We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Borderline Average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Wellington Hotel
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Upgraded to a deluxe room when making the reservation. On arriving it became clear that this only guaranteed a seaview, which was a very beautiful view, however the room was small. Ive stayed in some Premier Inn's which had bigger rooms. When I asked to move room, I was shown another room in this category, it was larger but dark and had a large tree in the way of the view. So I would recommend spending time booking direct and discuss room types if you can. We were in room 18. Ideally the next floor up would have been my preferred option, however, no other rooms were available. Room 18 is also above the restaurant, so noise was a problem, twice I had to ask for music to be turned down 11.15pm on a Sunday and 7am on a Monday on both occasions it was the staff playing the restaurant music too loud when setting up and clearing down. No offer of discount for this which I find poor. £120 per night B&B (Small portions - 1 slice of bacon and 1 egg?). Service in hotel other than in reception was received by helpful but inexperienced young girls. We ordered some champagne for breakfast and it was her first time serving it. It surprises me in this day and age that owners are happy to leave their business in anyones hands.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Idothisforajobtoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 288 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in a "Superior" room as part of a party of 12. The rooms were clean and well appointed, although the balconies were rusty and in dire need of a lick of paint. Beautiful views but the way the hotel is built into its cliff-side location means a lot of stairs to climb whether up to reception or down to the restaurant - perhaps not best for the elderly. Management and staff were really friendly and helpful. Food was very good although some items appearing on the menu were often in limited supply. Lack of car-parking space is a major downside. Don't arrive in a Chelsea Tractor!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willie2145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

We had a superior deluxe sea view room which we were very pleased with. Spacious, very clean, with very good ceiling lighting. Panoramic view with sweeping balcony. Helpful and friendly staff.
We ate in the restaurant, which also overlooks the sea. Excellent fish.
We had a very enjoyable time. Only disadvantage is that parking is limited. It states there are 10 slots on the street, but more realistically, 5-6. We were alright, but there must have been plenty of others who were unable to park by the entrance. The hotel is on a narrow street, as with the rest of Ventnor, built into the side of the hill. You go downstairs to the rooms, including dining room.

Room Tip: go for the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank walkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We stayed here for a quiet night away from our 4 year old and had a great stay. The room had a balcony looking out to sea which had loungers on the balcony. The room could have done with some TLC but it was a quiet place and amazing view.

In the morning breakfast was on the outside terrace and there was lots of choice and it was magnificent. I would stay here again if on a budget.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony and make sure you get to breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PeteSimmonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2011

We stayed here after taking advantage of a Time Out offer. It was late November and so the end of the season, the hotel was therefore very quiet. We were offered a choice of rooms and selected the room with a balcony overlooking the sea - outstanding: we were able to sit outside in an unseasonably mild November. We stayed 3 nights on half board and breakfast was good - although buffet choice a little limited as only a few people in the hotel but still ok for us. Meals in the evening were very good - again menu choice a little limited due to the end of season but really not a problem for us. Evening meals were well presented and very good indeed, the service was good and friendly and really added to our stay.

We had a really enjoyable stay all round and certainly recommend it. Minor downsides - rooms are small-ish, the TVs are old fashioned, small and only have 5 basic channels so will need upgrading to full digital. Did any of this bother us? No!

Car parking would clearly be a problem in the main season, we parked right outside so this was not much of an issue for us but I can imagine this would be quite a problem when the hotel is busy. However, this is the other side of a good location with an older established property.

I recommend the hotel for location, service and food; but make sure that the smaller rooms and car parking are not going to be a problem for you.

Room Tip: Seek out one with a balcony - really lovely place to sit outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Essex21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

We decided to visit the Isle of Wight at the last minute and didn't really look carefully at what might be open during the off-season. It was pretty dull in November with most attractions closed and restaurants.

A highlight was definitely this hotel. Very comfortable room. Pleasant staff. Lovely breakfast. Well recommended if you are staying in Ventor.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

We arrived in Ventnor at a time of year when in the main it is closed, end of season makeovers and a rest for the staff, some were closed for acouple of weeks, others until March 2012 so we had no problem getting a room here. We had asked for a super king sized bed and were told no problem, two divans together and voila. Unfortunately none of the rooms appeared to have enough room for this configuration, so one side of our large bed was against the wall with no bedside table, a bit cramped. The bathroom was also quite small with very little room to put out ones wash kit and toiletries, two people need quite a bit of space for these items, moreso when they get older.
The television in the room was a miniscule CRT telly, no wallmounted flat screens here and you needed good eyesight just to see it.
Another point of note is the parking, or lack of it, first come, first served, and the road is narrow, a real nightmare in the busy season.
Quite a steep set of steps to the seafront, no god if you are short of puff on the way back I can tell you, and otherwise a trek round the side streets and as steep.
We only ate breakfast once and it was a bit meagre with one of those horrible toast machines, quite why the waitress could not do it for the guests is beyond me, they wern't busy afterall.
After one quite uncomfortable night we decided to decamp for pastures new. So a dissapointment really although the staff were quite understanding.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BaddyPurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ventnor hotels
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
901 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ventnor Towers Hotel
Ventnor Towers Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ventnor
207 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#3 of 9 in Ventnor
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
St. Augustine Villa
St. Augustine Villa
#4 of 9 in Ventnor
174 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eversley Hotel
Eversley Hotel
#6 of 9 in Ventnor
163 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hillside Hotel
Hillside Hotel
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wellington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wellington Hotel

Address: Belgrave Road, Ventnor PO38 1JH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Price Range: £80 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wellington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate, relaxing & stylish hotel in Ventnor on the Isle of Wight, deliciously interesting menu fine wines and attentive service. 99% of rooms have stunning views over Ventnor Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington Hotel Ventnor
The Wellington Hotel Ventnor, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing