We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly & comfortable”
Review of Cornerways Ventnor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cornerways Ventnor
Ranked #3 of 18 Ventnor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Just spent a very pleasant couple of nights staying at Cornerways. Stuart & Linda make everyone feel welcome & looked after.

Only problem was with the booking - through Expedia! They don't provide a direct email address but offer to pass on 'special requests'.... They NEVER PASS THESE ON. The phone number that they supply is also for the Expedia booking service and is an answer phone out of hours.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Chris_from_Dorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda K, Owner at Cornerways Ventnor, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Thank you for your positive review Chris. It was lovely meeting you both and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Booking agents are, unfortunately, never very helpful, from now on I will e mail guests who book on line to make sure they have all our details in case they need to contact us. Thank you for the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2013

Had 3 nights here from 13th to 16th July 2013. Very professional, kind and friendly hosts. Very clean comfortable accommodation. Lovely breakfasts, fresh fruit, nuts cereals and cooked. Would most definitely come here again many times in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda K, Owner at Cornerways Ventnor, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

It was lovely having you to stay, we are looking forward to having you back later this month and are keeping fingers crossed for some sunshine for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We decided to book a last minute trip to the IoW to take advantage of the weather and picking Cornerways was a very lucky guess! Stuart and Linda could not have been more accommodating - either putting the bikes away or giving us tips for the best beaches (Steephill Cove!) or a great dinner. The room we had was lovely and spotlessly clean with a beautiful view of the surrounding countryside. Breakfast was epic and really set you up for the day! Minor downside was that the TV did not have many channels and was a bit patchy..but to be honest you don't go away for the weekend to watch TV! I would 100% recommend Cornerways without a doubt and we will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baker123186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda K, Owner at Cornerways Ventnor, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Thank you for your lovely review, it was lovely meeting you both and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Stuart and Linda are welcoming and friendly hosts at this large Victorian guesthouse with views of the sea. We had extremely comfortable, beautifully furnished, quiet rooms and a really delicious breakfast. Stuart was particularly helpful with our cycles (as others have commented).

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyholidaysoxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda K, Owner at Cornerways Ventnor, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Linda and Stuart at Cornerways deserve to succeed - they are friendly and accommodating. The house has been renovated over the past 18 months. They have created a modern, bright and spacious B&B. Our room was a standard double with ensuite at the back of the house with a view of the hills, very pleasant. Internet connection was sketchy in our room but worked well downstairs in the house and out in the yard which was a nice place to sit, read and be offered a tea or coffee by our friendly hosts all the while looking out to sea. The fresh fruit salad, yummy selection of yoghurts and nut and seed mix to sprinkle over the fruit was a bonus. Fully cooked breakfast is also available. Linda and Stuart are very generous with the breakfast on offer.Off street parking is available. Cornerways is a great location to walk around Ventnor hills and all.

Room Tip: Room 3 at the back of the house was quiet with a pleasant view of the hills and swaying trees, the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda K, Owner at Cornerways Ventnor, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2013

Thank you for your positive review, it was a pleasure having you both to stay, we wish you and Diane all the best for your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Crossways offers good accommodation. We stayed for 2 nights in a recently decorated room standard room which were spotlessly clean, with a very comfortable bed and a reasonable sized en suite shower room. The hosts are excellent; friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was cooked to order and enjoyed by our group of 4. It was a real pleasure to see fresh fruit salad available alongside a generous cooked breakfast.

The guesthouse is in a very quiet, largely residential, area on the outskirts of Ventnor within 15 minutes walk of the centre. Off street parking appears to be limited, although we had no problem as occupation at the time of our visit was low. There may be alternative off road parking available - we did not need to ask.

Two local restaurants to recommend. The Phileas Fogg In Ventnor town. Perfectly cooked food and excellent service. Prices reflect the quality. The Bonchurch Inn is a gem. Hidden away from the road, the atmosphere is totally relaxed with friendly service and good food with an Italian bias. If you walk from Cornerways, however, expect some challenging hills!

Overall, Cornerways is an excellent guesthouse that we would heartily recommend. Thank you, Linda and Stuart

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda K, Owner at Cornerways Ventnor, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2013

Thank you for your lovely review and all your positive feedback, it was a pleasure having you to stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We stayed at Cornerways overnight whist on an around the island cycling trip with six other friends. When we all arrived with our eight bikes and gear Linda and Stuart could not have been more accommodating and friendly. Our room and the rest of the building was very clean, comfortable, particularly light and with good views. Breakfast was excellent and substantial – just what we needed before mounting our bikes again for the day. All in all, Cornerways is highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greentractor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda K, Owner at Cornerways Ventnor, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review. it was a pleasure meeting all of you & we hope you enjoyed the rest of your ride around the island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventnor
0.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
916 reviews
9.4 mi away
Hotel Ryde Castle
Hotel Ryde Castle
#3 of 6 in Ryde
413 reviews
2.1 mi away
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
#36 of 51 in Shanklin
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
357 reviews
4.2 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
1,275 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Leconfield
The Leconfield
#1 of 1 in Bonchurch
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornerways Ventnor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornerways Ventnor

Address: 39 Madeira Road, Ventnor PO38 1QS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Ventnor
Price Range: £74 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cornerways Ventnor 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run B&B providing comfortable, clean ensuite rooms & breakfast. Wi fi available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cornerways Ventnor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornerways Ventnor Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing