We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Relaxing and Comfortable Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
St. Augustine Villa
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Oxford UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A Relaxing and Comfortable Break”
Reviewed 15 September 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Harbour View ( St Augustine Villa ) for a week. We found the owners , Bob & Esme friendly and helpful without being intrusive. Our room had a super sea view and , as the weather wasn't great it was always a pleasure to return , sit in an arm chair and enjoy the view. Breakfast was good and set us up for the day. Though our room was large with a lovely kingsize bed, the bathroom wasn't huge but that's the way we would prefer as we don't go on holiday to spend large amounts of time in the bathroom. In summary St Augustine provided all we wanted and its position is superb.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    23
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
147
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Horley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2010

We stayed at the St Augustine Villa for 9 nights in August– Although the weather was not good there is plenty to do and see in and around Ventnor. There is a very good bus service that covers the entire island and most days we left the car in the car park.
We booked the double superior room – it is tastefully furnished and you can lie in the wonderfully comfortable bed and watch the sea. The bathroom/ dressing room is huge. The hotel is spotlessly clean and is a home from home.
The breakfasts were outstanding. Esmie and Bob were always on hand to offer advise and were charming hosts.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetPaulB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Dunmow, Essex
1 review
Reviewed 7 September 2010

We stayed at the St. Augustine Villa (formerly Harbour View) for the bank holiday weekend and had such a lovely time. The B&B is really quirky with some lovely individual touches..Our room was huge, with the most amazing views out to Ventnor Bay -we even had our own little lounge area! Hospitality was first class and the breakfasts were delicious and very filling!!! Once again, many thanks to Bob and Esme for such a lovely weekend!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stone2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 September 2010

This is one of the most relaxing hotels we have stayed in. The moment you arrived you can feel an ambiance of calm , this is down to the lovely hosts Bob and Esme. Nothing is too much trouble and one of Bob's delicious breakfasts will set you up for the day. This was our second visit and we will be back next year.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank york213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 September 2010

This is a lovely B&B in the best location in Ventnor - right on the Esplanade, overlooking the sea. Our double room was very clean, comfortable, and tastefully decorated. We loved the comfy chairs by the windows, where we could relax after a hard day's walking and gaze out at the view. All the facilities you could want were there, including freesat TV, but we were content just to look out at the sea and listen to the waves! Breakfast was in the light and bright conservatory - overlooking the sea and gardens - and was wonderful: a choice of cereals and juices, as much tea/coffee as you liked, toast and marmalade, a range of cooked dishes (including a great full English), etc. Our hosts were charming - very friendly and helpful - nothing was too much trouble.

On a general note, if you are thinking of coming to the Isle of Wight and - like us - haven't visited since you were children, then do try Ventnor (and this B&B of course). The climate is super (we had brilliant sunshine all the time) and the location is a great base for walking: right on the coastal path than runs round the Island.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nettie000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
116 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2010

We were really looking forward to staying here after reading all the positive reviews, but we were slightly disappointed. The location and views are superb without a doubt and Ventnor is a lovely place. Our room on the top floor had great views and was adequately equipped, but the mattress was too hard and we did not sleep well as a result. We also felt it lacked the personal touches you would expect for the price, such as individual toiletries rather than wall dispensers. The free wifi hardly worked, despite the best efforts of Bob to sort it out. The conservatory is a great location for breakfast, again with great views. Breakfast was adequate but porridge was not an option. The service at breakfast was very slow and a bit erratic. Overall we felt that it needed some extra effort from the owners to deliver what could be a very enjoyable experience for guests.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PTJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

This was our first stay at this hotel and will certainly return. We had a superior room overlooking the sea which was excellent value for money. Indeed, the room itself was on a par with others we have stayed in in 4 star hotels, clean, comfortable and furnished to a high standard. Bob and Esme made us very welcome and the breakfasts in the conservatory were freshly cooked to order. Location is perfect, next to the sea and several good restaurants withion a few minutes walk.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank royslater999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventnor
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
807 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
340 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hillside Hotel
Hillside Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ventnor
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#3 of 52 in Shanklin
449 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ventnor Towers Hotel
Ventnor Towers Hotel
#6 of 9 in Ventnor
200 reviews
2.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Augustine Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Augustine Villa

Property: St. Augustine Villa
Address: Esplanade, Ventnor PO38 1TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating from 1843, St.Augustine Villa (Harbour View Hotel) is a fine Victorian Villa, full of great character and charm and character, occupying an unrivalled position on Ventnor Esplanade. "Probably one of the most photographed buildings on the island due to its stunning sea view location." We specialize in luxury B&B only. Town and excellent restaurants are within easy walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your St. Augustine Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Augustine Villa Hotel Ventnor
Harbour View Ventnor
St. Augustine Villa Ventnor, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing