We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Wellington Hotel
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I recently stayed here with my partner and it was really beautiful. The room was spacious with all the amenities you need. The view was spectacular (I'll dig out a picture).
The restaurant downstairs is run by a different company in the evenings and it was honestly one of the best meals I have had... Sit on the decking that over looks the sea & order the the ceviche which is freshly caught on the day followed by pork belly risotto... dream! The barman recommended the house spritzer which was made with homemade elderflower, it was a great match.

I have written a review about their delicatessen as well 'Tramezzini'...

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a sea view and one with a balcony for not a lot extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriella C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    110
    53
    41
    15
See reviews for
47
166
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Really lovely visit to this friendly hotel for a few days break. The room had a super sea view a little let down by an uncomfortable mattress and extremely thin pillows . Restaurant is a hidden treasure with a fine menu selection and was a memorable experience, al fresco, on the balcony overlooking the sea. 5 minute walk from the hotel to the town and similar to the water- this is a must stay location!

Room Tip: Ask for balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The owners of this hotel are clearly putting in a good effort on the refurbishment front. The rooms are comfortable and have lovely views of the sea most with balconies. It is clean, but they have made the mistake of fitting pale carpets throughout which are badly stained. A small point in the bathroom, the shower is fitted very high on a static fitting and is impossible to move if you are under 5'10". The tap arrangement delivers cold or scorching water! A massive wardrobe only has 6 hangers for 2 people, so if you have more than a couple of outfits bring your own hangers. One other bête noir, slippery mattress protectors! All little points which I would have put in a suggestion book had there been one. On the positive side: friendly helpful staff, excellent food - limited menu but good - I had lobster Thermidor which was exquisite and great vfm. If you enjoy alfresco dining this is the place for you. The restaurant opens up onto a large decked terrace overlooking the seas. They are happy for you to breakfast an dine outside. I have given 3 stars which is average. I would rate it as good but 4 stars is excellent. All in all good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SurreyPondlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We didn't stay at The Wellington Hotel - we only ate there on Friday 13th June. This review is therefore for the restaurant only.

We have walked past The Wellington Hotel many times and never given it a second thought with in terms of a place to eat.

But then we heard that the guys from Tramezzini had taken over the restaurant. Tramezzini already has a five star rating on trip advisor. It serves amazing, locally sourced, skilfully cooked food. We tried to get booked in the day after the restaurant opened but, unsurprisingly, it was fully booked.

But, we decided to pop in to the bar for a drink around 6pm as we were told they had a spectacular terrace. On arrival staff were laying out the tables for dinner. We mentioned that we had tried to get booked for dinner that evening and they very kindly offered to accommodate us outside on the terrace at 8pm. We snapped up the offer and when we came back a table had been laid up for us, complete with lovely white table linen, in the corner of the terrace. The terrace was buzzing with a crowd of people having pre-dinner drinks, but this didn't bother us as it created a nice vibe and they were all too busy having a good time to notice us tucked away in the corner.

The meal started with fresh bread, followed by a lovely, light calamari tempura with a salsa verde. I then had sea bass with summer vegetables and new potatoes, and my husband had a seafood risotto, which was perfectly cooked, not at all dry, with mussels, squid and a big piece of crispy sea bass perched on the top. Delicious! The portion sizes were just right, not huge, but you certainly felt like you had eaten a meal by the end of the main course. This was all accompanied by a nice bottle of chilled verdicchio and finished off by sharing a chocolate pannacotta with peanut brittle! Perfection!

The setting was amazing. Granted it was a very hot day, but you could be forgiven for thinking you were on an hotel terrace on the Amalfi Coast. When it did start to get a little chilly (which was quite late) we went back into the small but cosy bar amongst the other guests - but we didn't feel out of place as the large group dining there were all pretty chilled and friendly.

Lastly, can I just say how lovely all the staff were in the restaurant too. They were all warm and helpful, and genuinely keen to please - nothing was too much trouble.

I hope that they continue to encourage people to dine on the terrace in fine weather - white linen and candles make it that extra bit special and the view from the amazing terrace provides a glimpse - or for some a reminder - of what a special place Ventnor is.

Bearing in mind this was only Tramezzini's second night at The Wellington, we couldn't have asked for more. Long may the partnership continue and we look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Leonard189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel and were allowed to check in an hour early with a pleasant smile and plenty of information from the receptionist.

We were upgraded on arrival to a room with a balcony which left me overjoyed as it was a surprise weekend for me and I love balconies!

We were allowed to smoke on the terrace and this further added to my joy.

The room was clean and bed was very very comfortable.

The balcony wasn't private but the sea view made up for this and the sound of the sea and the view was gorgeous.

The service was outstanding and all our needs were met.

The room had a shower and it was powerful.

In the morning we went down for breakfast 10 minutes before breakfast time was over and discovered we hadn't been put on the list and the kitchen had closed. We didn't mind this and decided to eat in a cafe by the sea. The manager insisted on rectifying this and the staff were extremely apologetic. The kitchen was reopened and 2 hot breakfasts with coffee were served on the terrace. The breakfast was lovely and plentiful.

The service was outstanding and we will definitely be staying again.

We were also able to park our car on site while we went out after checking out.

I cannot fault the service, location or the hotel itself. Excellent display of true customer service!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bal2202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Forest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We had a short stay at the Wellington Hotel for 3 nights, from the 3rd, and checking out on the 6th June.

The main reason for booking this hotel was we liked the idea of a sea view, and what's more, a balcony to enjoy it from. We were able to confirm the sea view balcony room with them on booking, which was made through hotels.com (reward scheme members so trying to clock up the nights)

First impression was what we had expected when we drove up. Very limited parking. 20+ rooms but only about 6 parking spaces. Ok for a quite week in June, not sure about height of summer.

Reception was very welcoming, checking us in quickly, directing to our room on the same floor, just along the corridor. Great for my 33 week pregnant wife!!

Room was a little on the small side. A double bed, built in wardrobe and ensuite.

Bathroom was good, only a shower, no bath, but not a problem for us. I am sure if you wanted a bath, they should have rooms to suit, but I would suggest asking when booking. Shower was nice and powerful not a little dribble you get at some older hotels. One thing that was good about the bathroom, was the size of the towels. Bath sheets as oppose to bath towels.

It was great having the balcony, although there was no privacy. Other balcony rooms we have had have had a wall / solid partition to waist high for the adjoining walls, but this was metal railings, so when sitting out, you had no privacy. Also, occasionally our neighbours smoked, and we could smell this coming into our room.


It was, however, great to lay there in bed each morning, with the doors open, listening to the sea.

Being set in the cliff edge, with stunning views, the compromise is most things are on different floors. Our room was on the same floor as reception, and the road, but the restaurant was two floors down. A problem if you had trouble getting around, and we didn't see a lift anywhere. The only way we found in and out of the hotel was at reception, or loads (and loads) of steps down to the beach.

We only ate breakfast (included in the room rate for us) here, and the first days was really plentiful, second day less so. 3rd day plentiful again. Not sure if different chef or maybe someone forgot to go to the shops!!

I guess the real acid test is, if we went back to Ventnor, would we stay in this hotel again...the answer is yes, we probably would!

Hope this helps.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the same floor as reception, means you are away from the kitchens / staff rooms, also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardChubb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Staff well informed, dining staff very good, terrace bar outstanding, room clean, each day beds made,cleaned all round,well done to all the walk to the beach is easier coming back via the roadway, too many steps for those with any problems

Room Tip: 24 people in our party, all had sea view, some balconies, top floor very quiet but no balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike250238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ventnor hotels
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
808 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
340 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ventnor Towers Hotel
Ventnor Towers Hotel
#6 of 9 in Ventnor
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hillside Hotel
Hillside Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ventnor
453 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Augustine Villa
St. Augustine Villa
#4 of 9 in Ventnor
172 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eversley Hotel
Eversley Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ventnor
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wellington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wellington Hotel

Property: The Wellington Hotel
Address: Belgrave Road, Ventnor PO38 1JH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wellington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate, relaxing & stylish hotel in Ventnor on the Isle of Wight, deliciously interesting menu fine wines and attentive service. 99% of rooms have stunning views over Ventnor Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington Hotel Ventnor
The Wellington Hotel Ventnor, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing