We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great in every respect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
St. Augustine Villa
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great in every respect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

We used trip advisor to help us make a decision on where to stay & were not disappointed. Bob & Esme were really friendly & helpful. The rooms were great (room 7 has a fantastic sea view from 2 windows & a huge 4 poster bed as well as all the normal conveniences) Breakfast was delicious and there are plenty of good restaurants within easy walking.
We have no hesitation in recommending to others & if you like walking - the walk along to Shanklin is great (Bob will give you all the info you need)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curlyheaduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    23
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
146
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

We took a four night break to remind ourselves of the Island after an absence of 25 years. It's still a lovely place to visit, and any changes are only for the better. Visited Osborne House for the first time, not to be missed. The Hotel was excellent,in a unique position, and Bob and Esme made us feel most welcome. The room was really a suite and was first rate with sea views and all mod cons. Excellent breakfasts in a light airy dining room with views over the Esplanade and the sea. We dined each evening at the Spyglass Inn at the other end of the Esplanade, five minutes walk away, and it was excellent quality and value. We hope to return next year, for longer if possible!

Room Tip: Room 9 was excellent, but they probably all are!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandMH1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

Bob and Esme are friendly and helpful, the services is great, as is the breakfast (perfect poached eggs). The sea view from the conservatory where breakfast is serviced is fabulous, and from some of the bedrooms.

There are several good inexpensive restaurants on the esplande which is a few minutes walk away, also with great sea views.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna240367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2011

I had only been to the IOW for a rainy daytrip 11 years ago and my husband had holidayed as a child a good 50 years ago. We started our week in Bembridge and happened upon St Augustine Villa exploring westwards. Our 3 nights were perfect and room 7 was everything we wanted; a 6 foot bed facing the wonderful seaviews, spotlessly clean, light and airy, plenty tea in the room, cotton bedlinen, large soft cotton towels, very quiet, seats to sit and gaze at the sea from the windows, more than enough drawers and cupboards, spacious shower and last but not least very pleasant colour scheme in good condition. It was heaven not to have to rush down to breakfast until 9:30 or so and we so enjoyed starting our days in the lovely conservatory. The food was excellent and the atmosphere relaxed and quiet. Throughout our stay Bob and Esme made us feel welcome and we knew they would help if we required it. The stairs to our room (7) were a challenge but not a problem as was the parking. I'm sure my husband was extremely glad that I wasn't driving though! Our favourite places were Steephill Cove, Castlehaven, Totland and the downs near the Needles. We particularly enjoyed eating at The White Horse at Whitwell, though it was extremely busy, and teas at the Post Office in Niton in the garden. We are delighted that we discovered this very special B&B, hope to return sooner rather than later and will definitely recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley315927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2011

Our stay at the St Augustine Villa (Harbour View Hotel) was first class, from the moment we arrived to the second we departed everything was perfect, our hosts Bob and Esme were brilliant, always avaliable to help and such lovely friendly people. We stayed in Room 7 which was out of this world, it had two large windows looking straight out onto the beach and the sea, the huge four poster bed was so comfortable, the TV was a 42" flat screen with sky sports which my husband loved! :-) The shower was a powerful double shower, the towels were crisp, white and fluffy! The room had a lovely leather sofa infront of the window, so you could enjoy a glass of wine looking out to sea! The hotel has a lovely conservatory overlooking the sea where you can have breakfast, we didn't actually make breakfast any morning but it certainly smelt delicious! This hotel is a perfect place for relaxing and recharging, we had an unforgettable memorable stay at St Augustine Villa and have already booked to return again later in the year, it is such amazing value for money with such beautiful coastlines, secluded areas to relax, lovely restaurants to eat and some lovely ducks at the local duck pond which will keep you amused for hours, we'll be back and we are so looking forward to it! Thank you to both Bob and Esme for giving us a splendid break!

Room Tip: Room 7, a spacious room with spectacular views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly2504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2011

This is our 4th visit to St Augustine and Bob and Esme are wonderful hosts. The rooms are lovely with sea views. It is a very peaceful house decorated in period style which makes it feels like a real home. No animals or children in this establishment so if you are looking for complete relaxation this is the place to visit. Full English breakfast is always really lovely. It is positioned perfectly along the seafront within easy reach of other great restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank randy190735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Falls, Montana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2011

We visited St. Augustine Villa in early May, just as businesses were beginning to open up for the season. It provided a lovely and restful place for us to get away for a few days. The proprietors are gracious and professional. The hotel itself is beautiful. We chose a sea-view room and thoroughly enjoyed the beautiful view.

We were car-less, but managed to get to Ventnor by way of a taxi from the last rail stop. We were able to walk everywhere we wanted, and took advantage of the Coastal Path both ways.

We would recommend this highly.

We did find that our cell phone did not work here, and we were not able to find an internet cafe in town (there may have been one, but we did not persist.) Therefore we had an enforced communications blackout (except for emergencies), which was exactly what we needed.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graycrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventnor
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hillside Hotel
Hillside Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ventnor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ventnor Towers Hotel
Ventnor Towers Hotel
#7 of 9 in Ventnor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
2.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
2.7 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#1 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Augustine Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Augustine Villa

Property: St. Augustine Villa
Address: Esplanade, Ventnor PO38 1TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating from 1843, St.Augustine Villa (Harbour View Hotel) is a fine Victorian Villa, full of great character and charm and character, occupying an unrivalled position on Ventnor Esplanade. "Probably one of the most photographed buildings on the island due to its stunning sea view location." We specialize in luxury B&B only. Town and excellent restaurants are within easy walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your St. Augustine Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Augustine Villa Hotel Ventnor
Harbour View Ventnor
St. Augustine Villa Ventnor, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing