We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frozen fish. Awful”
Review of Golden Sands

Golden Sands
Ranked #2 of 10 Quick Bites in Ventnor
Description: Pop down and see us and say hello, we are a family run cafe located on the beautiful esplanade in Ventnor, Isle of Wight. We specialise this year in takeaway Fish and Chips and other dishes, over 36 flavours of Marshfield Farm Ice Cream and we are also fully licensed. Thank you
Restaurant details
Description: Pop down and see us and say hello, we are a family run cafe located on the beautiful esplanade in Ventnor, Isle of Wight. We specialise this year in takeaway Fish and Chips and other dishes, over 36 flavours of Marshfield Farm Ice Cream and we are also fully licensed. Thank you
Reviewed 14 August 2023 via mobile

We had 4 take away fish & chips and were bitterly dissapointed, as the fish was frozen, not fresh.
When we have Fish & Chips at the seaside, we expect the fish to be fresh, but were given frozen battered fish, which is not acceptable anywhere and especially not at the seaside.
We live in Bridgnorth, Shropshire, which is over 100 miles from the coast, we have 3 Fish & Chip shops and all serve fresh fish.

Date of visit: August 2023
Thank MikePurn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2023

A very nice location, but there was a problem with our food as it seems to be that the fish we ate was cheap, frozen. The fish was grey inside and mushy, and the batter was like cardboard, furthermore let's not even talk about the chips.
All of the staff were lovely but sadly the food didn't show up to any standards. Later, we started read these reviews and realised, that the good reviews for the cafe/ice creams. We were very disappointed with the meal we were given.

Date of visit: August 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank pip l
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 August 2023

Absolutely fab spot for alfresco food/fish and chips in a lovely setting just opposite the beach. Staff were super friendly, and the food was first class! Great value and excellent portion sizes but importantly very tasty and cooked perfectly. They also have beer on tap that you can take to the beach. Will definitely be back - wonderful find!

Date of visit: August 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Corrina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 July 2023 via mobile

Lovely customer service staff where so friendly food was so fresh and hot and delicious could not fault it what’s so ever amazing selection of ice cream even vegan which was so nice and not just one flavour of vegan either which was great would definitely go back and vodka slush so I was so happy

Date of visit: July 2023
Thank Beckaroo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 May 2023

Under new management & crazy busy, so we stopped just for ice creams. Super selection of special flavours.
We'll be back!

Date of visit: May 2023
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Golden Sands also viewed

Ventnor, Isle of Wight
 
Ventnor, Isle of Wight
 

Been to Golden Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.