We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Wellington Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Old Park Hotel(St Lawrence)
US$194
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bourne Hall Country Hotel(Shanklin)(Great Value!)
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$245
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$202
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hambrough(Ventnor)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (288)
Filter reviews
288 results
Traveller rating
69
110
53
41
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
69
110
53
41
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely locationstaff were really helpfulventnor beachbalconyviewsseatlcspyglass
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
136 - 141 of 288 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Wellington as part of a cricket tour around the Island. It was a great location for us, with views over the sea and overlooking the Ventnor bay. The steps to the front were very steep but there is a road to the side that you can access the sea front. Breakfast was good and there was plenty of choice. Staff were very attentive. We had a 3 course meal and found it to be of good quality and reasonably priced at £17.95. The only critisim would be that the main course did not come with any sides (salad or veg) and this was not clear from the menu or stafff when asked. The room was clean and nicely presented, could of done with a bath and shower for added value. Would stay again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wall27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We stayed in July for a mid week break, in a room that was advertised as not having a balcony - however when I rang to see if we could upgrade, the helpful lady said she thought we would not be disapointed with the room. She was correct - athough not a private balcony - it was much better as it opened out onto the the large wooden deck, just along from the outside eating area. Fabulous sea views (and sound of waves gently lapping the shore) from the room and sitting on the chairs outside. Room was comfy and clean. All staff were friendly and helpful - the breakfast was fabulous - help yourself to toast, cereals, fruit etc and followed by full english or your choice of eggs etc Hotel is a little tired in places - but it isnt a 5 star hotel - and location, food and great service more than make up for it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FannyDanglewurzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

I stayed for for nights as a lone traveller. The room was comfortable and well decorated and clean, I shared a decking balcony with 3 other rooms and had a slendid view of the sea, The restruant was great with a special offer on a 3 course evening meal at a reasonable price Breakfast was tasty and cooked to order and being a veggie they were helpful and made up my requests with pleasure.
The staff was really helpful and went out of their way to please.
Would I return - yes I would.
Debbie

Room Tip: Use the hotel steps to get to and from the beach - much quicker!
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We were exploring England on our anniversary trip . On a whim we decided to catch the ferry to Isle of Wight and booked a room at the Wellington Hotel. We arrived around 6:00 on a quiet Sunday evening. Our room was nice, small (but this is England) and had a fabulous view.

After checking into our room they requested we let them know if we would be wanting dinner as it was a slow evening and they were going to send the wait staff home. We told them we would be down in a half an hour. When got to the dining room we were the only guests (although one other couple sat down as we were leaving.) Our server made us drinks, took our food orders, ran back to the kitchen and cooked us dinner and then cleared the table:) The food was excellent, all fresh and local and well prepared. I had the rocket and parm starter and fresh sea beam for my entree. If you let the restaurant know early enough they will go catch fresh lobster or crab for your dinner. How cool is that!

The hotel was clean, the staff was friendly and the location was awesome. The only downside to the hotel was the beds. They were extremely hard. We probably would have stayed on another night but my husband has back problems and could not sleep on that mattress again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melandandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

On believing what we saw on the Internet we spent an horrendous 5 night stay. Basic bedroom with tiny bathroom - sheer luxury it is not. The cheapest of everything is used. Needs £1 million spent on updating this tacky hotel. Breakfast is the meanest ever. The only thing we liked was the position.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alanmyers962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews