We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crazy prices”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Wellington Hotel
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Despite the very friendly staff, to charge £140 a night for a small box room, even if it does overlook the sea, is more than you would pay for a modest hotel in London. OK, it did include breakfast but my full-English was more like a half-Ventnor. 1 sausage, 1 piece of bacon, 1 egg. It was clean and it was comfortable but I just think the price is too high and the decor is very dated with peeling paint and stained carpets.

Room Tip: I think most rooms have a decent view but be aware creaky floorboards and thin walls.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Portmeirionman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (288)
There are newer reviews for The Wellington Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 288 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2012

We stayed recently for 2 nights and found the staff really friendly and helpful, particularly because we had our 6 month old baby with us. The view from our room was very nice and it was clean and airy, with a travel cot already erected and waiting for us, albeit somewhat dated and in need of some TLC. The restaurant was a nice surprise with good choice and quality. My only caveats would be that the decor is a bit tired in places, the mixer shower very hard to master, car parking very limited and prices a bit high, certainly compared to what we paid at Littler Gloster (which was a better quality experience). Overall though, a very nice stay mainly due to the people.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoSoxBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We went for a long weekend and the location is great.

The design of the hotel is very good although it is beginning to look a little tired.

Staff were wonderful and friendly, made the stay in fact. Sea view rooms have wonderful view but they were a little small and could do with fresh decoration.

Biggest issue was small availability for parking, fine if it's quiet but may have to stay further afield and walk to hotel otherwise.

Would go again if only for the staff!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrhappy26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We took our 2 teenage kids for 3 nights at the Wellington, Ventnor for a nostalgic trip for myself, as my father had worked at The Royal Hotel as a chef, when we were young and I wanted to return to the area with my husband and 2 kids - 13 and 15. We chose the Wellington as we wanted seaviews and we were very impressed, the staff were so friendly, especially the Manager Carlos, who was attentive to the last degree. The rooms were spotless and the breakfast and dinner were delicious. I am not going to moan about the parking because we had no issue with this. As an adage to this, we decided to go to the Royal hotel, 2 mins up the road for a cream tea. After asking the waiters for this, we were ignored for 30 mins and eventually given service........The staff at the Wellington would have never have given this shoddy service, in these recession times - may the best service win

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rebecca s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

The staff helped us with parking which was great, and welcoming too. Check in easy, and we were down 2 flights of stairs! Room was average, nothing special and a little tired for £132! So first impressions a bit disappointing. If it was £80 then fine. The sea view was fair, although better from the restaurant outdoor area. The balcony lacked privacy - see photo. Room next door was a bit noisy in the evening, but bed was fine. Breakfast was in a great location outside (and inside), although unremarkable choice - usual selection on a budget. Access to the beach was great down the private steps, just 5mins, and very convenient - likewise the town too. The Wellington has character but those 'extra touches' were lacking. Would benefit from an uplift. Staff were excellent. 3.5 stars would be more fitting.

Room Tip: One of the rooms with the large balconies would be best.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank summersunshine48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We have just returned from the Wellington Hotel in Ventnor after a brief impromptu visit. I am not one to always one to instantly write reports/"tweet" or generally wants to share my thoughts with the rest of the world on everywhere I go nor rate every service I'm given, but after my visit, I was reminded of the old adage "Credit where credit is due".
The Hotel has stunning views across Ventnor bay and because of its location, you can enjoy the view from your own peaceful balcony without sacrificing your privacy nor being overwhelmed by noisy passers by.
The Hotel was spotless yet retained character; in my experience a rare combination.
The staff were extremely helpful and courteous, particularly with my elderly mother with whom they were only too happy to arrange room service at short notice. The customer care, attention and general friendliness was apparent with all the staff.
The restaurant was clean and fresh looking and their menu was certainly the best that we saw on offer after a meticulous tour of Ventnor's other eateries.
The room was clean and the bathroom, although a little snug, modern and possessed that rarest of things: a good, hot, powerful hotel shower.
The only negative that we encountered was the lack of a lift to the bar/restaurant area for disabled persons, but it is understandable given the age and character of the building.
We would recommend this hotel to anyone who would enjoy a peaceful, relaxing charming hotel for a quiet, romantic break and we certainly would return.
BZ to you all.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anthony10617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Finding the Hotel was easy, getting to it however, was a little more challenging. We stayed in room 23 which has the largest balcony, complete with two loungers & a small table. (shame we didn't really get the chance to use it!) The bathroom was quite small and the shower was standing room only as moving any limb caused complications.
Parking is an issue, the 8 or so spaces outside the front are totally inadequate for the volume of patrons and we often found we had to find an alternative spot which led to a HIKE back to the hotel.
The breakfast was OK, but if you wanted anything cooked other than the traditional breakfast you had to pay extra. We didn't eat in the restaurant in the evening, after noticing that everything was priced separately. (veg, salad, chips etc. things that are usually inclusive in a meal).
Ventnor itself, is lovely, but VERY hilly, certainly not for those of us who don't possess hiking boots! A great place to eat locally is The Spyglass - very friendly, great service, fabulous food and unbeatable value for money.
Sandown & Shanklin are much more suitable, and will be where we stay on our return to the Island.

Room Tip: The only helpful tip I can give is to stay somewhere else and just visit Ventnor. :-(
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaye E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ventnor hotels
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
877 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ventnor Towers Hotel
Ventnor Towers Hotel
#6 of 9 in Ventnor
206 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hillside Hotel
Hillside Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ventnor
460 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eversley Hotel
Eversley Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ventnor
162 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Augustine Villa
St. Augustine Villa
#4 of 9 in Ventnor
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wellington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wellington Hotel

Address: Belgrave Road, Ventnor PO38 1JH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Price Range: £80 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wellington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate, relaxing & stylish hotel in Ventnor on the Isle of Wight, deliciously interesting menu fine wines and attentive service. 99% of rooms have stunning views over Ventnor Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington Hotel Ventnor
The Wellington Hotel Ventnor, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing