We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and lacks attention to detail”
Review of The Hambrough

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hambrough
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2012

My partner & I stayed for 3 nights in Room 1 which was a pleasant room with balcony overlooking the sea. When we booked it was described as a Studio Suite. This proved to be a very imaginatve description of a reasonably sized bedroom with a sofa,a couple of chairs and a minibar but not something that could truly be described as a suite. Bedsit maybe,suite no.

As we were being charged £325 per night for B&B including the ferry crossing (~£90-£100 worth spread over 3 nights in my estimation) the price charged offered poor value particularly as the standard of the room was not great. Examples include that the bathroom bin didn't work as the lid had broken off (surely the cleaner should have noticed & remedied when they last emptied it?), the curtains drooped as a hook needed reinstating, the curtains had several holes in them & a torn hem, the iron was missing and had to be requested, the bathmat was not to be found on night 1, the TV remote batteries needed replacement etc etc.. Most of these irritating things were remedied when we raised them but at the price demanded, better checking of rooms and a higher standard should be the norm.

Nice bathroom and shower & the breakfasts were good although we had to rummage behind the bar to find glasses for juice on the sunday morning as none had been put out & the waiter wasn't immediately present. He said this was because he had been up until 4am and had only had 3 hours sleep - at Hambrough prices this should not have been our problem!.

We ate in the restaurant one evening and will report on that separately. In summary, pleasant but not worth the exorbitant room rate charged. If the Robert & the Hambrough want to see a great room experience at less that half the cost, I suggest they look at the Old Hall in Ely which was tremendous when we stayed there a few months ago.


Altogether ok but lacks attention to detail and doesn't warrant the huge room rate charged. For the prices they aspire to, Robert needs to try harder and have a better system of checks to ensure a higher standard than he currentlymanages to achieve.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CarolRichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (359)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 359 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2012

We stayed for three nights midweek. We had room 5 which was a good size with views out to sea, a very comfortable bed but, as commented in another review, a rather less comfortable settee.
The bathroom was a very good size and the whole place was spotlessly cleaned throughout our stay.
Lack of a tea-pot in the rooms seems strange with such excellent coffee making facilities [although we are not fans of Illy coffees].
The service was enthusiastic, friendly and professional from everyone we encounter during our stay, including the room maids.
The food was of a very high standard for every course we ate. The seasonal menu seems to change every evening so you can stay for a number of nights and not have to eat the same [as appears the case in the website]. Breakfast was a real treat.
We were both slightly surprised that the portion sizes seemed to be the same regardless of the menu chosen. We both finished the seven course surprise menu very full!
Our biggest disappointment was with the wine flights which accompanied both meals in the main restaurant. These seemed to be very 'hit and miss'. Some wines simply did not match or complement the courses served [one I even returned unfinished it was so ill fitting!]. This was particularly the case with the last two courses of the surprise menu. Some simply seemed like 'pallet cleaners' rather than offering anything to complement the dishes served. This was the case with the first two courses of the 'seasonal' menu. The wines served with the menus seemed to change each night so it is difficult to generalise.
Lack of private parking is an obvious problem as you return to the hotel each evening hoping for a space on street outside the hotel [but I am told this is being solved soon].

Room Tip: 5 and 6 are top floor and with good views out to sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Keith I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

I surprised my husband by a long weekend on the IOW for his birthday in April - he spent many a happy childhood holiday in nearby Shanklin & Sandown, but I was looking for something a little more upmarket. This hotel and restaurant are superb - recommend the tasting menu with the wines (pricey, but well worth it). Try to get the room at the top with a bathtub overlooking the sea.

Room Tip: Best views from top floor (stairs only!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MGads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Just returned from spending 2 nights at the Hambrough thanks to a special deal with Groupon. It well deserves its 5 star status. We were in bedroom 1 that is large with a balcony overlooking the sea and all the comforts you would expect from a hotel of this class.
Everyone was genuinely warm and welcoming. The breakfast was very good as you would expect from a Michelin Star chef.
On both of our nights we dined at The Pond, the Bistro style restaurant also owned by Robert Thomson. There wasn't a large choice on the menu but sufficient and the meals were superb.
This was our first trip to the Isle of Wight and were very impressed. I will now keep an eye out for more special offers at the Hambrough as I would love to return.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We spent 3 nights at The Hambrough dining in every night. From the mise en bouche to the petits fours, the food was excellent, original, with fresh ingredients well combined. A Michelin star well deserved. The service is friendly and efficient, though at times it is difficult to fully understand the explanation of the dishes. Breakfast was equally impressive. We stayed in room 2 which is very well equipped as well as spacious and we were able to enjoy the balcony and the sea views. Well worth a return visit even if the parking can be a challenge.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ettemar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

This hotel and restaurant are a must for a really special occasion. The rooms are very comfortable and extremely well equipped and the staff are very friendly and efficient. the highlight of the stay was the restaurant which serves magnificent food - expensive but truly memorable

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kentraveller38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

My partner spent 2 nights here on 20th and 21st April 2012. We had the most amazing time, we were in room 1 which was very spacious and had a lovely balcony and a great sea view. The hotel is amazingly clean and the staff are charming. Our stay was only 2 nights but it felt like longer as it was so relaxing.
We got the the stay on a Groupon deal and probably could not of afforded it otherwise so it was a real treat.
The only thing I would say was the heating was on all night the first night and i didn't sleep very well, so would advise turning off all the heating before heading for bed!
We also ate one night at The Pond cafe which is owned by the same chap as the hotel and had the most amazing meal.
Would highly recommend for a classy and comfortable stay away.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weekendtraveller72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventnor
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
924 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hillside Hotel
Hillside Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ventnor
465 reviews
2.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
494 reviews
9.7 mi away
Seaview Hotel
Seaview Hotel
#1 of 2 in Seaview
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hambrough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hambrough

Address: Hambrough Road, Ventnor PO38 1SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Price Range: £96 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hambrough 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting high above the fishing harbour in Ventnor, The Hambrough (AA 5 Star Accommodation) offers accommodation by the sea on the southern tip of the Isle of Wight. All but one of our seven spacious bedrooms has magnificent views of the sea and our award winning breakfasts are legendary. Although our restaurant is closed for the time being our bar is open where we are serving delicious afternoon and cream teas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Hambrough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hambrough Hotel Ventnor
Hambrough Hotel Ventnor
Hambrough Ventnor
The Hambrough Ventnor, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing