also did Punch and Judy) who tailored his act to the ages of the children present and a birds of prey display.
The badger watching was definitely a highlight for us, lots came in broad daylight at 8.00pm, little stripy faces appearing almost immediately at the end of the lane as long as the children were not still playing in the garden.
Some of the hotel might be old fashioned but a lot is quite beautiful and the history (available to read in the calm adults lounge) quite fascinating.
We would definitely recommend this hotel it is quirky and charming and they were plus points for us. It was wonderful to find such a family focused place! Thanks to the owners and staff for making our visit so special.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leopardykaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

Having read all the reviews posted on this website by other guests we took the plunge & booked a 4 night break in a "modern" 3 bed suite hoping we were well prepared.
Actually the hotel was charming in it's old-fashioned way, the owners & staff were really lovely & helpful, especially Laura who managed the restaurant & who genuinely helped to make our stay.
We were blessed with amazing hot weather and the food (and wine list) was above our expectations so full marks to the chef.
Although the rooms were dated in the newer wing they were adequate. We were given a tour of the rooms in the old wing when they were free one morning and have decided that we would prefer to stay in one of them next time we come from a space perspective.
We actually welcomed not having a mobile signal, the extremely poor TV reception & the poor WiFi reception - it all added to our holiday and the children (aged 8 & 5) had a holiday to remember & met lots of new friends. They loved the pool, badger feeding, play area & even the evening entertainment.
We ventured out further afield & had lovely days at Steephill Cove, Dinosaur Isle & on Ventnor seafront.
All in all we had a lovely break, thanks to everyone at Old Park & we will be back again for sure!

The Clarke Family

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SamFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

I have 2 year old twins and have just been to the hotel with the kids and grandparents for an 85th birthday celebration. The hotel and the isle of wight was perfect for kids. There is plenty of space to run around in, a soft play area, indoor swimming pool, large gardens, outdoor swings and climbing frame...... So perfect for keeping the kids entertained and making a stress free experience. There was a kids dinner from 4.45-5.45 and the evening food for adults was great. The hotel is a little old fashioned so if you want a 5* looking place this isn't for you, but if you want to relax and enjoy the kids, this is ideal. The staff were really friendly and helpful also.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vladka_trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

We have just come back from the Old Park hotel, we had a great longer weekend with our 16 months old son. The garden is great, the swimming pool is a good size and the play zone area is fabulous for children when they wake up early:-). I did really like the kids dinner from 5pm till 6pm and the choice was great, after putting our little one to bed we put the hotel babysitting monitor on in the nursery room and we could then enjoy a gorgeous 5 course meal while our son was sleeping. Marketa

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marketa k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

We have just returned from a 4 night stay using the, 'book 3 nights and get 1 free' offer. We were prepared for a slighly dated hotel as per previous reviews and indeed it was. On the first day we brushed this off as 'we were expecting this, it doesn't matter'. By the end of the holiday it was beginning to get really annoying as other cracks appeared in the service and facilities. The list of issues includes (in no particular order):

1. No mobile phone reception, well okay, they cannot help that being where they are...but
2. No outside lines worked in the rooms. When we enquired, the owner just sort of winced and said sorry, they had just changed from BT and the new provider didnt provide lines in the rooms!
3. We were the only people in the hotel for the first 2 nights. That was weird. It would have been nice to have been told in advance. Perhaps the alarm bells should have started ringing? And all alone in a hotel with no mobile or outside line? What if there had been an emergency?
4. The outside area was good but around / under the climbing frames were very large thistles and there were old drinks cans around. Not well maintained.
5. The walk to the beach was overgrown with nettles, something another couple (when someone else eventually arrived) also commented on.
6. The indoor play area was okay and I cannot comment on the lack of heating as others have as we had sunny weather, but smelt very musty.
7. The inddor pool was so cold that I could not personally find the resolve to go in. My wife went in with our daughter but my son would not go in either. On the last day I managed to go in to keep my daughter happy and my wife said that it had warmed up as there was now warmer water being pumped in. So is it only heated on weekends when they have more than one family in?
8. The shower area for the pool was not very clean. We showered back in the room
9. The food was okay but I doubt it was cooked fresh. It seemed like pre prepared vac packed food. While it was all quite nice, this is not what I expect. My wife even commented 'for the money we are paying I dont expect pub food'
10. We were hoping for some entertainment but being so quiet, none was provided.
11. The bar area was infested with ants. The owner commenting 'I really must put some ant powder down'. Really? Ant powder and young children? Needless to say he didnt get around to it.
12. Our bathroom seemed to have been recently modernised and was quite nice but the shower leaked so after a shower we had to use towels to stop our 2 young children slipping on the floor. Also it seemed to have a limited supply of hot water.
13. The TV reception was awful to non existent. Okay, you dont come on holiday to watch TV but my children like to watch just before bedtime - it was so bad they couldnt. My 2 year old has now learnt a new saying, when the screen went blank every 30 seconds as it lost signal he would say 'COME ON TELE'.
14. I had previously rang to ensure they had wifi to keep in touch with work. When I asked for the code, the owner said the wifi wasnt very good so he could look up something for me on his computer if I wished. While he did give me the code, and I just managed to get my email, forget about doing anything else. The signal around the hotel is poor and the speed terrible. With a lack of phone communication surely the wifi should be upgraded?

I could go on about it being dated too, but from previous reviews, everyone knows this.
The only saving graces were our waitress Laura, who seemed to go above and beyond in an effort to cover the cracks, and the fact that our children didnt notice any of this (except the pool).

While the overall experience of this hotel was passable, for £240 a night it should have been a lot better. We will return to the Isle of Wight, but not here.


As stated by many, it could be great

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventnor
2.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
4.6 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
4.6 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#3 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ventnor Towers Hotel
Ventnor Towers Hotel
#7 of 9 in Ventnor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Park Hotel

Property: Old Park Hotel
Address: Old Park Road, Ventnor PO38 1XS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Also Known As:
Hotel Old Park
Old Park Ventnor
Old Park Hotel Ventnor, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing