We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent B & B - a fantastic find!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cornerways Ventnor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cornerways Ventnor
Ranked #2 of 16 Ventnor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent B & B - a fantastic find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

This is an excellent B&B. The warm welcome when we checked in and the helpful advice about where to eat that evening - The Bonchurch Inn, for life changing lasagna, made our stay memorable. A very comfortable, spacious room and a breakfast which was delicious. We are now planning another trip and we will be staying longer here.

We have been promised a lift up to the top of the hill with our bicycles next time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aila P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda K, Owner at Cornerways Ventnor, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thank you so much for writing such a kind review. It was lovely having you to stay and the offer of a lift still stands. Also pleased you enjoyed the Inn as it is one of our favourite restaurants. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
90
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We were staying one night as we were on a two day cycling holiday. Stuart and Linda were very accommodating, even to our bikes being housed in their shed and lending us a couple of things to clean them up the next day! The room (we were upgraded to a superior room) was beautiful - full of natural light, spacious and a lovely bathroom, with an awesome bath with jets. Perfect for achy limbs! The breakfast was ideal - fresh fruit and nuts, cereals etc.. and the full English was perfect to set us up for another day's cycling. The location was really good too, a ten minute easy walk to town, and in a lovely nook of Ventnor.

I will recommend this B&B to others if they are on the IoW.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thepirates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda K, Owner at Cornerways Ventnor, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to the Island and your stay at Cornerways. Many thanks for the lovely review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Every once in a while you find one if those places you know you'll be going back to again, and again and again.

Cornerways hotel is one of those places.

Due to a delayed ferry crossing we had been a little late arriving and were cutting it tight with the check in time. However on out arrival we were met by a very friendly and warm welcome from Stuart who showed us to our room without any fuss at all. After settling down he also very helpfully recommended a few restaurants for us to get something to eat. As everything seems stops serving at 9:00 in Ventnor Stuart's local knowledge put us in the right directon of 'The Spyglass Inn' who serve until 9:30.

Our room was clean, well furnished and over the weekend was kept well stocked with a variety of drinks and various bathroom products.

Over the weekend we were treated to an array of cereals and full cooked breakfasts which set us up for the day well. We also went to another of Stuarts recommendations of, The Bonchurch Inn, a very nice italian just a 20 minute walk from the hotel. Be warned though, it is quite a steep climbs and you may want to take some water to stay hydrated!!

Both Stuart and Linda (Stuart's wife) were incredibly warm over the entire of the weekend. This is the sort of place you want to say 'don't go to this place at all' and 'you wouldn't like it' purely because you selfishly want to keep it to yourself!! But honestly, do stay here and you'll see why it's so highly recommended.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Alastair H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda K, Owner at Cornerways Ventnor, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Sincere thanks for writing this thoughtful review, we were both touched by your comments. We do enjoy life at Cornerways and it is rewarding to know that our guests enjoy it as well. We would be more than happy to see you both back again & again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Found this hotel at the last minute and I am very glad I did. Very spacious clean modern rooms and the host's are very friendly and nothing is to much trouble. Breakfast is first class and cooked to order, served with fantastic coffee.

Would I return? Most definitely and strongly recommended.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Troy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda K, Owner at Cornerways Ventnor, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Many thanks for your kind review & for staying with us at Cornerways, we hope to see you on your next visit to the Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

I have known Ventnor and the IoW all my life, but Madeira Road - the 'off the beaten track' link between Ventnor and Bonchurch - has always been nothing more than a cut-through. Until now.
This is a really very good B&B indeed. Great rooms (particularly for small families, like ours), friendly service, cleanliness and a great breakfast.
And also that thing that is so difficult to quantify or fabricate - a feeling of being valued as customers, but also left in peace to enjoy the experience as you wish,
A real gem.

Room Tip: I'm sure all the rooms are good :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda K, Owner at Cornerways Ventnor, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you so much for this wonderful review Andy, it was lovely having you all to stay and congratulations for doing so well at "Walk The Wight" .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

We spent a few days visiting Ventnor and the Arts Festival. Cornerways was extremely comfortable and very convenient for the town centre (about 10 minutes pleasant walk). Stewart and Linda are charming and helpful. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you need exceptionally dark curtains check with Stewart beforehand. There are rooms with a view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda K, Owner at Cornerways Ventnor, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review, it is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Highly recommend this b&b. Lovely very comfortable & quiet rooms, amazing breakfast & very friendly owners. Linda & Stuart make you feel very welcome and look after you well. Good location with easy walk into Ventnor and Bonchurch for amazing restaurants and seafront and with parking. Our second visit & will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sueannfraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda K, Owner at Cornerways Ventnor, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you both so much for returning to Cornerways, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and would love to see you again, and thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventnor
0.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hillside Hotel
Hillside Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ventnor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ventnor Towers Hotel
Ventnor Towers Hotel
#7 of 9 in Ventnor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
4.2 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
2.0 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornerways Ventnor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornerways Ventnor

Property: Cornerways Ventnor
Address: 39 Madeira Road, Ventnor PO38 1QS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Ventnor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cornerways Ventnor 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run B&B providing comfortable, clean ensuite rooms & breakfast. Wi fi available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Cornerways Ventnor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornerways Ventnor Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing