We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A really special place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Hambrough

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Hambrough
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A really special place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

My son and I stayed here whilst visiting family nearby. We both loved everything about this hotel, location views the room was perfect. An amazing huge bath tub, fabulous breakfasts ( we stayed three nights so sampled all the choices) and very friendly and helpful staff. We will definitely be back. Our only regret was that we had no opportunity to try the restaurant.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHambrough, Manager at The Hambrough, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you for your kind comments! We are glad you enjoyed your stay.

We hope you had a nice flight back to Edinburgh and hope to see you back soon!

Warm regards,

Jo Rogers
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    77
    26
    13
    2
See reviews for
31
231
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Crawley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

We spent one night for our Wedding anniversary ,amazing staff very helpful, room was so clean.Breakfast was unbelievable my Wife spoke to the Chef asking a question,next morning 2 trays of food arrived in our room.This is a lovely run Hotel and highly recommended.Thank You for a wonderful time.Ronnie & Selda Armstrong

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronnie8311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHambrough, Manager at The Hambrough, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments which we have shared with the team. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back soon!

Warm Regards,

Jo Rogers
Operations Manager and the Hambrough Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

A lovley place for a short stay. The rooms are great but it's really about the restaurant and with only 7 rooms it's more of a restaurant with rooms. Fine with us as not much to venture into Bentor for and happily spent a long evening in the restaurant. The staff were excellent, the Italian Maitre'D - Christiano? Amusing and charming. The tasting menu from the sea was absolutely superb and at 6 courses not too heavy. Only gripe was the firewater grappa at the end of the evening was a bit steep at £10 a glass. With a £55 per head menu, a complimentary digestig wouldnt go amiss. A lovely sy and ,eal though

Room Tip: Room 4 was lovely
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Emma131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jodos, Manager at The Hambrough, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you very much for the kind comments! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
We are indeed a AA 5 Star restaurant with rooms, unfortunately Tripadvisor does not distinguish between the two. It is, as you mention, all about the food here at the Hambrough!

We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Warm regards,

Jo Rogers
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Stayed here with my hubby (sadly for just one night away from the kids!) for an anniversary getaway. The Hambrough staff were really welcoming and our bedroom - complete with posh coffee machine - amazing. Lovely private balcony opening out with sea views where we had aperitifs before dinner, and breakfast the next morning. Dinner itself was fab, locally sourced, and the wines were perfect. All in all, would recommend to anyone for a special romantic occasion.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hambrough, Manager at The Hambrough, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments - we are so happy to hear that your stay was good and we hope to see you back soon!

Warm regards,

Jo Rogers
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely 2 night stay here to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. Our room was very comfortable with a lovely view of the sea. The dining room was simple though elegant and the food was amazing. The waiting staff were friendly and attentive. Our only criticism would be that it was a little expensive.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 695Anon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hambrough, Manager at The Hambrough, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for your kind comments! We are glad to learn you enjoyed your stay and your anniversary weekend. We hope to see you back soon!

Warm regards,

Jo Rogers
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bath
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Stayed for two nights recently and having dined here once before we were really looking forward to the visit. The staff were friendly and very helpful and the room was extremely comfortable with a fabulous view over Ventnor bay.
Coffee machine and free fudge in the room most appreciated. We dined on the first night and were hugely disappointed. This is a seriously expensive restaurant and the food was not to the standard one would expect. Being served completely raw chicken didn't exactly help! Portions are fairly small and the dishes often seemed muddled, and not always well executed.
Breakfast was OK but offered a very poor selection on the cold buffet. The full english was very small - who cuts a slice of black pudding in half and serves that. Not exactly an expensive item, why be so mean?
Breakfast in the room next day was far better with lovely porridge and scrambled eggs with smoked salmon.
So, a charming but very expensive hotel let down by dinner.
If you are staying suggest the Hillside Bistro round the corner - excellent!

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grumpychef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hambrough, Manager at The Hambrough, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback here on Tripadvisor - we are glad you liked the room and the amazing view!

We are sorry to hear that the chicken was not cooked to your liking - the chefs use a method called sous vide and cook the chicken in a water bath. This leaves the meat pink even though it has been cooked for an hour.

We hope to change your mind about the restaurant in the future, Please contact me directly if you would like to come back for another try. I will personally make sure you are looked after.

Warm regards,

Jo Rogers
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventnor, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Just wanted to share our experience of Dining at The Hamborough Hotel. The entrance hall was immaculately clean and we were immediately greeted by the handsome and very courteous Cristian. The dining room was set out perfectly with cool crisp linen and relaxing background music. Our table was by the window giving panoramic views of the Sea and Harbour.

Our food was absolutely exquisite, taste and presentation no other words can describe the tastes and flavours which I experienced today. Service was excellent with the very professional Cristian and Annie tending to our every need.

Our compliments and thanks go to award winning Chef Darren Beevers and his team in the Kitchen and Operations Manager Jo Rogers.

Please do not be put off by negative reviews about The Hamborough or Ventnor Town. If you are fortunate enough to dine or stay in this Hotel, I am sure by the time you leave, (although you won't want to) you will have had a truly magical and unforgettable experience.

Room Tip: Room 2, Excellent position with panoramic sea views and Balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hambrough, Manager at The Hambrough, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful review - we look forward having you back soon! Maybe for that big birthday celebration we discussed?

Warm regards,

Jo Rogers
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventnor
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hillside Hotel
Hillside Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ventnor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
2.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
2.4 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hambrough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hambrough

Property: The Hambrough
Address: Hambrough Road, Ventnor PO38 1SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hambrough 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting high above the fishing harbour in Ventnor, The Hambrough (AA 5 Star Accommodation) offers accommodation by the sea on the southern tip of the Isle of Wight. All but one of our seven spacious bedrooms has magnificent views of the sea and our award winning breakfasts are legendary. Although our restaurant is closed for the time being our bar is open where we are serving delicious afternoon and cream teas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Hambrough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hambrough Hotel Ventnor
Hambrough Hotel Ventnor
Hambrough Ventnor
The Hambrough Ventnor, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing