We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant meal....”
Review of Red Chilli

Red Chilli
Ranked #18 of 63 Restaurants in Ventnor
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A pleasant meal....”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

I should first of all mention that I'm not normally a huge fan of Indian cuisine. I went along with a friend, though, and enjoyed my evening very much. I plumped for an Onion Bhaji starter (very nice), with King Prawn Bhuna for my main course. It was a little spicier than I'm used to, but was very tasty. The surroundings were very pleasant, the service was good and the lady owner was extremely polite and friendly. All in all, I can't fault the place at all.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lila M, Manager at Red Chilli, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
I'm glad you enjoyed your meal even though you're not a huge Indian fan, hopefully you will be from now onwards :) we will tone the spice down a little for you next time,
Thanks for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    46
    19
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not good”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Firstly the place is small.
Secondly the salmon tikka starter tasted of uncooked spices or food colour.
The jeera rice also had food colour.

I've given it 2 stars as the dal tarka was acceptable.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lila M, Manager at Red Chilli, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
I'm sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your experience with us. It is a real shame that you dislike our restaurant due to it being small, you can see from the outside that it is small but we do offer a takeaway service which you could of opted for instead. The salmon tikka is marinated in a tikka paste as is done with chicken or lamb tikka which has a distinct flavour, but had you of informed us that it wasn't to your liking we would of given you another dish or prepared the salmon plain fried with onions and peppers instead of salmon tikka. I can assure you that our jeera rice has no colouring in it but a yellow tinge as we fry it in turmeric. I'm glad you enjoyed the tarka dall though and I do hope that you would try us again in the future as we will always resolve a problem if we are made aware of it, thankyou for your comments :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing Indian, possibly the best on the Island.”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Service superb, food delicious, however you do need to take your own alcohol but there is a Tescos, a Co-Op and a small independant shop all within 50 yrds. No car park but plenty of on street parking. When we had paid the bill I realised they had not charged us for the soft drinks we had purchased, I went up to the desk to pay the outstanding balance and informed that as this was their mistake we did not have to pay for them, can't ask for better service than this. Red Chilli also do deliveries too both your home or your holiday accommodation. Will definitely return on our next visit to the Island.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank OrianaQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lila M, Manager at Red Chilli, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thankyou for such a wonderful review! It was very honest of you to inform us about the soft drinks so it was no trouble at all making them complimentary for you it was our mistake after all :) it's lovely to hear that you will return when you are next on the island and that you enjoyed your meal, we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“best indian ever!!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We found this little gem on tripadvisor when looking for an indian meal whilst in isle of wight for a few days. It is only a small place so you need to book. The meal was enormous and we ended up taking some home which was great the next day. We were given a complimentary dish aswell. Really friendly staff and the best bit was the fact that you can bring your own alcohol as they only serve soft drinks which was fine by us as sooooo much cheaper and there was a shop next door that sold alcohol so not a problem. Food really tasty prices really reasonable. Great experience all round

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lila M, Manager at Red Chilli, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thankyou for your lovely comments :) It's great to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us and I'm glad you like the fact that you can bring your own alcohol, I hope you enjoyed your visit to the Island and look forward to seeing you if you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“So glad I visited!”
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

I went to Red Chilli this evening, based on other reviews I had seen, and am so pleased to say that I was not disappointed!

The restaurant itself is quite compact, but this did not bother me. Upon entering, the staff were extremely welcoming and happy to help. They gave me plenty of time to mull over the menu (there is so much choice!!) and provided an excellent service all round.

The food (I eventually chose Rosun chicken) was absolutely divine! It arrived really quickly and was excellently presented. The portions were extremely generous too! I was even provided with a complimentary Peshwari naan (how did you know this was my favourite?!), which was a really nice gesture and was much appreciated! And not only did the food look fab, but it had so much flavour. It was cooked to absolute perfection.

I am gutted that I don't live close to Red Chilli (I return to the mainland tomorrow), but if I do find myself back on the Isle of Wight, I will DEFINITELY be returning to this gem of a restaurant. Thank you for a wonderful meal!

Helpful?
4 Thank sianlister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lila M, Manager at Red Chilli, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
What a lovely review! Thankyou so much for your kind comments and the pictures too. :) I'm
glad peshwari naan is your favourite and that you enjoyed your meal with us. We look forward to seeing you again when you're next on the Island :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Chilli also viewed

Ventnor, Isle of Wight
East Cowes, Isle of Wight
 
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
Sandown, Isle of Wight
 
Ventnor, Isle of Wight
Ventnor, Isle of Wight
 

Been to Red Chilli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing