We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely IOW stay”
Review of The Hambrough

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hambrough
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in May, we had a groupon offer which was £150 for 2 nights inc breakfast. This was great value for money! Breaksfast are lovely, you get a cooked options as well as helping yourself to the juices, pastries and cereals. Room was great and in keeping with the 5* rating, shower was good (rainfall style and powerful)

Staff are very friendly and helpful. There is no dedicated parking but there is free parking on the street but not much! Theres a car park down the hill near the shore which was £2 overnight until 8. We would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed room 6, theres no lift but this is at the back of the propoerty and was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank phb30307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHambrough, Manager at The Hambrough, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments!

We hope to welcome you back to the Hambrough soon!

Warm regards,

Jo Rogers
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (353)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 353 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel is set high up overlooking the small harbour in Ventnor, nice see view from room, plenty of space and even a real coffee machine although instructions for that are a bit vague.
Breakfast was terrific. only negative no overnight staff after 8pm your are just a bunch of guests on their own... Would I go back .. yes but out of season as it can be very pricey in the season so not sure it represents such good value then. Parking is an issue as hotel is quite a walk from public car parks we were very lucky to get on street parking but no other spaces opened up for our entire stay :(

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viking_Raider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHambrough, Manager at The Hambrough, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you for your review which we have shared with the team. We appreciate the feedback and are happy to inform that we now have an allocated car park.

We hope to see you back again soon!

Warm regards,

Jo Rogers
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed here for four days a few weeks ago on a quick trip to the Island.

The hotel is nice. Very clean with friendly staff and great views over the seafront (from room 5). Lovely huge bathroom and nice sitting area to relax when you come back from a hard days walking.

You need to be aware that there is no lift (elevator) so be prepared for two flights of stairs to get to the top floor. Parking is also a problem. The hotel has no car park so you have to park on the street. The street is a one-way system and is one of the only free-parking areas in town which everybody knows, so the chances of you getting a space between them and the local residents are highly unlikely. We were lucky enough to be allowed to park in the nearby Winter Garden which was being refurbished at the time of our visit so parked with the builders and had a short walk back up the steep hill, but imagine it could be a nightmare in the peak season!

The staff are really friendly and helpful. Jo even arranged to let me borrow one of the kitchen staff's mobile phone charger once I realised I'd left mine at home!

Breakfast is included in the room rate and well worth it. A small selection of juices, pastries and cereal and the full English is a must. I even had kippers and poached egg one day....a real treat!

Will be back next time we're on the Island!

Room Tip: Pick one of the rooms looking out over the seafront. Room 5 is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank warthog4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHambrough, Manager at The Hambrough, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for your lovely review - it was a pleasure having you and we hope to see you back again soon!

You will be pleased to know that the Winter Gardens is now open (builder free) and parking is available for all guests.

Looking forward to having you back!

Warm regards,

Jo Rogers
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Booked for a romantic getaway, I could not be more pleased. The room was incredible with everything you would expect and an outstanding view of the shore and sea. All amenities were on hand and breakfast on the balcony in the morning was idyllic. The staff were all extremely friendly and accommodating, making the stay even more special!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billywebster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHambrough, Manager at The Hambrough, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you kindly for your lovely review - we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us!

We really hope to see you back again soon!

Warm regards,

Jo Rogers
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

There's been a change of Chef recently at the Hambrough and I wondered how the new Chef would deliver. Can't complain - an excellent lunch - very tasty. Loved the 'amuse bouche' delicious watercress soup with local crab. I had sea bream with creamy sauce and samphire. Good value lunch for £25 a head. The views are superb and the service was very attentive. Would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Vilma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHambrough, Manager at The Hambrough, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you for your nice review. We are glad you enjoyed your experience and hope to see you back again soon!

Warm regards,

Jo Rogers
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Really a restaurant with rooms, but one of the best we have stayed in. Seven rooms, and a fantastic location overlooking the small harbour at Ventnor. Warm welcome. Friendly, knowledgeable staff. Our room (number 4 on the top floor) was bright, large, double aspect, and had a rolltop bath in the separate bathroom overlooking the sea. The room was quiet. We ate in the restaurant one night of our stay. Delicious, innovative food. Breakfast was excellent.

The only negative: no car park unless you are lucky enough to grab a space on Hambrough Road, although there are a couple of public car parks a 5 minute walk away - but charging starts at 8am, so no lie-ins!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dewmaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHambrough, Manager at The Hambrough, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thank you for your lovely review - we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

We are indeed a restaurant with rooms, not a hotel as we only have 7 bedrooms.

We hope to see you back again soon!

Warm regards,

Jo Rogers
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

This is our second stay at The Hambrough. We had room 2 which is lovely, albeit all of the rooms are worth the money so either way you won't be disappointed.
What can I say save for, first class service, fantastic food, great seafront location and the ideal place for a break any time of year.
We will be going back soon!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ChrisB1406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHambrough, Manager at The Hambrough, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Thank you for your wonderful comments! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to having you back again soon!

Warm regards,

Jo Rogers
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventnor
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
901 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hillside Hotel
Hillside Hotel
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
463 reviews
2.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
487 reviews
9.0 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
9.7 mi away
Seaview Hotel
Seaview Hotel
#1 of 2 in Seaview
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hambrough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hambrough

Address: Hambrough Road, Ventnor PO38 1SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Price Range: £119 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hambrough 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting high above the fishing harbour in Ventnor, The Hambrough (AA 5 Star Accommodation) offers accommodation by the sea on the southern tip of the Isle of Wight. All but one of our seven spacious bedrooms has magnificent views of the sea and our award winning breakfasts are legendary. Although our restaurant is closed for the time being our bar is open where we are serving delicious afternoon and cream teas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Hambrough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hambrough Hotel Ventnor
Hambrough Hotel Ventnor
Hambrough Ventnor
The Hambrough Ventnor, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing