We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“25th wedding anniversary”
Review of The Hambrough

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hambrough
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“25th wedding anniversary”
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely 2 night stay here to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. Our room was very comfortable with a lovely view of the sea. The dining room was simple though elegant and the food was amazing. The waiting staff were friendly and attentive. Our only criticism would be that it was a little expensive.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 695Anon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hambrough, Manager at The Hambrough, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for your kind comments! We are glad to learn you enjoyed your stay and your anniversary weekend. We hope to see you back soon!

Warm regards,

Jo Rogers
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    81
    27
    14
    2
See reviews for
31
245
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
bath
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Stayed for two nights recently and having dined here once before we were really looking forward to the visit. The staff were friendly and very helpful and the room was extremely comfortable with a fabulous view over Ventnor bay.
Coffee machine and free fudge in the room most appreciated. We dined on the first night and were hugely disappointed. This is a seriously expensive restaurant and the food was not to the standard one would expect. Being served completely raw chicken didn't exactly help! Portions are fairly small and the dishes often seemed muddled, and not always well executed.
Breakfast was OK but offered a very poor selection on the cold buffet. The full english was very small - who cuts a slice of black pudding in half and serves that. Not exactly an expensive item, why be so mean?
Breakfast in the room next day was far better with lovely porridge and scrambled eggs with smoked salmon.
So, a charming but very expensive hotel let down by dinner.
If you are staying suggest the Hillside Bistro round the corner - excellent!

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grumpychef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hambrough, Manager at The Hambrough, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback here on Tripadvisor - we are glad you liked the room and the amazing view!

We are sorry to hear that the chicken was not cooked to your liking - the chefs use a method called sous vide and cook the chicken in a water bath. This leaves the meat pink even though it has been cooked for an hour.

We hope to change your mind about the restaurant in the future, Please contact me directly if you would like to come back for another try. I will personally make sure you are looked after.

Warm regards,

Jo Rogers
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventnor, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Just wanted to share our experience of Dining at The Hamborough Hotel. The entrance hall was immaculately clean and we were immediately greeted by the handsome and very courteous Cristian. The dining room was set out perfectly with cool crisp linen and relaxing background music. Our table was by the window giving panoramic views of the Sea and Harbour.

Our food was absolutely exquisite, taste and presentation no other words can describe the tastes and flavours which I experienced today. Service was excellent with the very professional Cristian and Annie tending to our every need.

Our compliments and thanks go to award winning Chef Darren Beevers and his team in the Kitchen and Operations Manager Jo Rogers.

Please do not be put off by negative reviews about The Hamborough or Ventnor Town. If you are fortunate enough to dine or stay in this Hotel, I am sure by the time you leave, (although you won't want to) you will have had a truly magical and unforgettable experience.

Room Tip: Room 2, Excellent position with panoramic sea views and Balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hambrough, Manager at The Hambrough, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful review - we look forward having you back soon! Maybe for that big birthday celebration we discussed?

Warm regards,

Jo Rogers
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

The Hambrough proved the perfect spot to unwind and recharge much-depleted personal batteries. It came highly recommended by friends and lived up to expectations.
For us, the choice of Room 1 with its balcony overlooking the Channel (Room 2 is a virtual sister) absolutely made it. From our fabulous bed all we could see was the sea sparkling through the French windows - it was just like the view from a cruise ship cabin.
We chose to have the delicious breakfast on the balcony (at no extra charge) or on the sofa in our room with the French doors thrown open to the morning sun. And at dusk we sipped wine overlooking the sea. Yes, we had fantastic weather but agreed it would have been pretty special in a storm too.
We'll be back.

Room Tip: Balcony is worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzcad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hambrough, Manager at The Hambrough, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review! We hope to see you back at the Hambrough very soon!

Warm regards,

Jo Rogers
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Firstly the hotel is in a great location and the rooms clean, modern and with nice touches such as the coffee machine, great views of the sea and with a nice big bathroom. The staff were friendly and willing to help wherever they could.

Views are fantastic and we were fortunate we got good weather for the majority of the time we were there.

The breakfast was very good, a good range of continental breakfast items, and a good range of cooked options, all good quality and well presented.

The downsides - the carpet in the room was tired and worn, the couch was also a sofabed but wouldnt close properly so we ended up sitting at an angle, the coffee table which doubled as a stool was heavily stained. The living room/bedroom looked a bit tired.

The mini bar system was a little confusing - we have been to many hotels in the past with mini bars and the items are confined to the fridge or a cupboard, however a bottle of wine was displayed on the table, as was the bottled water, so we incorrectly assumed it was complimentary, however before opening we realised it was £12 and proceeded to place it back on the table! I think this needs to be clearly marked and perhaps placed in a cupboard or with a label?

Parking was a pain, there is none, you have to find some up the road. Also the state of the road where we were instructed to park on the second day (outside the villa lavinia) is in a terrible state and dangerous, its very steep with potholes and cracks.

Breakfast timing was pretty restricted, from 8 - 9:30 which I think is pretty restricted - most hotels offer breakfast from 08: - 10am so I would have liked a bit more flexibility here.

All in all a good stay.

Room Tip: Book a room on the 1st floor with a balcony. Even if you cant get a balcony room on the first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ap1rocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hambrough, Manager at The Hambrough, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We have discussed your feedback with the team.
rest assured, the rooms are due for an upgrade.

Wish to see you back here soon!

Warm regards,

Jo Rogers
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed and dined at the Hambrough last week and the experience was brilliant from start to finish.
The staff is friendly - nothing seemed like too much trouble, rooms are spacious, bright, clean and with amazing views over Ventnor bay.

We dined in the restaurant and had the tasting menu. The flavours were perfectly balanced, the dishes worked well together and the service was friendly and attentive.

We will definitely return and would recommend this little gem to anyone!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mariaondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hambrough, Manager at The Hambrough, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Thank you for your lovely review - we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hambrough.

Warm regards,

Jo Rogers
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

The Hambrough is undoubtably in a great location with wonderful sea views from the classic seaside town of Ventnor. The rooms are lovely with good facilities but not 5 star in my view. Hadn't heard about the change of Chef, and had made booking based on past experience. That said, dinner was superb and all credit to the new incumbent. The local crab and treacle smoked salmon were delightful entres and the sea bass and lobster mains delivered the wow factor. Pads and cheese were up to standard. The service was perfectly timed and smiley.

Breakfast the following morning matched the previous nights experience. Delicious smoked salmon and fluffy scrammies. A lovely stay and happy to recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteadyTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hambrough, Manager at The Hambrough, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
We are grateful for the lovely feedback - Thank you! We hope to welcome you back in the future and wish we are worthy of top marks then!

Warm regards,

Jo Rogers
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventnor
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
849 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hillside Hotel
Hillside Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ventnor
455 reviews
2.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
462 reviews
2.4 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
842 reviews
9.7 mi away
Seaview Hotel
Seaview Hotel
#1 of 2 in Seaview
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hambrough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hambrough

Property: The Hambrough
Address: Hambrough Road, Ventnor PO38 1SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hambrough 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting high above the fishing harbour in Ventnor, The Hambrough (AA 5 Star Accommodation) offers accommodation by the sea on the southern tip of the Isle of Wight. All but one of our seven spacious bedrooms has magnificent views of the sea and our award winning breakfasts are legendary. Although our restaurant is closed for the time being our bar is open where we are serving delicious afternoon and cream teas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Hambrough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hambrough Hotel Ventnor
Hambrough Hotel Ventnor
Hambrough Ventnor
The Hambrough Ventnor, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing