We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"We can see why people return year after year.'”
Review of St Maur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
St Maur
Ranked #5 of 18 Ventnor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We have recently returned from a four night break at St Maur. The food was of a very good standard, there was plenty of choice, with something to suit eveyone. We received great service from our waitress Phyll, who was a delight. My husband has a food allergy & nothing was too much trouble for David the owner (& chef), which was really appreciated. Our family room was spacious, spotlessly clean & again, was of a high standard.

St Maur's has a friendly atmosphere & is a well run hotel. We can see why people return year after year & would have no hesitation in recommending it.

Room Tip: Superior Family Room number 7 - spacious with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richard w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2012

Just returned from our seventh time of staying at the St Maur. Greeted like old friends/valued guests. Food excellent - well cooked using local produce where possible, with a good varied menu to choose from. Service excellent, staff friendly and helpful, many of whom have been working there for many years. Nothing too much trouble. Room very comfortable. This hotel has been family run for many years and they are still as committed as ever to making everyone's stay enjoyable, even if the weather is not as one would hope!

Room Tip: Rooms 7 and 8 are superior rooms being on the top floor, but if stairs are a problem then there are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank achilles_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Yet once again we had a wonderful week despite weather being wet some days. As usual the owner and his staff were friendly and helpful. Food well cooked with fresh vegetables, some from the garden. Room 7 was very clean, with en suite bath and shower, with a superb view of the sea and park. Lots of coffee teas and other beverages to choose from in the room.
We have already booked for next year. Even with the weather not good we found plenty to do apart from driving around,visiting the Zoo, Butterfly farm,Vineyard, Roman villa, and watched the round the island yacht from the hill opposite the house. Then back for drinks.
Never disappointed with this Guest House thank you all from Ann and Geoff Wilson, Margaret and Michael Harris

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kencia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

This is a well placed B & B for travelling around the Isle of Wight. Our room was excellent although the stairs are challenging and there is no lift.Somebody will, however, carry up your cases. It was well maintained, serviced and the hospitality tray was well stocked.
The short times for breakfast (8.30 - 9am) and evening meal (6.30 - 7pm) is a little regimented and inflexible. The food was, however, very disappointing. The menus look impressive with 5 courses and a choice. However, we felt much of it was frozen or some products even from a packet. The smoked haddock for breakfast was dry when cooked and obviously frozen - what a crime when the sea is so near. The quality of the produce we didn't find particularly inspiring or tasty. The sauces and gravy were unpalitable. The gravy was so 'gloopy' I had to scrape it off my meal because I couldn't eat it. Perhaps learning a basic gravy recipe using the juices of your roast and plain flour would be a much better option than cornflour which gives it the consistencey of jelly. I didn't venture to try the parsley sauce with the fish. Also the yorkshire puddings were undercooked and very greasy.
The other thing we found uncomfortable were the cackling waitresses - I am not used to listening to peoples' personal affairs being discussed with clients whilst eating my breakfast and discussing management with clients I find an absolute 'no, no'.
I notice from previous reviews that this B & B appears to be 'one of two halves' If you like cheap produced food and noisy waitresses who call you 'darling' then you will find it OK. If like us you enjoy quality food and a relaxing ambience in the dining room this is not for you. It is a pity because there are good features about this place. A separate bar with an honesty box and an excellent selection of drinks is nice as are the rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EnglandRuddles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We chose this guest house as we wanted a mini break in the Isle of Wight and had seen Ventnor on the TV. The initial phone call was very friendly, helpful and efficient. We received all the paperwork promptly. The service for the whole weekend was very friendly and helpful and we really felt at home. The breakfast and evening meal were better than most hotels we have stayed in. Lots of fresh fruit and vegetables and a five course evening meal. The lounge was very comfortable and would be ideal for small groups and families. There was an honesty bar. The bedrooms were comfortably furnished and the beds comfortable.

Room Tip: The superior rooms with balcony on the first floor, with views of the garden and sea would be lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a weeks holiday at the St Maur in Ventnor, on the Isle of Wight. We came home with very fond memories of this delightful guest house.We had a lovely comfortable twin room with balcony - well furnished with 2 armchairs a spacious bathroom and a well stocked welcome tray (my wife counted 8 varieties of tea!). A large screen digital LED TV complemented the room - but would agree that an additional freeview channel selection would have been good. The food was excellent, varied and beautifully cooked - and a wide variety of wines were available. The honesty bar was a welcome touch and much appreciated. The Chef/Patron David and his wife were always available and helpful - as were the very friendly staff. We are looking forward to returning to St Maur later this year. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jazzfm01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We stayed at the hotel in April. We love staying here. It is ideally situated for excellent local walks - no need to drive off anywhere. We particularly enjoy the friendly atmosphere in the hotel and the evening meals. As soon as we arrive we completely relax. We have now stayed in four different rooms at the hotel and each has been very clean, comfortable and attractive.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djm84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventnor
0.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
944 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eversley Hotel
Eversley Hotel
#6 of 9 in Ventnor
163 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hillside Hotel
Hillside Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ventnor
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Old Park Hotel
Old Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Lawrence
146 reviews
2.8 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Maur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Maur

Address: Castle Road, Ventnor PO38 1LG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Ventnor
Price Range: £73 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St Maur 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a quiet, peaceful location St Maur is ideally situated for exploring the Isle of Wight whether walking, using public transport or by car. On our doorstep are many cliff and downland walks and the famous botanical gardens. We offer a relaxed atmosphere with friendly and attentive staff to look after you when you return from your days activities. Local food according to season is used within our menus cooked by owner/chef ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your St Maur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Maur Ventnor, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing