We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Returning visitors, We just love this holiday...”
other travellers have booked this property
Our View
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our View
Decking Lounge/balcony
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
32 reviews
Our View
Decking
Lounge/balcony
Lounge
Kitchen
Kitchen
Master bedroom
View from master bedroom
Twin bedroom
Twin bedroom
Bathroom
Balcony
Our view from the balcony
Rear aspect of cottage
Ventnor Bay
Ventnor Haven & childrens paddling pool
Cooling off in Ventnor bay!
Ventnor cascade gardens
Ventnor
Needles cable car
Shanklin
Arreton church on a winter morning
Godshill model village ' is anyone in there'?
Bembridge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ventnor, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
astarsmor...
Birstall, United Kingdom
1 review
“Returning visitors, We just love this holiday cottage.....”
Reviewed 9 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

I just have returned here again bringing my parents with me for the third time. We just cant keep away. I look forward to staying here every year. From the moment I get on the car ferry I cant wait to arrive. It has stunning views of the ocean and overlooks the whole of Ventnor seafront. The cottage itself is clean and homely with all you need for a good holiday. And locally there is plenty to do and see my personal favourite is a walk around the botanical gardens. looking forward to next time I arrive back here again.....Many thanks.....

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen D
2 reviews
“The English Med!”
Reviewed 20 September 2016 for a stay in May 2014

4 of us (2 couples) stayed here for my wife's 30th birthday. I'm Irish, she's Greek and the couple we shared with are German and Dutch. Already quite a cosmopolitan mix which was very much in keeping with the environment. We couldn't quite believe it was England!

The house is really well located within walking distance of a lovely fish restaurant, a few friendly bars and a coastal promenade. We spent most of our time on the BBQ area of the house, however, simply taking in the sea views from an impressive height. Everything was very clean, very well laid out and, if we weren't so lazy, there was lots of information laid on about what to do and where to do it. We'd planned to do more exploring but the views were such that we didn't really feel the need.

We've been back since. And many of our friends have taken our advice to visit and not regretted it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lauraC220...
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic family holiday house”
Reviewed 20 September 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed here in June with our two kids and had a wonderful family holiday. There are stunning views of the ocean at the rear of the property which can be enjoyed from the lounge, balcony, master bedroom and patio. We particularly loved the victorian character of the property and the tasteful renovation undertaken by the owners. The house was clean and tidy and had everything we needed for our holiday. The kitchen was a good size and well equiped. Can't wait to go back again.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbeedle28...
Corby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic period cottage with stunning views”
Reviewed 19 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

This cottage makes the most of an amazing view with upside down design. The decor and furnishings are lovely and in keeping with the age of the cottage, It is also very well equipped with everything we needed for our stay. We could have sat out on the balcony or decking for the whole of our holiday and quietly just watched the world sail by. The bottle of wine on arrival was a really nice touch after a long drive. We look forward to returning next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tea in bed admiring the sea view
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mijnsheerenland, The Netherlands
Reviewed 16 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View and location (Ventnor)
Liked least: Parking on the road may be a problem when no free space available
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Holidayta...
Suffolk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Disappointing”
Reviewed 10 August 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This property has the potential for great sea views from the lounge, which is bright and comfortable, but unfortunately, the kitchen, twin bedroom and bathroom overlook a gloomy external stairwell rising up to a very busy, noisy main road. On the lower ground floor of this property the outlook from the bathroom and twin bedroom is below road level and lacking natural light. Traffic noise and vibration from buses and lorries when passing the house is in evidence. Parking is a real problem outside the house on this main road through Ventnor and not guaranteed outside of the property resulting in a steep climb back to the house after finding parking elsewhere. Particularly difficult when returning after a day out enjoying other areas of this island. A very steep interior staircase with narrow tread leading to the ground floor of this "upside down house" is a challenge and therefore, could not be recommended for people with any mobility issues or very young children (unless with extreme vigilance). During our stay a poor standard of cleanliness in evidence in areas of this house. Also, poorly equipped kitchen lacking in range of utensils. Owner made aware of this in July and addressing these basic requirements. Could not recommend this holiday let and became aware of far superior properties during our stay on this island at comparable prices with equally good sea views across Ventnor but without all the drawbacks of this house. The resort is mostly built upon different levels extending up steep hills and cliffs giving sea views from many other properties. We would however, return elsewhere to the IOW which offers many attractions, great seafood and good walking along the beautiful coast, particularly lovely towards Steephill Cove.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable double bed
Liked least: Location and layout of property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2016
If you have taken the time to read the above review please read on to allow us to defend ourselves, after all can all of our other reviews be so wrong? Unfortunately we had a difference of opinion with these guests regarding a complaint that was not directly related to our property and outside of our control which lead to bad feeling and hence their most condemning review.
Firstly, the interior staircase has a standard tread size for a victorian cottage and has handrails on both sides.
The exterior stairwell is the entrance to the neighbours property and although bedroom 2 and bathroom overlook this, the bathroom window is frosted for privacy as you would expect and the rooms are brightly decorated and have good lighting.
Free parking is on the road, unrestricted and adjacent to the property, there is additional parking further along the road, no need for mountaineering, maybe just a few metres walk. Also, just to clarify, the cottage is on a B road in the Isle of Wight, not the M25!
Poorly equipped kitchen? We have everything from an egg timer to picnic plates and cutlery, what more could you wish for?
Cleanliness - The cottage is cleaned thoroughly between guests, we apologise for the spider!
This is a period terraced property which enjoys stunning sea views, in a geographically challenged seaside town, we want all of our guests to enjoy the cottage and island as much as we do, we contact all of guests after their stay and we always listen to any comments carefully.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing