We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A restaurant with rooms”
Review of The Hambrough

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hambrough
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We chose this hotel from the internet because of its good reviews. We didn't realise it is really a 'Restaurant with Rooms'. Many 'pluses': Wonderful welcome, courteous, considerate, friendly, helpful and accommodating staff, large rooms. A superb kitchen overseen by Darren Beever who prepared exquisite dishes, all beautifully served on linen tablecloths with linen napkins. Cleanliness and comfort throughout both excellent. A few negatives: Parking is on street or at the nearby Winter Gardens, There is no lift and the rooms on the second floor are for the non-athsmatic set. Wi-Fi is free and works but I found I could receive e-mails but not send any. The TV in room 5 was very 'iffy' - the only person who could make it work was the resident Sommelier. It was his evening off on our last evening there so no TV. Prices were on the high side but worth paying that little more for the excellent holiday we enjoyed. Overall rating 4.5 stars - Would have been 5 if the TV had worked consistently.

Room Tip: Rooms 1-3 are on the first floor, 4-7 on the second. There is no lift. The best rooms are at the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bob12ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHambrough, Manager at The Hambrough, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for your kind comments - we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us.

We do apologise for the issues with your TV - there seems to have been something wrong with the cable. Rest assured, this has now been fixed and the TV works perfectly.

We do hope to see you back again soon!

Warm regards.

Jo Rogers
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (357)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 357 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

Just return from a long weekend in the Isle of Wight and what a treat. Except for the Saturday morning we were pleased with wonderful weather which always helps. I just must share the details of our delightful evening meal on the Sunday night at The Hambrough. We arrived and were warmly greeted and shown to our table next to the window with wonderful views over the seafront at Ventnor. Enjoyed a perfect glass of Champagne and sone wonderful breads baked in house and then the feast began. My friend had the Pollack and I had the Quail both beautifully presented and a joy to eat. I then regretted not trying the Ventnor Crab and Chief very kindly made me a taster which was heaven especially the crab ice cream. We followed this with Ventnor Day Boat Fish and Sea Bass. Again just perfect. These courses were accompanied with a wonderful Malbec as we both enjoy this wine. by the time it cam eto the finishing courses we were both so well feed that we could not managed anymore and were present with two beautiful cones to clear the palate, lovely thought and thank Michael for looking after us so terrible well. If I could find anything wrong with this visit it would be the decor which I feel could be improved on otherwise just reat

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cmjm10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHambrough, Manager at The Hambrough, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you kindly for your wonderful review. Michal and the team join me in thanking you for your comments.

We hope to see you back again soon!

Warm regards,

Jo Rogers
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We went to the Hambrough for a midweek break to celebrate our anniversary. We spent two nights in one of the superior rooms. This has the balcony and it was well worth the extra money.

The views are amazing. The service is very efficient and always carried out with a smile.

Breakfast is included in the room cost and it is always delicious. The presentation is also very clever and there is something for everyone.

The evening meal is of the highest quality and the portions are generous. This can seem pricy but it really is worth the money. It is good enough that they are looking at getting a Michelin Star.

The beach is lovely with plenty of space for the kids to play. The promenade is within a short walk of the hotel and is, for the most part, made up of high quality restaurants and the usual beachfront shops.

Overall we were very impressed with the Hambrough, it's food being it's crowning achievement, and wholeheartedly recommend it to anyone wanting to take a trip to the Isle of White.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheldon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHambrough, Manager at The Hambrough, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience at the Hambrough and in Ventnor.

We do hope to see you back again soon!

Warm regards,

Jo Rogers
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We had been to The Hambrough's sister restaurant (The Pond Cafe- excellent) several times and wanted to try this place.
We were not disappointed, everything was well cooked and the service was very good. The food may be a little fussy for some but I would certainly return. We had a couple of gluten and wheat intolerants in our party of 6 and they made sure there was bread and desserts for these diners.
Any visitor to the IOW should certainly try either The Pond Cafe or The Hambrough.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHambrough, Manager at The Hambrough, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for your kind comments - we look forward to seeing you back again soon!

Warm regards,

Jo Rogers
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. We opted for one of the executive rooms which had a stunning view overlooking the sea. All the little finishing touches made it so special and nothing was too much trouble. We ate in the restaurant and were treated to a truly amazing experience of fine dining at its best. Definitely felt that we had good value for money and would not hesitate in returning again. A big thank you to all the staff for a stay to remember.

Room Tip: We booked one of the least expensive rooms and were not disappointed with our choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShirleyD64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHambrough, Manager at The Hambrough, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Thank you for your wonderful comments - we are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please do come back soon!

Warm regards,

Jo Rogers
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for just one night to celebrate our anniversary. We dined here in the evening also. Right from the moment we arrived, nothing was too much trouble. We were greeted so warmly and shown up to our beautiful room. It was just stunning, the bed was huge and so comfortable. And the extra touches... Like the dressing gowns, luxury toiletries, a cafetiere with delicious coffee to make, a fully stocked mini bar, just made it extra special. The views were just spectacular.
Our evening meal was honestly one of the best meals I've had. It was stunning. Well presented, amazing flavours and the perfect quantity.
The service was second to none and we were so well looked after at every stage of our stay. One of the waiters even rustled up a couple of yummy cocktails for us, completely off the menu, just because we said we liked cocktails.
When a staff member happened to hear us telling another guest it was our anniversary, we were presented with a gift, a small & delicious cake... With a 'happy anniversary' card attached!
We loved our stay here and will certainly be returning for our next special occasion.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NMurray85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHambrough, Manager at The Hambrough, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us.
We have shared your review with the team and they join me in thanking you for your lovely comments.

We hope to see you back again soon!

Warm regards,

Jo Rogers
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Having never been to the Isle of Wight before we were unsure where to stay, but we couldn’t have stayed in a nicer place. From the moment we arrived we were delighted with our choice.

The hotel overlooks lovely views across the sea and the rooms were very well presented. Our room had a balcony where we had breakfast each morning (which was amazing) looking across the bay. The room was spacious and clean with a nice bathroom. We were well catered for with tea and coffee making facilities and a mini fridge, TV and if you wanted to watch DVDs there were a selection available from reception. The hotel team were brilliant; nothing was too much trouble and extremely helpful when recommending restaurants and places to visit. We had dinner there on the first night which was outstanding, one of the best fine dining experiences I have had in a very long time.

It was on our second night of our visit we decided to get engaged and there couldn’t have been a more romantic place to pop the question, it was just perfect. Standing on the balcony taking in the sea air, sipping champagne and watching a shooting star fly over will be a memory I will remember forever.

I would have no hesitation in staying again. To the team at the Hambrough thank you so much for your hospitality, you made our stay a wonderful experience, one which we will remember for a very long time.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHambrough, Manager at The Hambrough, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for your wonderful comments and big congratulations from the entire Hambrough team! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you back for many anniversaries to come!

Warm regards,

Jo Rogers
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventnor
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
916 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hillside Hotel
Hillside Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ventnor
465 reviews
2.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
494 reviews
9.7 mi away
Seaview Hotel
Seaview Hotel
#1 of 2 in Seaview
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hambrough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hambrough

Address: Hambrough Road, Ventnor PO38 1SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Price Range: £96 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hambrough 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting high above the fishing harbour in Ventnor, The Hambrough (AA 5 Star Accommodation) offers accommodation by the sea on the southern tip of the Isle of Wight. All but one of our seven spacious bedrooms has magnificent views of the sea and our award winning breakfasts are legendary. Although our restaurant is closed for the time being our bar is open where we are serving delicious afternoon and cream teas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Hambrough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hambrough Hotel Ventnor
Hambrough Hotel Ventnor
Hambrough Ventnor
The Hambrough Ventnor, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing