We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”
Review of The Hambrough

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Hambrough
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Certificate of Excellence
farnham surrey
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 3 May 2013 via mobile

Just returned from weekend anniversary stay ..... Blessed with the weather..stayed in room 1, with fab views of the sea to wake up to. Had dinner on the Saturday night and was lovely. Everything is freshly prepared also good breakfasts..
The staff are friendly and very helpful also. Just feel a little more attention to detail is needed for the prices charged. We have eaten in many Michelin star restaurants including the 3 stars


over the years... Would say for food and service more...'fine dining' then Michelin star! On saying this we would return again when the additional hotel is completed in the future...

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suzanneFarnhamSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    78
    27
    14
    2
See reviews for
31
242
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

The best thing about the hotel is that it is home to a good restaurant, but both are being taken over at the end of April. Our room was large and in need of some TLC, and a long list of items and facilities to be put in order awaits the new man. Another problem is the lack of parking near the hotel, not something even an important hotel for the town can put right. And if you are looking for a twin-bed room it seems that room 3 is the only one available, and it just happens to be right over the kitchen with the attendant odours and noise, especially the airco unit which functions all day and all night. The only reason for giving it an average score is the willing and friendly staff, not all of whom will be staying on under the new regime.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank acko_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

I have been to the Hambrough on a few occasions since its early days of opening. Unfortunately, the most recent visit in April 2013 was such a disappointment. The main courses were very poor with oily, cold vegetables and nowhere near the quality of what we had had on previous occasions. The attention to detail was missing and certainly not what you would expect from a Michelin star restaurant. I decided to write an email explaining the disappointment in order to provide constructive feedback and before writing a review. This was received but no-one has bothered to respond, apologise or simply acknowledge why the quality has gone downhill. It is a great shame that it has lost its edge and there is absolutely no interest in dealing with poor quality and customer feedback.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eleanor2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

To be honest Ventnor wasn't quite what I had expected, but we found the hotel no problem and enthusiastically decamped. We were greeted by a team of cleaners, all beavering away, rather than ignore us, they welcomed us and went to fetch someone from the office for check-in. Still polishing away, we were checked in by a thoroughly lovely lady (she subsequently had numerous conversations with the ferry company on our behalf altering our crossing timings), and braced ourselves for the stair climb. Our room was lovely, really well appointed, nothing left to chance, every detail thought of - and it really is evident in the fine attention to detail that the staff and management really do care!
We were shattered, cramming every IOW tourist sight into 36 hours, but slept like babies and feasted like Kings on the most sublime breakfasts.
They have bought the derelict Winter Gardens nearby, and we look forward to seeing the transformation on our return to the Hambrough - thank you for a wonderful stay!

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank kentkate24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
572 reviews
247 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

I was a little disappointed arriving at the hotel because of the location - tired seaside resort. First impressions were also not so good because the steps leading into the hotel looked as if they had not recently been swept/cleaned, not what I had expected from a restaurant with a Michelin star. We arrived on a day when the restaurant was not open (we knew that and had planned to eat out - not so easy, there is not a great deal on offer in the town, we ended up with a room picnic) and were told by a member of staff that there would be no-one onsite after 6pm. Our room had a 180 view of the sea which from the back of the room was fine but from the balcony you could see the derelict Winter Gardens buildings. The room itself was fine, reasonable space, decent size bathroom - very over-priced though. We stayed in 2 hotels on the IOW and this room easily came 2nd and the other room was a third of the price! The service from the restaurant staff and the meals however were excellent. There is a lovely selection for breakfast including the best salmon and scrambled eggs I've had anywhere. The evening menu is also super, excellent quality, well prepared, good value for money - probably the best meal I have ever had. The wine list does include expensive bottles but there are some at a more reasonable price. Overall we had a nice time but I would not go back for reasons mentioned earlier.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sophia27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Our 45th wedding anniversary and my 67th birthday. Always looking for something special and being a fan of Masterchef I decided the Hambrough with Michelin Star etc could be the place. I was not wrong. The room(4) had a great view and facilities. Staff were fantastic. Then there was the food. The food on Masterchef was brought alive. I am a fussy eater enjoying the delights of well presented, thoughtful food.
The a la carte menu was very varied but it did not prepare me for the delights I enjoyed. I had the best duck meal ever and will never forget it.
Brownie points galore. We travelled all the way from Cowes and really enjoy our dinner and breakfast. Thank you Robert

Room Tip: Only seven rooms. I don't think there is a bad one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tkcharlie2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chale, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

We have had several lovely meals in the restaurant at The Hambrough, and afternoon tea was just as fabulous. We were The Hambrough's first customers for afternoon tea; a joint celebration of Mother's Day and our daughter's 18th birthday.
The selection of open sandwiches was beautiful both to look at and to eat, the pastries and macaroons were heavenly and the scones, jam and clotted cream superb. As our daughter has a nut allergy the chef prepared nut free alternatives especially and this was greatly appreciated. The staff were friendly and attentive, but not intrusive.
We ate in the lounge-bar, over looking the sea and the sun actually came out - a rare occasion this spring- all in all a lovely, relaxing afternoon.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sallyanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventnor
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
828 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hillside Hotel
Hillside Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ventnor
454 reviews
2.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
455 reviews
2.4 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
836 reviews
9.0 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hambrough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hambrough

Property: The Hambrough
Address: Hambrough Road, Ventnor PO38 1SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hambrough 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting high above the fishing harbour in Ventnor, The Hambrough (AA 5 Star Accommodation) offers accommodation by the sea on the southern tip of the Isle of Wight. All but one of our seven spacious bedrooms has magnificent views of the sea and our award winning breakfasts are legendary. Although our restaurant is closed for the time being our bar is open where we are serving delicious afternoon and cream teas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Hambrough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hambrough Hotel Ventnor
Hambrough Hotel Ventnor
Hambrough Ventnor
The Hambrough Ventnor, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing