We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So relaxing!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Augustine Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
St. Augustine Villa
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Certificate of Excellence
Hemel Hempstead
1 review
“So relaxing!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2010

What lovely accommodation and a very welcoming stay! Excellent superior sea-view room with the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in! We ate breakfast in the conservatory overlooking the sea in a very relaxing atmosphere. Would definetely return.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sealover22_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    23
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
146
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2010

This large Victorian house on the seafront is ideally situated and has wonderful views from the bedrooms. The charms of the old house together with the laid back Bob and Esme create an almost soporific atmosphere and provides a perfect escape from the rat race on the mainland - stay here for two-three nights and it feels like you've been away a week.
This is not to say that the owners have not got everything buttoned up - it is efficiently run and they cook amazing breakfasts served in the conservatory looking out to sea. Needless to say, no rushing down to breakfast here - they are served until 10 a.m.
There is nothing much else to say about the Harbour View - large rooms, comfortable beds, friendly proprietors. A perfect place for doing nothing.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blueray88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshire
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2010

We came for the Isle of Wight festival and chose to stay away from the festival location in a peaceful haven and this Hotel in Ventnor certainly fitted the bill - peace and quiet after the full on volume of the festival.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnAndyHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2010

Just spent 3 nights at St Augustine villa ( formerly Harbour View. ) Can thoroughly recommend the hotel because of its warm welcome, comfort, good breakfasts, stunning location and peaceful atmosphere.The location is perfect for walking along the numerous costal paths in the area, visiting the beatiful Ventnor Botanical Gardens ( free !), enjoying excellent evening meals in Ventnor or nearby Shanklin and exploring The Island as a whole. As Ventnor has a gradient of 1 in 4 we recommend a good pair of knees ! but we are looking forward to returning in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank surreymeadows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
126 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2010

As has been said by other reviewers, St Augustine Villa is a lovely old building in a fine position on the steep hill between sea and shops - oxygen needed on the way up! We had the large room at the front with a 4 poster bed and great sea view. Though the high bed and accompanying drapes were not really to my taste, the bed itself was comfortable: shorter people might need a stool to mount it though!
The bathroom had only a shower - no bath. This suited us just fine but not everyone prefers to shower.
Parking is tight because of the space available but also because of the layout of the spaces and the fact that most cars are quite big these days. We had trouble only on one night when the car park was full when we returned but we parked down on the sea front where it is free after 6pm until 10am the next day. Luckily, others left before we breakfasted in the morning so we were able to retrieve the car before payment was due.
Breakfast service was actually a bit slow and we didn't always get what we had ordered but the quality of the food was very good, well cooked and the portions plentiful. Coffee kept on coming and we were offered more toast as the rack we were given was eaten so it was all worth the wait. And we were on our holidays so did not need to rush! My advice would be to go down in plenty of time if you do have a time schedule to stick to.

Rates are more expensive than most B&Bs - £99 per night and of course it does not offer some facilities found in larger hotels. Our telephone booking was dealt with in a friendly and helpful manner by Bob and, as there was a mistake on our return ferry booking, this was sorted quickly by Esme. Friendly service is not always found so easily at larger hotels. Doubtless there are cheaper places with equally good breakfasts to be found but we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gardener01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2010

An all round excellent, hotel with friendly and caring proprietors. A very well equipped room with lots of thoughtful touches.Fabulous position.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank plannerEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2010

I could not fault this place. I had never been to the Isle of Wight before so this was a first for me so you could include an extra star for the place itself. I went with a couple of friends but write my review independantly - however the guest house was fantastic great location, good sized rooms (with all the usual amenities - en-suite, tv and coffee/tea making facilities etc) the proprietors were welcoming and friendly and the full English breakfast seemed justifiable if you were about to redress the balance with a days walking afterwards! Plus they had parking outside - although I don't know whether if the place was fully booked whether everyone would have a place.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonJoebloggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventnor
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#3 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hillside Hotel
Hillside Hotel
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ventnor Towers Hotel
Ventnor Towers Hotel
#7 of 9 in Ventnor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#3 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
2.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Augustine Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Augustine Villa

Property: St. Augustine Villa
Address: Esplanade, Ventnor PO38 1TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating from 1843, St.Augustine Villa (Harbour View Hotel) is a fine Victorian Villa, full of great character and charm and character, occupying an unrivalled position on Ventnor Esplanade. "Probably one of the most photographed buildings on the island due to its stunning sea view location." We specialize in luxury B&B only. Town and excellent restaurants are within easy walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your St. Augustine Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Augustine Villa Hotel Ventnor
Harbour View Ventnor
St. Augustine Villa Ventnor, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing