We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful stay on the Isle of Wight”
Review of Koala Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Koala Cottage
Ranked #5 of 15 Ventnor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay on the Isle of Wight”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

When Ann showed us around this Bed and breakfast we were just stunned by the attention to detail and the wow factor of each room. Ann was so helpful and we so enjoyed her wonderful breakfasts. This beautiful purpose built Bed and Breakfast is in such a lovely setting and we loved being able to walk to the Essex for delicious evening meals in an equally gorgeous interior designed dining room. Godshill is a marvellous centre for easy travel to any of the attractionson the Island and Ann gave us good and practical advice on worthwhile visits. Kaola cottage was a wonderful find! Sue F.

Room Tip: Would prefer rooms at either end of building as the Ruby room is darker. I think all rooms would ben...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SueMF2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    15
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
102
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We had the most wonderful 4 night stay in the IOW and Koala Cottage was perfect. The rooms are large and very comfortable with everything you could ask for. Each room has space for a sofa, coffee table, several chairs etc, free wifi, fridge, and a jacuzzi pool and sauna is available. Bathrooms are roomy with walk in power shower and roll top bath and lovely large fluffy towels! Free parking and brilliant pubs and restaurants a 2 minute walk away yet the property is so quiet. Breakfast cooked by the wonderful Ann was just superb. Nothing was too much trouble and this is a fabulous place to base yourself whilst visiting the beautiful countryside and beaches. A definite recommend. Thank you Ann you are a true star!

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vivien101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staines, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Well, what a find! Koala Cottage was just perfect for our 4 night stay. The rooms are spacious, beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. The attention to detail is incredible and we felt so at home from the first moment we met Ann. As a purpose built B&B each room is accesses by a very convenient set of french doors from the side garden, each with a pretty patio. The bathrooms are large and again, beautifully appointed. Ann is the perfect host - warm, charming and an amazing cook - breakfast is truly a gourmet experience and the eggs benedict are to die for! We didn't need to eat again until the evening.
A couple of really good pubs a 2 minute stroll away in the village serving high quality food and good local cider.
We had the most delightful stay which fully lived up to all the wonderful reviews. So glad we managed to find this little gem in the middle of Godshill which, I have to say, was far better than some 5 star hotels we've stayed in. Thank you Ann. It was a pleasure meeting you and hope to see you again soon.
Sue & Graeme

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SUE E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Great night away in the Sapphire Suite.Spotless rooms and a very friendly host who served us a first class breakfast in the morning.The Jacuzzi was also a added bonus! Definitely recommend and would love to visit again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Allison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We spent a lovely weekend here and the cottage is stunning. The beds are comfy, the rooms are spacious, the bathroom is lovely, every detail has been thought of. The breakfasts are amazing - very relaxing to sit in the conservatory. The village is lovely and its a gorgeous setting. Only drawbacks were a few missing amenities - The Jacuzzi wasn't working, the bike rental isn't offered anyone and there wasn't anyone available for the beauty treatments. We still had an amazing romantic time and I would recommend it very highly, just check in advance if these are things you are after. Also one other gripe - the room was very very hot even after we had turned all the radiators down!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaatjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Ann was incredibly accommodating, we have vegan dietary requirements and Ann made sure all of our needs were catered for. The room was beautiful with lots of extra touches that made it special, such as the flower on the towels!

We would be recommend Koala Cottage to anybody looking for a relaxing and friendly place to stay on the Isle of Wight.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank agraham19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I booked this delightful B&B for my partners birthday back in May 2013. It was one of the nicest places I've been to. On arrival Anne showed us to our room, the room was gorgeous, extremely clean and welcoming. Anne was so personal - She had put out wine glasses and a bottle of wine, along with chocolates and a Happy Birthday gift for my partner. We ordered our breakfast and requested a time to eat and then enjoyed Godshill village for a few hours before going back to Koala Cottage and locking ourselves away in the private hot tub and sauna area for guests. We went for a meal in the evening at The Essex which was fantastic and then returned to the B&B where we picked a DVD of our choice from the dining area and watched a film. In the morning, the breakfast was served on time in the dining room and you could not have asked for more. Perfectly cooked and brilliant service. I was gutted to be leaving and will definitely be going back ASAP and for more than one night !
A lovely romantic break. well worth the money.

Room Tip: Gold room, perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventnor
3.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hillside Hotel
Hillside Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ventnor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
3.5 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 52 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
3.7 mi away
Cornerways Ventnor
Cornerways Ventnor
#2 of 15 in Ventnor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koala Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koala Cottage

Property: Koala Cottage
Address: Church Hollow | Godshill, Ventnor PO38 3DR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Ventnor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Koala Cottage 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Koala Cottage is a five-star, luxury bed and breakfast in the idyllic, chocolate box, village of Godshill, on the Isle of Wight. Each deluxe suite has its own private entrance and, once inside, facilities include a hand-carved king size bed, private dining area, tea and coffee making facilities with fresh milk supplied daily, chocolates and wine; while en-suites feature cast iron roll-top baths. Free parking and free Wi-Fi is available, and guests are encouraged to make use of the sauna and jacuzzi on-site. Continental and gourmet country breakfasts are served from local organic produce in the conservatory at Koala Cottage, and there are several excellent restaurants just a moments walk away for lunch and evening meals. Godshill Village plays host to award-winning tea gardens and the famous model village. Excellent beaches are just 15 minutes away by car and those wishing to venture further afield will find the Roman Villas, Carisbrook Castle and Isle of Wight Steam Railway within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Koala Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koala Cottage Ventnor, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing