We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enid F”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
St. Augustine Villa
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Enid F”
Reviewed 23 June 2012

On arrival Esme and Bob gave us a very warm welcome and their friendliness during our stay made us feel very much at home. St Augustines Villa is a fascinating building with lots of interest. There is a super view from the breakfast conservatory . It was lovely to watch the fishing boats come in each morning as we relaxed over an excellent breakfast I had travelled with two friends who had a superior double room with a fabulous sea view, I had a doule room adjoining which was great, everything very clean and kept well. The location was superb!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enid Kathleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    23
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
146
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We have just returned from the Isle of Wight it was our first visit and we were really impressed the scenery and beaches are stunning. We noticed as soon as we got off the ferry how clean the roads were no litter anywhere.We stayed at St Augustine Villa in Ventnor which was just perfect. There were four of us we were there to celebrate my husbands 60th Birthday. We had booked 2 rooms and the view from our rooms was fantastic. (Rooms 1 & 2). Lovely comfy chairs by the windows to look out at the superb seaviews. Tea and coffee making Facilities in the room, Comfortable double bed and a very good shower room. The owners Bob and Esme made you feel very welcome nothing was too much trouble they made our stay enjoyable.The breakfast was very good we had cereal, toast and a full english breakfast, orange juice and a pot of tea. Esme would always ask if you wanted more toast or anymore to drink, she was the perfect host.
Can't wait to visit the Isle of Wight again and will definitely stay at St Augustine Villa.
Thank You Bob & Esme for making our stay most enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yvonne80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, Essex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

This was my first stay at St.Augustine Villa in Ventnor and I was very impressed with the hotel and the owners, Bob and Esme. I was staying as part of a group of four in two rooms, one standard and one superior double (Rooms 1 & 2). Both rooms has wonderful seaviews and were traditionally decorated with quality pieces of furniture and very comfortable beds. Good showers in en-suite shower rooms.
Breakfast was excellent - good choices of cereal, fresh fruit salad along with your traditional full english which they were happy to adapt and add to as you wished and were always there to offer extra toast and hot drinks.
The location of the hotel is fantastic with great seaviews - it only has a small car-park but it did not appear to be a problem even when they were fully booked.
Bob and Esme were very friendly and helpful and also knowledgeable in relation to the local area.
I was extremely impressed by the way they allowed us to check in hours earlier than usual on the day of arrival (due to unforeseen circumstances at previous accomodation resulting in extra early check out)- this had not been pre-arranged with Bob or Esme so I was quite expecting to get turned away and told to come back later but that was not the case and they allowed us keys to the rooms almost immediately which was a great relief.
They were also very accomodating when I requested to decorate my father's room with banners and balloons for his 60th Birthday.
All in all it was a very lovely stay and I would highly recommend St Augustine Villa.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nicki32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandbach, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Perfect in every way! Sea front location; local amenities; easy eccess to other Island attractions, and, most of all, excellent hosts. We were provided with a superb sea view double room complete with four poster and a breakfast to leave home for! Bob and Esme get eleven out of ten! Just great!

Room Tip: We opted for an upper floor sea view room - I cannot imagine anyone being disappointed by making the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We fully enjoyed our weekend at St. Augustine Villa. We were given a warm welcome by the proprietors, Bob and Esme. We had a lovely big, very quiet room with sea views. The breakfast was fabulous with a lovely variety and was able to cater to our (rather fussy) needs. We became completely relaxed staying there and enjoyed the location right on the beach within walking distance to Steep Hill Cove and Ventnor Village.

We will be staying there again.

Room Tip: I don't think all rooms have sea views - be sure to ask for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ventnor
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Stayed for a few nights with my partner and was amazed by everything. It was just a little break local but felt like i was abored treated like royalty amazing thank you

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fendyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Echoing the others, location, room standard, breakfast, friendly hosts, sea views etc.etc. all excellent -- already booked to go again this year. Lovely break.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frames329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventnor
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hillside Hotel
Hillside Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ventnor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ventnor Towers Hotel
Ventnor Towers Hotel
#7 of 9 in Ventnor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
2.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
2.7 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Augustine Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Augustine Villa

Property: St. Augustine Villa
Address: Esplanade, Ventnor PO38 1TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating from 1843, St.Augustine Villa (Harbour View Hotel) is a fine Victorian Villa, full of great character and charm and character, occupying an unrivalled position on Ventnor Esplanade. "Probably one of the most photographed buildings on the island due to its stunning sea view location." We specialize in luxury B&B only. Town and excellent restaurants are within easy walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your St. Augustine Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Augustine Villa Hotel Ventnor
Harbour View Ventnor
St. Augustine Villa Ventnor, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing