We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of St Maur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St Maur
Ranked #6 of 18 Ventnor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 1 July 2012

This is a well placed B & B for travelling around the Isle of Wight. Our room was excellent although the stairs are challenging and there is no lift.Somebody will, however, carry up your cases. It was well maintained, serviced and the hospitality tray was well stocked.
The short times for breakfast (8.30 - 9am) and evening meal (6.30 - 7pm) is a little regimented and inflexible. The food was, however, very disappointing. The menus look impressive with 5 courses and a choice. However, we felt much of it was frozen or some products even from a packet. The smoked haddock for breakfast was dry when cooked and obviously frozen - what a crime when the sea is so near. The quality of the produce we didn't find particularly inspiring or tasty. The sauces and gravy were unpalitable. The gravy was so 'gloopy' I had to scrape it off my meal because I couldn't eat it. Perhaps learning a basic gravy recipe using the juices of your roast and plain flour would be a much better option than cornflour which gives it the consistencey of jelly. I didn't venture to try the parsley sauce with the fish. Also the yorkshire puddings were undercooked and very greasy.
The other thing we found uncomfortable were the cackling waitresses - I am not used to listening to peoples' personal affairs being discussed with clients whilst eating my breakfast and discussing management with clients I find an absolute 'no, no'.
I notice from previous reviews that this B & B appears to be 'one of two halves' If you like cheap produced food and noisy waitresses who call you 'darling' then you will find it OK. If like us you enjoy quality food and a relaxing ambience in the dining room this is not for you. It is a pity because there are good features about this place. A separate bar with an honesty box and an excellent selection of drinks is nice as are the rooms.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EnglandRuddles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    40
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
28
171
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Staines
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We chose this guest house as we wanted a mini break in the Isle of Wight and had seen Ventnor on the TV. The initial phone call was very friendly, helpful and efficient. We received all the paperwork promptly. The service for the whole weekend was very friendly and helpful and we really felt at home. The breakfast and evening meal were better than most hotels we have stayed in. Lots of fresh fruit and vegetables and a five course evening meal. The lounge was very comfortable and would be ideal for small groups and families. There was an honesty bar. The bedrooms were comfortably furnished and the beds comfortable.

Room Tip: The superior rooms with balcony on the first floor, with views of the garden and sea would be lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadstairs, Kent U.K
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a weeks holiday at the St Maur in Ventnor, on the Isle of Wight. We came home with very fond memories of this delightful guest house.We had a lovely comfortable twin room with balcony - well furnished with 2 armchairs a spacious bathroom and a well stocked welcome tray (my wife counted 8 varieties of tea!). A large screen digital LED TV complemented the room - but would agree that an additional freeview channel selection would have been good. The food was excellent, varied and beautifully cooked - and a wide variety of wines were available. The honesty bar was a welcome touch and much appreciated. The Chef/Patron David and his wife were always available and helpful - as were the very friendly staff. We are looking forward to returning to St Maur later this year. Highly recommended

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jazzfm01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We stayed at the hotel in April. We love staying here. It is ideally situated for excellent local walks - no need to drive off anywhere. We particularly enjoy the friendly atmosphere in the hotel and the evening meals. As soon as we arrive we completely relax. We have now stayed in four different rooms at the hotel and each has been very clean, comfortable and attractive.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djm84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We found St Maurs on the internet - very true to its advertisement on line. Clean ,quiet , warm and comfortable. Food; while not gourmet; was beautifully cooked and plentiful , lots of fresh fruit at breakfast. Would like to have seen more fish on the menu.Waitresses very attentive , bit noisy and insisted on calling us "My Darling" but nothing too much trouble. Wine list comprehensive and well chosen. Honesty bar worked well.Public areas comfortable clean and warm. Bed rooms,superior rooms spacious well decorated very clean , other rooms a bit smaller but equally well appointed. Saw very little of the owners but they were always available if needed. Wi Fi available. We likes the location of Ventnor a good place to start exploring from.Would definately go there again and would recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: Rooms at front have better view - some have balcony - room on top floor long flights of stairs but n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bebejam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Just got back from a short break on the Isle of Wight. I would and will recommend St Maur guest house in Ventnor to our friends and acquaintances. Our room was lovely,very clean, food excellent, and a very friendly owner and dinning room staff. If we go to the Isle of Wight again we will book to go back there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieFairhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Booked a 3 night stay in March 2012 excellent breakfast, bedroom on the ist floor had a balcony nice TV but only 4 channels only let down was the old fashioned bedding no longer used to blankets, however no complaints as everything was spotless and plenty of tea and coffee in the room. The staff were very friendly and helpfull the honesty bar was well stocked and the evening menu was well thought out. Very hard to find fault but I do like my gravy thicker but im sure if I had asked the chef would have obliged. Will stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventnor
0.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
849 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hillside Hotel
Hillside Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ventnor
455 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eversley Hotel
Eversley Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ventnor
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
2.8 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
841 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ventnor Towers Hotel
Ventnor Towers Hotel
#6 of 9 in Ventnor
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Maur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Maur

Property: St Maur
Address: Castle Road, Ventnor PO38 1LG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Ventnor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — St Maur 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a quiet, peaceful location St Maur is ideally situated for exploring the Isle of Wight whether walking, using public transport or by car. On our doorstep are many cliff and downland walks and the famous botanical gardens. We offer a relaxed atmosphere with friendly and attentive staff to look after you when you return from your days activities. Local food according to season is used within our menus cooked by owner/chef ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your St Maur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Maur Ventnor, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing