We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome, wonderful spot, fantastic breakfast.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
St. Augustine Villa
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Warm welcome, wonderful spot, fantastic breakfast.”
Reviewed 2 May 2011

This was our second stay at The Augustine Villa and it won't be our last. We received the same warm, friendly welcome from Bob and Esmie and had a wonderful sea view room. The breakfast menu is varied and so good we had to extend our daily walks!
We are already looking forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: Sea view room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catch34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    23
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
146
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 May 2011

we were looking for somewhere to relax chill out and facing the sea
we researched a few hotels in Ventnor before deciding on this one as the description matched our criteria
It looked fantastic and when we got there it was as we expected
beautifully maintained ,fantastic location ,quiet ,extremely friendly and helpful proprietors,very clean rooms great food and lovely ambiance. To be able to come and go as we pleased was a great bonus as was the little extras they had...phone ...internet,shower gels ....lots of 'what to do and where to go' guides.
I would not hesitate to recommend this Hotel to anyone ...my only tip would be when you get to Shanklin Station? take a cab
it will only be about £10 because if you take the bus there is quite a walk to the hotel from the bus stop and carrying luggage far is not nice

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missymiaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire USA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2011

We just got back from a great stay at St Augustine Villa. Bob and Esme are the perfect hosts, friendly and available to answer any questions without being too "in your face".

Our rooms were nicely decorated and well maintained with good views of the seafront and quiet harbor. Beds were comfortable and the shower was very powerful. Breakfast was excellent and Esme did a great job of remembering everyone's drink preferences etc. We had no problem parking at the hotel but space was limited and would be a problem in the summer, a town parking lot is just a short walk away on the seafront.

For dining nearby we tried and would recommend El Toro Tapas and Phileas Fogg in the town and the Ale and Oyster on the waterfront. Reservations are necessary on the weekend even in April and would probably be needed every day during the busy summer season.

Ventnor is a great location, small enough to not feel as touristy as Sandown/Shanklin etc and well situated for driving to the island's attractions. There are steep hills everywhere though so people with walking difficulties may have problems.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2011

I can highly recommend a stay at St Augustine Villa for a relaxing vacation. The villa has the best position of any hotel in Ventnor with views directly out to sea from most of the rooms. The owners Bob and Esme made the stay a pleasure. They were very helpful in recommending places to eat in the area. I found Ventnor an ideal base for two days of walking. I can recommend the walk west along the front to the Botanic gardens and then onwards to St Catherines and Lulworth cove. All together a great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samsmith100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2010

Our parents decided to stay at St.AUGUSTINE VILLA previously known as The Harbour View Hotel, Ventnor, Isle of Wight for our Dad's 70th Birthday. Not knowing much about the care they would receive, Us siblings wrote to Bob and Esme beforehand to let them know it was our Dad's birthday. On the day of the birthday my Dad was presented with a cake baked by Esme and a bottle of wine. Thankyou you both, it was very thoughtful. We spoke to our parents often during their stay via front desk. Customer service was very relaxed yet professional, our parents comments were "It was just like home"

Our parents have not stopped talkig to us about how wonderful the hotel was, the sea view, the conservatory where they enjoyed delicious breakfast, the clean comfortable bedrooms and above all service with a smile. These are the words of a man who seldom speaks so thankyou both for making their stay one to remember! I know they will be back!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SatBobNina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2010

After a long and tiring journey we were met at the car by Bob, who, guessing our state of mind, carried our suitcases straight to our room while pointing us in the direction of the nearest hostelries, with a quick briefing on the pros and cons of each, saving us much time and effort!

Our room had a huge, comfortable bed, a fabulous view right over Ventnor front and the sea, and the perfect (for us) mix of bath (for me), shower (for hubby), and mixer head (again for me, to wash my hair!) with plenty of hot water. A nice touch is the provision of shampoo and liquid soap in huge, fixed dispensers.

Breakfast was a joy, served with just the right mix of professionalism and friendliness by Esme, who knows when a chat is required or when it's just breakfast, thank you. An excellent and varied choice, with perfect poached eggs each morning (well done to the unknown breakfast chef)! Again, super views as breakfast is taken in the conservatory overlooking the harbour - plenty to check out each morning, dog walking, fishing boats coming and going (it's only a small harbour though, not at all noisy or industrial, in fact they call it Ventnor Haven rather than Harbour and it's recently had a facelift).

Not too far to the aforementioned local hostelries along the seafront, as it's right outside the door (and down a few steps) and there are several, each catering to a different market, and all seemingly good value.

Parking is tight, as the villa is on a tight, hilly bend (a bit like the famous one in San Francisco, but not as hairy!!), but there is room to drop off and park nearby if all the spaces are taken.

Telly's not brilliant - as in not many channels - but it's not what we were there for so it didn't bother us. Nice big LCD screen, though, for when we did watch it.

All in all a lovely place to stay - we didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteffiB040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2010

Very comfortable hotel,the owners were so friendly and nothing was to much for them to do for us. The breakfast menu was excellent and ouality of food also. Being able to sit and overlook the harbour watching the local fisherman coming in or going out at breakfast was very interesting.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fred186406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventnor
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hillside Hotel
Hillside Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ventnor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ventnor Towers Hotel
Ventnor Towers Hotel
#7 of 9 in Ventnor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
2.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
2.7 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Augustine Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Augustine Villa

Property: St. Augustine Villa
Address: Esplanade, Ventnor PO38 1TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating from 1843, St.Augustine Villa (Harbour View Hotel) is a fine Victorian Villa, full of great character and charm and character, occupying an unrivalled position on Ventnor Esplanade. "Probably one of the most photographed buildings on the island due to its stunning sea view location." We specialize in luxury B&B only. Town and excellent restaurants are within easy walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your St. Augustine Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Augustine Villa Hotel Ventnor
Harbour View Ventnor
St. Augustine Villa Ventnor, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing