We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tatty but charming!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Wellington Hotel
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Tatty but charming!”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Travelling with a child is never easy but the extra bed in the room overlooking the sea and the helpful staff made things easy for our stay at the Wellington yesterday.
The room was spacious but a little tatty - a lick of paint would help and the poor wifi connection was a pain for all of us needing either work or child-to-ipad links being retained but this was all left behind when we experienced the delicious breakfast this morning. Nice to get water melon with the fruits - thanks!

Room Tip: Although the wifi is free it is hit and miss!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    110
    53
    41
    15
See reviews for
47
166
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We had a two night stay last weekend and couldn't have chosen a better location. The views from the balconies are fantastic and the staff are incredibly helpful and friendly. The rooms are fairly basic and not huge but this is more than made up for by the spacious balconies. The hotel is spotlessly clean and the breakfasts are wonderful (veggie sausages available on request).We loved the place so much we're already planning another stay in the autumn. We were with another couple for a birthday treat and we've all agreed this is going to be an annual pilgrimage. Thank you to all the staff for making our stay memorable.

Room Tip: All the rooms have great views and if your budget runs to it definitely have a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank webbrob2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We had a lovely weekend stay at this hotel. Booked a family room which was large and more than enough room for the provided (and very clean) travel cot, with plenty of room for playing too. The room had a lovely sea view, no balcony, but with a toddler this was fine.
The hotel has amazing views and sitting out on the large decked balcony enjoying breakfast was wonderful. The breakfast was very well cooked and the staff were so pleasant and friendly.
The hotel does have its own restaurant and cocktail bar and although we didn't try it I can imagine that the views would be a lovely back drop (the cocktail list looked very good!).
I had read a few niggly reviews before we went so was pleasantly surprised by all that we found at the hotel. Yes the room and corridors have a few scuffs here and there but everything was clean, tidy and a lovely location. Reception staff were very friendly and also booked our ferry for us at a discounted rate. The hotel is at the top of a steep hill down into Ventor, where there are some good restaurants, lovely quiet stoney beach and a sea walk.
I would definitely recommend this hotel, we had a lovely stay and the sea views are amazing. Well done Wellington Staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hateleavinlasvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We were slightly hesitant about booking into a 3 star hotel but our doubts were unfounded. The staff were very helpful and friendly from the moment we arrived. The view from our room was amazing looking out over the beach and across the English channel I don't think we have ever stay in a hotel with a better sea view. Our room was clean and very comfortable, the house keeping staff were very helpful meeting our every need.

Breakfast was varied from a buffet "Full English", to continental and fruit and it was a pleasure to eat. Dinner is served on the terrace over looking the sea or in the restaurant with a varied Mediterranean menu`

Unfortunately on the downside the carpets in all the corridors and stairs were stained and dirty, in places threadbare and loose fitting in need of urgent replacement.

We would certainly return to the Wellington and have no hesitation in recommending.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My client booked this hotel for me so I had no idea what to expect. It has a faded charm and staircases going up and down all over the place which I rather enjoyed - the hotel seems to have been built right into the cliff-face. The staff were universally friendly and helpful.

The room itself was rather ordinary although very comfortable however the doors opening onto the shared balcony led to a show-stoppingly awesome sea view which I certainly hadn't predicted.

Pleased as always to see free wi-fi, just as it should be. Breakfast seemed like a plentiful affair but unfortunately I only had time for toast so can't comment on the rest. Parking at the front of the hotel is rather awkward and pretty much impossible if your car is longer than a mini. There may have been parking elsewhere which I'm not aware of.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldwiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel has a wonderful restraunt which has a fantastic selection of fresh fish and vegetarian options. The bar is small but perfect and open all day everyday for cocktails and various other drink very impressed with my stay thanks for a wonderful time

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We booked Friday and Saturday night here as we couldn't get booked into another local hotel. Little dubious before we arrived as it was only a 3 star.
The duty manager could not have been more helpful on arrival and carried our luggage to our room.
Our room was adequate in size and recently re-furbed, clean, bright, airy and with the most stunning view of the beach and sea.
We didn't eat dinner in the hotel and now regret this as we heard from locals about the amazing chefs that have taken over the restaurant.
When we returned from being out late, Ray, the night manager kindly served us a drink at the bar, and the following night, on return from our evening out, he asked the chef to make me a sandwich as I was hungry. Ray could not be more accommodating if he tried, in fact all of the staff were helpful and friendly and put themselves out for you.
Breakfast was English buffet style, again, great quality sausages, bacon etc, and prompt service.
We could not fault our stay. It is a quirky hotel, lots of stairs with carpets that are a little tired, but overall it was faultless, and have booked a long weekend in September for us and our friends. Do stay, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 7, and have reserved again, though all rooms (I think) have a great sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pyramidsearch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventnor
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
849 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ventnor Towers Hotel
Ventnor Towers Hotel
#6 of 9 in Ventnor
204 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hillside Hotel
Hillside Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ventnor
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Eversley Hotel
Eversley Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ventnor
160 reviews
2.6 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
St. Augustine Villa
St. Augustine Villa
#4 of 9 in Ventnor
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wellington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wellington Hotel

Property: The Wellington Hotel
Address: Belgrave Road, Ventnor PO38 1JH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wellington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate, relaxing & stylish hotel in Ventnor on the Isle of Wight, deliciously interesting menu fine wines and attentive service. 99% of rooms have stunning views over Ventnor Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington Hotel Ventnor
The Wellington Hotel Ventnor, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing