We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic, great views and the best service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Wellington Hotel
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Romantic, great views and the best service”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

I stayed just for one night but I wish I could have stayed longer. The views are amazing, you are literally over the beach. The decoration is neutral and the property is clean. We did not have a balcony but the room had so much light anyway. The best thing was the staff: super attentive! I order a cake for my boyfriends birthday for breakfast and it was delivered to the room. Everything went so well thanks to the amazing staff. I will return, I will stay in the same bedroom and I will definitely recommend this place!!

Room Tip: I did not have balcony but I believe this means a more spacious room. So worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Violeta H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    110
    53
    41
    15
See reviews for
47
166
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

.......... but NOT a super deluxe room as it was very small, average shower room (no bath) and poor storage space for clothes etc. The balcony and views over the sea did make up for the inadequacies of the room but with an average breakfast and evening meal it was very overpriced. Parking at the hotel was a problem but at least there was plenty of warning about this prior to booking. Hotel desperately needs some TLC but was on the whole clean and tidy.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LibbyLoo_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We had a really enjoyable three night stay here. We thought the general decor was smart and fresh - the previous comments re need of TLC must refer to the outside paintwork which given it position overlooking the sea would be difficult to keep to a perfect condition. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Note there is limited parking (we got a space and then used the island buses which enabled a lot of one way walks), but there is street parking up past the Royal Hotel. A short and almost level walk to the small town centre with some good restaurants so we didn't eat here apart from breakfast which was good.

Room Tip: We had room 16 (no balcony but fantastic sea views) which was larger than most as it was on the end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grandpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We were made to feel very welcome and given a very similar room to last year. Beautiful sea view, splendid breakfast. Very clean and tidy and the proprietor was so friendly and helpful. We will go again next year.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WarwickshireWoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

The Wellington is perched on top of a steep hill overlooking Ventnor Bay. Though the building was obviously once rather grand and has some lovely features, they desperately need maintenance and a coat of paint. The handsome ironwork is rotting and rusting. We chose a "luxury" room. It was not only NOT luxury but it was extremely small, the balcony door would not shut, it was slightly damp, and even the pictures on the wall were wonky, giving the whole place a fawlty towers impression.

The Greek manager is charm personified and no doubt does his best, but the owner clearly is spending very little either on staff or decor. A coat of paint on the balconies might take a couple of days to complete but obviously the owner is too mean to bother.

At breakfast the dining room was empty so we sat where we liked. The waiter approached and asked us to move as "that table is for four, not two". I asked him why it could possibly matter since we were the only people in the room! Breakfast was reasonable but no more than reasonable.

The views are pleasant and there is nothing disastrously wrong with the Wellington. It just isn't what it claims and be advised not to pay for a luxury room without seeing it first... it is as far from luxury as it is possible to be and way over-priced, as are all the rooms. If this hotel was cheaper it might represent good value but in its current state it is just a rather shabby, sad place in need of some care and attention.

The parking is very limited and you might find you have a long uphill walk after parking at alternative locations.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Discerner77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ventnor hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
LOndon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Fantastic room with the best view I have ever seen. The room was beautifully furnished, spotlessly clean with dual aspect windows. The room was well equipped and bed linen was comfortable and luxurious. We ate in the restaurant where Carlos was an excellent host and the food was divine. We are already planning our next visit!

Room Tip: Choose a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Surreyscuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Stayed for one night and rooms clean and tidy although not big. Views really good and nice to have sound of waves as you sleep. Breakfast was really nice and service very attentive. You need to be aware that hotel is only a 3 min walk from beach but is up a steep hill to get back to hotel. Easy to drive this but not to walk if any walking problems. I would stay here agin which must say something. Ventnor itself is very quiet but worth a visit.

Room Tip: Spy Glass PH on sea front is worth visit for good 'pub grub'
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gino079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ventnor hotels
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
807 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
340 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ventnor Towers Hotel
Ventnor Towers Hotel
#6 of 9 in Ventnor
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hillside Hotel
Hillside Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ventnor
453 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Augustine Villa
St. Augustine Villa
#4 of 9 in Ventnor
172 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eversley Hotel
Eversley Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ventnor
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wellington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wellington Hotel

Property: The Wellington Hotel
Address: Belgrave Road, Ventnor PO38 1JH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wellington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate, relaxing & stylish hotel in Ventnor on the Isle of Wight, deliciously interesting menu fine wines and attentive service. 99% of rooms have stunning views over Ventnor Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington Hotel Ventnor
The Wellington Hotel Ventnor, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing