We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good we got engaged!”
Review of The Hambrough

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hambrough
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Having never been to the Isle of Wight before we were unsure where to stay, but we couldn’t have stayed in a nicer place. From the moment we arrived we were delighted with our choice.

The hotel overlooks lovely views across the sea and the rooms were very well presented. Our room had a balcony where we had breakfast each morning (which was amazing) looking across the bay. The room was spacious and clean with a nice bathroom. We were well catered for with tea and coffee making facilities and a mini fridge, TV and if you wanted to watch DVDs there were a selection available from reception. The hotel team were brilliant; nothing was too much trouble and extremely helpful when recommending restaurants and places to visit. We had dinner there on the first night which was outstanding, one of the best fine dining experiences I have had in a very long time.

It was on our second night of our visit we decided to get engaged and there couldn’t have been a more romantic place to pop the question, it was just perfect. Standing on the balcony taking in the sea air, sipping champagne and watching a shooting star fly over will be a memory I will remember forever.

I would have no hesitation in staying again. To the team at the Hambrough thank you so much for your hospitality, you made our stay a wonderful experience, one which we will remember for a very long time.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHambrough, Manager at The Hambrough, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for your wonderful comments and big congratulations from the entire Hambrough team! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you back for many anniversaries to come!

Warm regards,

Jo Rogers
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (361)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 361 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed for 4 nights as a special occasion. The choice could not have been better. We stayed in room 2 which had a balcony overlooking the sea and harbour. The view could not have been better. The room, described as a studio suite was well appointed with all that you expect from a high class hotel. Although the staff describe the hotel as a restaurant with rooms. Which brings me onto food. The breakfasts were very nice, perfectly and freshly cooked with plenty of choice. We had dinner on one night at the hotel and for a second night at the Pond Cafe, which is also owned by them. Both meals were creative and beautifully cooked. The presentation was lovely. The staff in all areas were very polite and knowledgable. The service was just right in my opinion being friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. We left early, before breakfast on the last day but the staff had gone to teh trouble of preparing a picnic breakfast for our journey. It is things like that, that make an establishment so special. We will return and thank you to all at the Hambrough.

Room Tip: Room 2 has a large balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ChrisSundridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHambrough, Manager at The Hambrough, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you back again soon!

Warm regards,

Jo Rogers
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I was worried about writing this review as everyone else seems to have had great food. We went to the Hambrough for what we'd thought would be a delicious afternoon tea, but unfortunately were sorely disappointed. We had asked for a table next to the window and was told they would make a note of it. When we arrived despite that table being empty we were shown to a table in the middle of the room. The waitress did move us when we asked. The décor was definitely not 5*. Even though we were early the sandwiches (3 small squares each) were stale. The top slice of bread was hard and curled at the edges with very little filling. How much worse would they have been had we arrived on time. There were 7 cakes which we felt made the savoury / sweet ratio rather one sided. The middle layer of the millionaire shortbread was grainy as thought the sugar wasn't melted, and the bicarb or baking powder in the scones left your mouth dry. The lemon tarts were pastry with a teaspoon of lemon curd in the middle, and the rhubarb and cream was very heavy on the cream with little rhubarb. We were offered a pot of tea at the start which only held 1 and a half small cups and had to go and find someone to ask for more. All in all it was very disappointing I'm afraid and unfortunately we will not be going back there.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
4  Thank SPorter66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHambrough, Manager at The Hambrough, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for your review - we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience with us.
We have shared your comments with the team and they join me in thanking you for your feedback.

We do hope to get the chance to change your mind about The Hambrough.
Should you wish to return, please contact me directly, and I will make sure you are well looked after.

Warm regards,

Jo Rogers
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed at the Hambrough for my partner's birthday, and ate in the restaurant. Room was beautiful- we were in 3 with a little sea view even though I had paid less for a non sea view room- what a lovely surprise! Dinner was superb- I am gluten free and I'm pleased to report they catered for my needs fantastically- even the nibbles with drinks had been adapted so I could eat something! Very impressive. My partner was given a little cake after dinner and I was gobsmacked as I don't remember even mentioning it was his birthday..... That's a sign of good attention to detail. I would highly reccomend this place and birthday boy even said he'd love to go back again!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TanyaLS123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHambrough, Manager at The Hambrough, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for your kind comments which we have shared with the entire team.
We'd love to welcome you back soon!

Have a wonderful summer.


Warm regards,

Jo Rogers
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in early July in room 4 to celebrate a Birthday. The Hotel boasts fabulous sea views and the room was well equipped and comfortable. We enjoyed a fantastic meal in the restaurant and 2 great breakfasts. All the staff we met were charming and helpful and we would deinately recommend. The Hambrough isn't cheap but we felt it was good value - it's a great base to see the IOW.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHambrough, Manager at The Hambrough, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us.

We hope to see you back again soon!

Warm regards,

Jo Rogers

Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in May, we had a groupon offer which was £150 for 2 nights inc breakfast. This was great value for money! Breaksfast are lovely, you get a cooked options as well as helping yourself to the juices, pastries and cereals. Room was great and in keeping with the 5* rating, shower was good (rainfall style and powerful)

Staff are very friendly and helpful. There is no dedicated parking but there is free parking on the street but not much! Theres a car park down the hill near the shore which was £2 overnight until 8. We would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed room 6, theres no lift but this is at the back of the propoerty and was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank phb30307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHambrough, Manager at The Hambrough, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments!

We hope to welcome you back to the Hambrough soon!

Warm regards,

Jo Rogers
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel is set high up overlooking the small harbour in Ventnor, nice see view from room, plenty of space and even a real coffee machine although instructions for that are a bit vague.
Breakfast was terrific. only negative no overnight staff after 8pm your are just a bunch of guests on their own... Would I go back .. yes but out of season as it can be very pricey in the season so not sure it represents such good value then. Parking is an issue as hotel is quite a walk from public car parks we were very lucky to get on street parking but no other spaces opened up for our entire stay :(

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viking_Raider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHambrough, Manager at The Hambrough, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you for your review which we have shared with the team. We appreciate the feedback and are happy to inform that we now have an allocated car park.

We hope to see you back again soon!

Warm regards,

Jo Rogers
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventnor
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
944 reviews
9 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hillside Hotel
Hillside Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ventnor
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
12.4 mi away
North House
North House
#2 of 5 in Cowes
95 reviews
15.1 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#2 of 2 in Yarmouth
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hambrough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hambrough

Address: Hambrough Road, Ventnor PO38 1SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Price Range: £95 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hambrough 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting high above the fishing harbour in Ventnor, The Hambrough (AA 5 Star Accommodation) offers accommodation by the sea on the southern tip of the Isle of Wight. All but one of our seven spacious bedrooms has magnificent views of the sea and our award winning breakfasts are legendary. Although our restaurant is closed for the time being our bar is open where we are serving delicious afternoon and cream teas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Hambrough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hambrough Hotel Ventnor
Hambrough Hotel Ventnor
Hambrough Ventnor
The Hambrough Ventnor, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing