We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Wellington Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
milton keynes
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Great Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

The hotel was exactly as advertised, a period property set halfway up the hill (Cliff) with wonderful views of the bay and the English Channel.
The room was fine - clean and well decorated. It was warm and a shower that could double as a pressure washer.
By far and away the best bit was the balcony overlooking the sea. I think you are only assured of that if you book superior rooms – its’ well worth doing so. We spent a very relaxed Sunday morning sitting on the balcony watching the world.
The breakfast was fine, you did have the opportunity of eating that on the terrace overlooking the town and the sea but for us there was just too much chill in the October air for that.
Its a great place to explore the island from. The coast road from Ventnor to the Needles is quite spectacular (on a sunny day :-) )

Room Tip: Make sure you book a Superior room, with a sea veiw and a balcony. You will kick yourself if you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dave m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    110
    53
    41
    15
See reviews for
47
166
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in Oct (low season). The hotel is nice enough and room / bathroom was clean. Booked sea view without balcony, and it was nice to see the sun coming up and watch people surfing in the morning. I think the hotel could experiment with some lower prices for low season, as they only reduce it by a tenner and the hotel only seemed half full. 25% reduction would make it more of a bargain in Oct. Perhaps try and negotiate if you have time! Breakfast was nice, but ate out for dinners because we didn't think there'd be much atmosphere at the hotel as it seemed half empty. Check out Phileas Fogg restaurant 5 mins down the road, which was pretty full, unlike most of the restaurants we passed on the street. So overall, it was ok, slightly expensive for Oct and not a lot of character to the place. Personally I think the hotels in Isle of Wight need to up their game and work on some cheaper deals out of season to keep the people coming over, and keeping the pubs / restaurants / shops and themselves in business.

Room Tip: Spend an extra tenner for the sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrPaulWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

We had a lovely say in room 23 I didn't won't to go out the view is so good from the room. It's very relaxing. The only small problem was parking as there is not enough spaces for the number of rooms but this in no way would put me off staying there again and I can't wait to go back again. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is great and the dinner is top class all but a little expensive.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D999G777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beccles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

The hotel itself is on a small road with very limited parking, luckily we managed to park but other guests[we heard] had to park in a fee paying public car park,call me tight but after paying £120 per night I would expect free parking,[surely some arrangement with the council?]The room was reasonably large with a good sized wardrobe but no drawers,tea making facilities,flat screen T.V and en suite shower room with good shower!The best thing however was the view!! French doors opened on to a balcony with 2 chairs and small table and the sound of the waves lapping/rolling/crashing [depending on weather] was the best bit! There are steps that lead from the sun terrace to the beach easy on the way down, MUCH harder on the way back!!
The food in the dining room at breakfast was plentiful, both cereals,fruits etc and self service items for a cooked breakfast..we only had one meal in the evening [set meal,3 course] and this was very nice with good service.There are lots of stairs to get to the dining, some of which are steep, not really great if limited mobility. The hotel could do with 'tarting' up a little, cream coloured carpets were dirty and needed a good clean and general maintainance could be stepped up but overall a good hotel, not excellent, but good 3.5 * with a 5* view

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012 via mobile

We stayed in July - 2 couples for 2 nights. Having been before we made sure we had the seaview and balcony rooms and the weather was fantastic so the view was at its best. We know all about the steepness and the parking difficulties so were fully prepared. We found different staff to our last stay - seemed fine. But then we had breakfast - helpful staff seating us BUT apparently we were expecting too much arriving for breakfast at 0940 - ie expecting to eat. Yes they served it until 10am but the food would not be replenished - so as everything was running out what did we expect!! Other customers were asking for food and the waiter was making nasty comments under his breath. The food that came up was poor. Such a shame - the last time we stayed the sausages were so nice we asked where we could buy them. But this time everything tasted cheap and horrible - and in 2 days we only managed one breakfast as the food ran out earlier the following day. The waiter was very stressed that morning speaking rudely over the phone to somebody in front of us. We felt that our presence was a major inconvenience and we are really sad to know we won't be going back - but our feedback wasn't really of interest to management when we left nor when we retuned their feedback forms. The only thing that kept us going back really was the view - but we noticed this time how tired the hotel has become - the rust on the railings around the balcony - the carpet stains - the tired beds - the stressed staff. We will find somewhere else. As everyone else on tripadvisor seems to particularly rate the staff we must have been very unlucky but all we encountered were rude, surly, snappy, unfriendly, unsmiling. The staff all seemed to be foreign this time - last time the staff were mainly Islanders. We arrived in the best of spirits - we are island lovers - but our trip was a bit spoilt. We'll just have to try The Royal next time.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kentgirl_63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ventnor hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Rayleigh
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

Arrived 12th September for a three night stay. Lovely, large room with sun terrace overlooking the lower town and beach - exactly what we wished for!
Staff very friendly and attentive. Meals excellent with choice of dining-room or al fresco on terrace.
Because of its location parking is very limited. Also some stairs are steep and narrow so probably not suitable for someone with limited mobility.
Otherwise excellent; strongly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chefusian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

Arrived Monday September 10th for a one night stay after a weekend at the festival. Maybe after a weekend camping my view was slightly altered to other reviewers but i found the room to be exactly what we needed...Gorgeous sea views with a balcony, ample size double bed, digital t.v and a perfectly functioning hot shower meant it all felt like heaven!!!..at six we went for a wander and exited the hotel through the restaurant down the steps to the beach. At that time it was empty but unless there is a particularly astounding reputation locally I find this is a regular occurrence in hotels..after eating on the esplanade we returned up the steps to find several groups eating in the restaurant and drinking in the bar...the host carlos was particularly friendly and engaging- a charming example in this industry!! to top it all off breakfast on the terrace was amazing.

Room Tip: Balcony and seaviews- perfect for active guests
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank getrealistic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ventnor hotels
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hillside Hotel
Hillside Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ventnor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ventnor Towers Hotel
Ventnor Towers Hotel
#7 of 9 in Ventnor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Augustine Villa
St. Augustine Villa
#4 of 9 in Ventnor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eversley Hotel
Eversley Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ventnor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wellington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wellington Hotel

Property: The Wellington Hotel
Address: Belgrave Road, Ventnor PO38 1JH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wellington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate, relaxing & stylish hotel in Ventnor on the Isle of Wight, deliciously interesting menu fine wines and attentive service. 99% of rooms have stunning views over Ventnor Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington Hotel Ventnor
The Wellington Hotel Ventnor, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing