We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short break in Ventnor, Isle of Wight”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
St. Augustine Villa
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Stayed at the St Augustine Villa and experienced the extremes of the Isle Of Wight weather! Yes, this is more expensive accommodation, but the location halfway down the hill to the Esplanade is fab. We had a sea view from our room. The room was of a medium size with lots of features. Yes, there is no solely guest lounge. The room had a small tv and shower only ensuite. Breakfast was in the conservatory, the kippers were good and breakfast number 1 with extras set me up for the day. Please note there is wifi which works fine. There is limited car parking on site, but they state this on the website.

The Spyglass pub is a short walk away. Plus, their are other places in Ventnor to eat, though take your own wine to the Indian Restaurant as they don't have a drinks licence.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Vfrphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2012

Hard to believe all the similar positive comments were talking about the same place we stayed earlier this year and suggest people check out detailed reviews by Georgie Pie and Leorna. For us the service was slow. Bedooms very ordinary and over-priced. No residents lounge. No parking to speak of on site. Atmosphere between the hosts was not relaxed, made guests feel uncomfortable at breakfast listening to thier shouts. On the plus side its a nice house next to sea. Ventnor is pleasant seaside resort (only spoiled at times during our stay by strong whiff from sewage works in front - temporary problem they said). Were we unlucky? Hope standard has improved since then.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sendrit h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We have enjoyed a few nights staying at St Augustine Villa. We had the tower bedroom ( superior double) with has views on 3 aspects and we can hear the waves as we lye in bed. Very comfortable, well presented room and bathroom. Greeted by the friendly owners, feel comfortable coming and going at all times, good parking and facilities. Breakfast is included and this is also a good feature- a great choice of cooked to order hot breakfast choices plus cereal, fruit salad and toast. Very pleased with our choice- also well sited to explore island and enjoy local restaurants in evening.

Room Tip: The tower room is worth the little extra cost- lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank divalibrarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Room 3 at St Augustine Villa is a lovely room which has views to the south (directly facing the sea) and also a west facing window.

Lovely hosts, who also arranged our ferries Breakfast was great.

Will certainly return, many thanks Bob and Esme

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Best location in best resort in Isle of Wight. Wonderful uninterrupted views and directly opp the sea with excellent restaurants, bars and the Marina right outside your door
Welcoming hosts - Bob and Esme are terrific and helpful
Easy parking on site
All rooms clean and individually decorated with style and care.
Good breakfast but be nice to have the fresh orange juice and croissant option ? However was still excellent as is.

We paid £103 per night B&B for 4poster room - please Bob /Esme can you upgrade to Sky HD and do the bathroom in same style as Room below - actual bedroom amazing but bathroom is a let down in comparison. If you do that plus add a mini bar /fridge - so we can keep our drinks cool then would say is absolutely perfect although we loved our stay and would recommend to anyone.

We are now planning a return.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank kilgore1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We recently spent three nights at the St Augustine Villa. We selected it from Tripadvisor and were not disappointed.
The location is fantastic at the base of Ventnor township and on the sea front.
We had a large, nicely furnished room with great facilities (TV, en-suite, tea/coffee making facilities) on the first floor and with and a great ocean view.
The breakfasts were excellent.
The hotel is within easy walking distance (first up a very steep hill, then its a breeze) to the township and also beach-front restaurants. Limited parking is available at the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussie-Traveller3121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Just spent a fabulous week at St Augustines Villa, fantastic room (number 3) with a beautiful view. Clean, comfortable and fantastic breakfast. Will definitly visit again. Perfectly positioned to access all local restaurants, the beach is a few steps away. Brilliant week thank you to Esme and Bob :-)

Room Tip: Room 3 (perfect)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventnor
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
954 reviews
0 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
364 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hillside Hotel
Hillside Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ventnor
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
North House
North House
#2 of 5 in Cowes
102 reviews
4.9 mi away
Wight Mouse Inn
Wight Mouse Inn
#1 of 1 in Chale
340 reviews
2.5 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 51 in Shanklin
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Augustine Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Augustine Villa

Address: Esplanade, Ventnor PO38 1TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Price Range: £93 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating from 1843, St.Augustine Villa (Harbour View Hotel) is a fine Victorian Villa, full of great character and charm and character, occupying an unrivalled position on Ventnor Esplanade. "Probably one of the most photographed buildings on the island due to its stunning sea view location." We specialize in luxury B&B only. Town and excellent restaurants are within easy walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your St. Augustine Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Augustine Villa Hotel Ventnor
Harbour View Ventnor
St. Augustine Villa Ventnor, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing