We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
St. Augustine Villa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Hambrough(Ventnor)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Old Park Hotel(St Lawrence)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (175)
Filter reviews
175 results
Traveller rating
146
24
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
146
24
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsharbour viewtower roomfresh fruit salada small car parkbreakfasts were excellentnight breakfour poster bedstayed for nightsshort breakbobhostsseaislandfurnitureroomy
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
111 - 116 of 175 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2011

In real need of R + R we rounded the Esplanade hairpin to be amazed by the perfect rooflines of this historic building. Greeted warmly by Bob and Esme we felt we had found just the right bolt hole for a week's relaxation. Breakfast in the conservatory with the sun sparkling on the sea was a true Mediterranean-style start to the day. Bob's fruit salads which varied daily were a highlight. Esme was more than willing to tailor breakfasts to individual needs. Soak up the Victoriana and stay in a little piece of Isle-of-Wight heritage. Bob is really good at recommending great places to eat, from great pubs to a Michelin-starred restaurant . Save up for The Hambrough restaurant, just a short walk up the hill. St Augustine Villa we'll be back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HelenandMelvyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We used trip advisor to help us make a decision on where to stay & were not disappointed. Bob & Esme were really friendly & helpful. The rooms were great (room 7 has a fantastic sea view from 2 windows & a huge 4 poster bed as well as all the normal conveniences) Breakfast was delicious and there are plenty of good restaurants within easy walking.
We have no hesitation in recommending to others & if you like walking - the walk along to Shanklin is great (Bob will give you all the info you need)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curlyheaduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

We took a four night break to remind ourselves of the Island after an absence of 25 years. It's still a lovely place to visit, and any changes are only for the better. Visited Osborne House for the first time, not to be missed. The Hotel was excellent,in a unique position, and Bob and Esme made us feel most welcome. The room was really a suite and was first rate with sea views and all mod cons. Excellent breakfasts in a light airy dining room with views over the Esplanade and the sea. We dined each evening at the Spyglass Inn at the other end of the Esplanade, five minutes walk away, and it was excellent quality and value. We hope to return next year, for longer if possible!

Room Tip: Room 9 was excellent, but they probably all are!
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandMH1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Bob and Esme are friendly and helpful, the services is great, as is the breakfast (perfect poached eggs). The sea view from the conservatory where breakfast is serviced is fabulous, and from some of the bedrooms.

There are several good inexpensive restaurants on the esplande which is a few minutes walk away, also with great sea views.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna240367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

I had only been to the IOW for a rainy daytrip 11 years ago and my husband had holidayed as a child a good 50 years ago. We started our week in Bembridge and happened upon St Augustine Villa exploring westwards. Our 3 nights were perfect and room 7 was everything we wanted; a 6 foot bed facing the wonderful seaviews, spotlessly clean, light and airy, plenty tea in the room, cotton bedlinen, large soft cotton towels, very quiet, seats to sit and gaze at the sea from the windows, more than enough drawers and cupboards, spacious shower and last but not least very pleasant colour scheme in good condition. It was heaven not to have to rush down to breakfast until 9:30 or so and we so enjoyed starting our days in the lovely conservatory. The food was excellent and the atmosphere relaxed and quiet. Throughout our stay Bob and Esme made us feel welcome and we knew they would help if we required it. The stairs to our room (7) were a challenge but not a problem as was the parking. I'm sure my husband was extremely glad that I wasn't driving though! Our favourite places were Steephill Cove, Castlehaven, Totland and the downs near the Needles. We particularly enjoyed eating at The White Horse at Whitwell, though it was extremely busy, and teas at the Post Office in Niton in the garden. We are delighted that we discovered this very special B&B, hope to return sooner rather than later and will definitely recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lesley315927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews