We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrendous 5 night stay” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wellington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Wellington Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Horrendous 5 night stay”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

On believing what we saw on the Internet we spent an horrendous 5 night stay. Basic bedroom with tiny bathroom - sheer luxury it is not. The cheapest of everything is used. Needs £1 million spent on updating this tacky hotel. Breakfast is the meanest ever. The only thing we liked was the position.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alanmyers962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    110
    53
    41
    15
See reviews for
47
166
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

I stayed with my husband and a six year old on our family holiday. The Wellington hotel exceeded all my expectations. Amazing ocean view, great location, atttentative service all you can ask for!!! The breakfast is also much more than the usual, they even make it fresh for you every time.

Enjoy the hotel all that is on offer in the Isle of Wight.

Excellent 10/10

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mysay539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

Stayed there six years ago and liked it. The hotel looks tired, carpet is worn and stained, on previous visit had balcony room which was nice, they didn't have any available this time so went for the next class down - Cell would be a better word, it was tiny. The bedding is cheap and nasty, the plumbing is very noisy and kept us awake all night and the phones didn't work. The service is poor and there is very little car parking. Only stayed one night. Checked into the Royal up the road, well worth the extra.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ventnor hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

Despite the very friendly staff, to charge £140 a night for a small box room, even if it does overlook the sea, is more than you would pay for a modest hotel in London. OK, it did include breakfast but my full-English was more like a half-Ventnor. 1 sausage, 1 piece of bacon, 1 egg. It was clean and it was comfortable but I just think the price is too high and the decor is very dated with peeling paint and stained carpets.

Room Tip: I think most rooms have a decent view but be aware creaky floorboards and thin walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Portmeirionman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

We stayed recently for 2 nights and found the staff really friendly and helpful, particularly because we had our 6 month old baby with us. The view from our room was very nice and it was clean and airy, with a travel cot already erected and waiting for us, albeit somewhat dated and in need of some TLC. The restaurant was a nice surprise with good choice and quality. My only caveats would be that the decor is a bit tired in places, the mixer shower very hard to master, car parking very limited and prices a bit high, certainly compared to what we paid at Littler Gloster (which was a better quality experience). Overall though, a very nice stay mainly due to the people.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BoSoxBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

We went for a long weekend and the location is great.

The design of the hotel is very good although it is beginning to look a little tired.

Staff were wonderful and friendly, made the stay in fact. Sea view rooms have wonderful view but they were a little small and could do with fresh decoration.

Biggest issue was small availability for parking, fine if it's quiet but may have to stay further afield and walk to hotel otherwise.

Would go again if only for the staff!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrhappy26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southsea
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

We took our 2 teenage kids for 3 nights at the Wellington, Ventnor for a nostalgic trip for myself, as my father had worked at The Royal Hotel as a chef, when we were young and I wanted to return to the area with my husband and 2 kids - 13 and 15. We chose the Wellington as we wanted seaviews and we were very impressed, the staff were so friendly, especially the Manager Carlos, who was attentive to the last degree. The rooms were spotless and the breakfast and dinner were delicious. I am not going to moan about the parking because we had no issue with this. As an adage to this, we decided to go to the Royal hotel, 2 mins up the road for a cream tea. After asking the waiters for this, we were ignored for 30 mins and eventually given service........The staff at the Wellington would have never have given this shoddy service, in these recession times - may the best service win

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rebecca s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ventnor hotels
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ventnor Towers Hotel
Ventnor Towers Hotel
#7 of 9 in Ventnor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hillside Hotel
Hillside Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ventnor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Augustine Villa
St. Augustine Villa
#4 of 9 in Ventnor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eversley Hotel
Eversley Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ventnor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wellington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wellington Hotel

Property: The Wellington Hotel
Address: Belgrave Road, Ventnor PO38 1JH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wellington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate, relaxing & stylish hotel in Ventnor on the Isle of Wight, deliciously interesting menu fine wines and attentive service. 99% of rooms have stunning views over Ventnor Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington Hotel Ventnor
The Wellington Hotel Ventnor, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing